We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
N. California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have stayed here several times when visiting relatives in the area. The rooms are spacious and we really like the style of the hotel and the rooms. You really feel like you're at home (or where you'd want to live). I think it's contagious, as we've almost always had great people staying near us and strike up good conversation.
The breakfast in the morning there is really pretty good. After a couple days we do a mix of eat off the buffet and order things off the menu. The muesli stuff is a hit with our family.
The biggest thing for us is the service and staff. They are super friendly, professional, and will do anything to help. For example, we have a 2 year old and during our last trip we brought our own silverware for her to eat with. Not super bright on our part, it was a sentimental set from my wife's family. Anyway, it accidentally got taken by the busser when we weren't paying attention. They took the time to dig and they found it. One piece when we were there and they mailed us the other! That was really cool of them and it's much appreciated. Our family will use them as long as we're staying in Sonoma.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwebbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    148
    45
    16
    2
See reviews for
90
487
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Sonoma Mission Inn has a justified reputation as a first-class destination resort in -- well, near -- Sonoma, but MacArthur Place should rank right up there with the very best in wine country accommodations. There are 64 spacious rooms and suites distributed among a number of low-rise structures throughout the very spacious and well manicured grounds, which include many delightful and surprising art installations. The rooms are well furnished and very well serviced, and the staff is extremely pleasant. You could easily spend an entire day without leaving the property: strolling the gardens, relaxing by the pool, enjoying a treatment at the spa, and dining in the on-site steakhouse.

But an equally appealing feature of MacArthur Place is its proximity to the historic Sonoma Plaza, a classic town square that was the site where the Bear Flag of the California Republic was first raised. The large, leafy central park, with its many picnic tables and play structures encircling the City Hall, is ringed on all four sides by restaurants, galleries, antique and specialty stores, wine-tasting rooms, and an historic park that contains some of the original buildings from Sonoma's brief reign as the Capitol of the California Republic. You can drive there from MacArthur Place in less than five minutes, but I would recommend instead that you take a leisurely 10-minute stroll down one of the pretty residential streets (the concierge can direct you), and come upon the plaza on foot. If it's your first visit, you will be delighted.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kai-Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a wonderful time at MacArthur Place. The staff was friendly, the rooms were spacious and lovely and the grounds were so beautiful to walk around. We are planning to go back next year. The bar and lounge area was comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at MacArthur Place each time we've visited Sonoma over the last 10 years. In that time it has refined itself into a lovely low-key and elegant establishment, with beautiful grounds and landscaping, and one of the friendliest staffs you will ever meet. I can't give a comprehensive review on the various levels of accommodations because we've only stayed in the Jasmine Cottage (one of two free-standing cottage accommodations). The Jasmine Cottage is a four star accommodation with a vaulted ceiling, very large bedroom/sitting area with a beautiful fireplace, large plasma TV, bar area and sink, desk area, large bathroom, very wide and deep 2-sink marble vanity, large walk-in shower and jacuzzi bath. It also has it's own private and fenced in terrace with doors from the bathroom and living room. It's nicely furnished in gold/wine/beige tones, and it's private and quiet. A nice buffet breakfast is included with the room price (menu ordering available too), and there's a pretty library (books and DVD's) area where MacArthur hosts wine and cheese gatherings in the late afternoon. There is a restaurant on site (Saddles) serving lunch and dinner, although we've only used it for the buffet breakfast. MacArthur is a perfect base to use for exploring the Sonoma/Napa Valleys. It's an easy walk to the central Plaza in downtown Sonoma, and they have bicycles available for your use as well. And if you have the time, you need to make a visit to their spa which is located in a separate building by their pool. This spa is very good, and we've been to many so I don't say this lightly! They offer many types of treatments and massage packages, but since I'm an active guy with a lousy back, I tend to go for deep tissue sport massages. Each and every time I have left the MacArthur spa feeling much better than when i walked in! These massage therapists are pros. I highly recommend MacArthur Place! It's a pleasure to stay there.

Green Features: Everyday towel service is offered, but if you hang up your towels they will leave them. Separate waste baskets for recycling and non are in the room.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and i recently stayed at this spectacular property. The service and the rooms were exemplary. It is very close to the Sonoma plaza, about a ten minute walk, which has amazing Tasting rooms and restaurants. Nancy Boerum , the concierge is very knowledgeable and helpful in arranging wine country tours, and the restaurant staff are very courteous. I hope to visit soon and stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a hotel that is very "green". They are very conscious of water conservation and recycling
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silk444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My girl friends and I stayed here for a wine country girls' weekend. The accommodations and setting were very relaxing and serene. It was a nice, quiet property, and the service and amenities were great. I would definitely stay here again. We also loved that we could walk 4 blocks to Sonoma Square for wine tasting and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen_B_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a friend visiting from Bordeaux and since she's used to the best I knew that we needed to take her someplace special. Success! We all loved it and felt spoiled by the staff. There's a beautiful library with wine and apps at happy hour and great movies (with recommendations from the staff) to borrow. The grounds are impeccable, the rooms are tasteful and have everything you need. Sitting on the porch looking out on the gardens was the perfect beginning of our evening. The dinner at Saddles was amazing. The location is tucked away and feels very secluded, yet is within walking distance to Sonoma Square. It's the only place that I'd recommend to anyone coming to visit wine country.

Room Tip: We had a double room with a private porch right outside the door of the King bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artgirl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing