We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great stay in Sonoma” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great stay in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just came back from 3 nights in Sonoma and have to say that Macarthur place is now my favorite hotel in the world a dI cannot wait to go back! I was skeptical when I booked n line, but that skepticism was completely unfounded. Prior to our arrival we contacted the concierge several times for recommendations on bike tours as well as drivers for a private wine tour. Their recommendations were excellent and they were very eager to help us select the right tours, restaurants and activities.
As for the rooms - we had a spa suite and our son was in a queen suite. His room was quite lovely and very well appointed, however, if you can, the spa suite is to die for! the room itself was fabulous, large, comfortable, well appointed and with a lovely bathroom. What made this exceptional, was a walking out your back door to find a beautiful...and very inviting teak tub on your patio as well as an outdoor shower and waterfall. Although I really did not have the time to luxuriate in the tub as long as I would have liked, I had to find time daily to fill it, toss in the provided soaking tea bag and just enjoy the entire experience. Absolutely lovely.
My son's room had a problem one day with hot water, which he reported to the front desk. When we came back in the afternoon, of course the water issue had been fixed, but he found a charming note with attached to a chocolate hammer, indicating that maintenance had been there. Just another lovely Macarthur touch.
On our departure day, we were going on a bike tour and would not be done until well after check out. The reception staff made sure to let us know that we were welcome to use the property all day and to please come back after our biking and use the spa facilities to shower up before we headed back to the airport. Their welcoming attitude post checkout was greatly appreciated.
Everything from the rooms, the grounds and most importantly, the staff made this a very enjoyable 3 day stay in Sonoma. I highly recommend this property and look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite was outstanding - the queen suite, only fabulous! :) Whatever your budget allows wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbernst106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    153
    46
    17
    2
See reviews for
94
514
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only spent one night :-(((
Wish our plans and budget would have allowed for more!
It is a lovely inn, with beautiful grounds, and an extremely friendly & helpful staff. My adult daughter and I took a last minute trip in order to attend a cooking class in Sonoma. When I was reserving the room, the person on the phone offered us a room that didn't show on the internet. We preferred two beds, and the internet was only showing rooms with one king. Our room was fabulous! I loved having a fireplace!
The continental breakfast was tasty and relaxing. Servers kept the buffet neat & replenished. Our coffees were refilled (almost magically) right when we wanted more. We enjoyed the late afternoon cheese and wine tastings offered in "the Library".
I definitely want to go back for more than just one night.

Room Tip: We were very happy in our room at the Carriage House. I'm sure that rooms vary substantially on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My adult daughter and I recently spent 3 nights here and cannot stop talking about how extraordinarily nice the staff is. Everyone is more than pleasant while seeming completely genuine. Our room was fine, but nothing special. However, the amenities were lovely. The spa was amazing and not overpriced for the service provided. The hotel staff goes out of their way to make sure that you have everything you need at all times. When their was a problem with the website for pre-paying the toll for the Golden Gate Bridge, the staff made several calls to assist me. Housekeeping was so thorough that they mistakenly cleared away a souvenir wine glass. When we discovered this at check-out time, management did a thorough search and located it. I would also say that staying in Sonoma is probably preferable to Napa. It is less than a 30 minute drive if you want to visit there.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LC_NYC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went here for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved every minute of it and wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage is wonderful. The spa suites are FANTASTIC! Why would anyone go to Napa when they could go here. Property is well maintained. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Great continental breakfast included (the chocolate bread pudding was amazing). Close to the town square.

Room Tip: Cottage #12 is wonderful. The Spa Suites have outdoor shower and tub- what fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I visited the inn for three nights. We had a great stay. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. The service was excellent. We feel that if you are paying a decent price you should get service to match and MacArthur did not disappoint. From wine shipping to concierge service to a simple turn down, we felt completely attended to. The grounds are very pretty and cozy. We ate in Saddles the first night. Though it was a typical steakhouse menu, it had a decent wine list and we enjoyed our meal. The complimentary continental breakfast buffet was excellent. It was far beyond just muffins, coffee and fruit. As far as location goes, the inn is within walking distance to downtown Sonoma; convenient to many restaurants. The high tripadvisor ratings are legit. We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Quaint, unique, quiet, an oasis of calm--you can almost forget that there are wine tourists everywhere. Although we were there to tour wineries, I didn't want to leave the property. The gardens, the pool, the spa, the evening wine tastings, the restaurant. First class all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katerow55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our most recent visit to Sonoma.
This is the third time to the area, so we feel like we know and have seen a lot.
This Inn has big, beautiful rooms, and is quiet as it is a block off the main road.
The location is perfect for visiting the vineyards, and the complimentary wine and cheese in the late afternoon is perfect.
We also went swimming in the pool, and the free buffet breakfast was awesome.
We would def go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gocanes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Kenwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing