We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Memorable Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Memorable Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the MacArthur Place three nights for the first time to celebrate our Anniversary. We had an absolutely wonderful time! We were graciously upgraded by the Inn's Staff to an especially nice room and, upon arrival, we surprisingly found a gift bottle of champaign with a welcome card! We had an amazing first-time Hot Air Balloon Ride of the beautiful surrounding wine country, went on local sight-seeing trips, and had a fabulous Anniversary Dinner, including complimentary desserts, at MacArthur's Place own renowned Saddles Steakhouse! The Inn's and restaurant's staff were very professional, knowledgeable, friendly and courteous during our entire stay. The sevices provided, including wonderful spa treatments, and all the facilities were exemplary! We will always cherish and remember this very special occasion and look forward to our next stay at the MacArthur Place in the near future!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjs2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    157
    46
    17
    2
See reviews for
96
533
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We didnt stay at the hotel, but used the spa for treatments. It is an abosultely beautiful place. The grounds are serene and peaceful. The spa is in the middle of the hotel, with a nice pool and several lounge chairs/tables with umbrellas. The spa entrance is nice, small shopping area. The receptionist greeted us and showed us to the locker rooms which is a very nice area, private and secluded. The treatments are done in private rooms that are very nice. They staff is is friendly and accomdating. treatments are very pricey. It is a nice place and good experience but too pricey for what you recieve. Felt a little rushed at the end by the staff. They are going through a remodel to the spa while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StacieKelseyville_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went away for a weekend getaway. What a lovely spot. Easter brunch was wonderful. We enjoyed the walk into Sonoma Square. It was just far enough away to make a nice after dinner stroll but not too far away. The gardens are nice as well. Each little path is a new adventure. The site packs a lot into a small space.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sleevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We literally stumbled across this place at around 10 Pm one evening. We had decided at the last minute to head on into Sonoma from a previous destination but underestimated the drive time. By the time we got to town, we were looking for a hotel. Oddly, we seemd at first, unable to find one. Then we saw the sign for this hotel and stopped in. We were not optimistic we'd get anything, to be honest, since the hotel buildings looked so nice and figured it'd be booked solid. Anyway, a nice young lady named Melissa met us at the front and, within minutes we had a beautiful room with king bed, day bed fireplace (complete with a log to burn), nice balcony, HUGE bathroom, nice flat screen TV, CD player with stero sound system--well, you get the picture. A helpful and friendly young guy, whose name I don't recall at the moment, showed us to the room. I was really blown away by the size and decor. It was the best room we stayed in during our time in California. We immediatly decided to stay another night and phoned the front desk. No problem, they told us. In the morning we walked around the beautifully landscaped gardens, full of flowers and flowering trees. What a lovely place--we had no idea when we arrived the night before in the dark that it was anything like this. The people we encountered at the front desk that morning, Valerie and Bunky, were so friendly and überhelpful in planning out a day in Sonoma. Their recommendations came in very handy and we really had a great time visiting some wineries and other places. The hotel is conveniently located to most of the major attractions. From the splendid room, to the other extras like the nice continental breakfast in the morning and complimentary wine in the late afternoon--- to a wonderful dinner in "Saddles" one evening, to the helpfulness of everyone, to the bright smiles on all of the employees' faces(I got the impression everyone WANTED to work here), this place was and remains a wonderful discovery awaiting anyone traveling to Sonoma. Would we stay here again? Absolutely! I look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed as guests of other internationally known five star properties and MacArthur Place is the best of the them. The perfect combination of spot on attentive service and wine country warmth and hospitality.

The property is just off of one of the main streets of Sanoma, but once we entered the grounds it was like staying at a far away resort with quiet park like grounds. The guest rooms are located in multiple buildings surrounded by gardens of flowers and sculptures. Be sure to walk all of the grounds and enjoy the wine tasting before dinner.

Dining at Saddles was very nice with excellent service and food. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast the next morning which included an excellent selection of fruits and veggies.

All of the staff were very friendly and thoughtful. When we reserved our room we were asked if the trip included a special occasion, 'why yes' I said. When we returned to our room after dinner we found a bottle of champaign with a Happy Anniversary card – very thoughtful.

We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side of the property are subject to traffice noise which was not noticeable wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandBarbaraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely hotel on the edge of Sonoma, within walking distance of town, and easy to get around wineries. We hired bikes (arranged through the hotel), which was a great way to look around the area (and sample the wines worry-free!). The hotel was lovely, in nice surroundings, and the staff were really helpful with recommendations and advice. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacMul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a standard king guest room which was good sized for what it was. Stand up shower, no tub. We took advantage of the pool which was incredibly relaxing, the fitness center, which was small but got the job done, the video library, and we walked to town several times for dinner. Being walking distance makes a big difference after you have had a few glasses of wine. I saw some people wrote on here that it was too far of a walk, it takes about 15 minutes, a perfectly fine distance in my opinion.

Overall while we definitely enjoyed the property we were there on an off-season rate. I don't think I would have spent $450 a night which is the normal rate for this room. It was lovely and we enjoyed our time, but not worth that price in my opinion. If you can get a discount I would highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeetravels27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing