We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms with a log fire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Super romantic hotel! Great rooms and nice pool. Good overall service.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skigasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 913 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

We booked this hotel primarily based on location -- it's close enough to Sonoma Square to walk to restaurants but far enough away from the noise to be a relaxing retreat. The hotel itself is a little tired but charming and well laid out over several buildings connected via beautifully landscaped pathways. The spa is worth visiting but the pool is disappointing. Overall, I'd rate it four stars if it weren't for the prices which are on par with nicer establishments.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank benjaminwesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This Inn is outstanding! I can honestly say it was the WARMEST, most-helpful staff I have ever encountered!! Truly a magical place. The only regret was since it was our first time to Sonoma we didn't get to spend more time on the property and enjoy the wonderful amenities. We will definitely stay here again! AND I CAN'T WAIT to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

What a wonderful surprise we found in Sonoma, CA. We typically stay at larger hotels, but MacArthur Place was outstanding from the time we checked in, free wine and cheese in the evenings, free breakfast - which was wonderful, beautiful grounds to walk around, and loved Saddles restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapetheHeat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

When I checked out of this Inn, I wanted to do it in person so that I could share personally my positive comments about this charming, well maintained and special property. I live in San Francisco and frequently visit Sonoma for weekend getaways and have stayed at other properties. MacAurthur Place blows away the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn- in fact, the comparison to other properties in the town of Sonoma are not comparable. The rooms are very nicely and appropriately appointed- comfortable, high end carpet, original artwork in the room, terrific bathroom amenities (grape seed). I really appreciated the lighting in the room, 2 sconces with long strings to turn off the lamp after reading my book. Everything is very well thought out. There was a wedding party in house and the hotel was full occupance, but I would have never known other than someone telling me. The salt water pool, hot tub, and pool attendent made the morning special. I also had the best blood mary I've ever had, I need to go on because the Continental breakfast was not the same ol same ol, again it was special like every other well thought out detail of this property. THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN SONOMA!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elliott1260713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Spent an amazing 3 nights at MacArthur Place in the Hawthorne building, first floor. At first impression, the room was very nice and spacious. As my family and I settled in, it was just the right amount of room for us. The two leather chairs in the room were also recliners which was a nice surprise. There was a new log waiting for us in our fireplace every night. The continental breakfast that was included was very nice and had yogurt, fruit, bagels, and toast. We ordered room service our last night from Saddles the steakhouse on site and it was delicious. Rooms very very clean and the lotions, shampoo and tea bath for the bathtub were all amazing and were replaced everyday. The bathroom is our room was very large and the tub was huge. Overall our stay was wonderful and we really enjoyed walking around the grounds. I would have to agree with some of the other reviews that mentioned some noise by 8am by either garbage trucks or traffic from the street because the hotel is right off the main highway. It really did not bother us because we were already awake by 8am but it was hard to sleep past that with the noise so just request that your room not face the main street. We can't wait to stay here again!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank travlin0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second stay at MacArthur Place and this time we stayed for 6 nights. The weather was terrible, so it prevented us from enjoying the pool and sitting outside. However, the room was luxurious and the staff were great. We really enjoyed the commradery at the evening wine tastings (both hostesses were great) and the check-in staff (Bobby) were great. The concierge was a bit stuffy; there were coupons that we discovered as we were checking out that were never offered to us (ask at the desk for discounts at wineries). The breakfast servers were top-notch .. great service and really friendly. We highly recommend this place. We love being able to walk to all the restaurants in Sonoma Square!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Newfound-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $242 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing