We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family reunion in Sonoma, CA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexandra's Plaza Suite
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“A family reunion in Sonoma, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent the weekend at Alexandra's Plaza Suite. In a word - it was excellent. Truly, we wouldn't have changed anything. The host/owners - Cathie and Gene - are very welcoming. The property itself for the two of us, left nothing to want for. After parking the car, it is a short walk to the Sonoma Plaza/Square. The rental has a living room, kitchen and refrigerator stocked, microwave, bathroom, bedroom and a real nice outside covered patio area. You can enjoy lemon, lime and orange trees just outside your front door and many other wonderful plants and foliage. Visit the Sunflower Cafe, which Cathie recommended, and go all the way to the back to enjoy drinks or food.

You are very close to many vineyards and you will not regret staying with Cathie and Gene.

jeanne dietz

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeannestarrdietza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a wonderful stay! You have all the comforts of home. You could easily arrive with the clothes on your back and not want for anything. It is a beautiful little one bedroom cottage with all amenities and breakfast treats. A lovely outdoor patio area in which to enjoy morning coffee or that bottle of wine at the end of the day. You are in a private area yet only a block off the Sonoma Plaza. Couple all that with two of the nicest and most accommodating hosts in Cathie and Gene and you have the makings of perfect stay. Thanks for a great stay and trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I had a great 3 night stay at Alexandra's. It was located in an unbeatable spot 1 block from the square in the town of Sonoma with all the restaurants, bars, and tasting rooms. The guest house was spotless and very comfortable especially with the nice outdoor area, living area, and kitchen. Cathie was easily accessible, provided great recommendations, and paid a lot of attention to detail on the property with all the personal touches. Would stay there again on our next trip to Sonoma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This charming cottage sits a block from the historic Sonoma plaza--perfect for walking into the square for shopping, dinner, or wine tastings. Not only is the location superb, but the owners, Cathie and Gene, have taken hospitality to a higher level than I've seen in ages. From breakfast choices and a refrigerator stocked with drinks to any laundry detergent and toiletry item you may have forgotten, the cottage is stocked with all of the comforts of home, not to mention a lovely outdoor sitting area. If that weren't enough, Cathie and Gene provide just the right amount of conversation; they are happy to discuss winemaking or tell you great places to shop without intruding upon your vacation. Overall, this is the ideal cottage for exploring Sonoma and wine country.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room close to Sonoma Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Cathie and Gene really thought of everything! this super cute little cottage has every comfort from home you could want, even a washer and dryer! The suggestion book they leave out with hints on the best places in town to eat and the best wineries to visit was invaluable! The place was gorgeus, so close to everything (within walkig distance) and was just amazing. The little patio outside was also awesome. What a treat to be able to lay out on the chairs and watch the stars at night with a glass of wine! We had such a fabulous time there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Alexandra's Plaza Suite. We've stayed at various other high end hotels/cottages in Sonoma and have finally found "our fave". Very comfortable, very clean private cottage tucked behind homes on upscale, quiet Second St in downtown. It's a 2 minute stroll to the square. The cottage has excellent amenities, and the little details Cathie & Gene provide give such a personal touch -- they truly want you to be comfortable and enjoy. The bed linens and bed are luxurious. They even offer several different pillows to choose from so you can find "just the right one". They provide a well stocked fridge (literally, we could have stayed a week with all the drinks, juices, fruit, dairy). They also provide coffee, tea, danish, oatmeal, granola bars, popcorn and candy too! We were fortunate to spend time with Gene and taste his award winning wines and get a personal education on wine-making. His Albarino was delicious! We enjoyed Tues night farmer's market in the Square. Great local venue with food, craft booths, music and friendly people. Gene & Cathie invited us to join their group in the park and we (again) were treated to some delicious wines, food & home grown veggies/fruits. The cottage also has a nice private gazebo/patio area with comfy louge chairs and nice lighting to enjoy the warm Sonoma nights with great wine. Stay here. You will love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverAnniversary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a wonderful, comfortable cottage to stay at. The location was excellent (very easy walking distance to the square), numerous wineries within easy driving distance, and Cathie and Gene are the best hosts ever. Their recommendations were spot on--the Depot Hotel for dinner was amazing--food, service, and ambiance. The Benzinger winery was also lovely and the wines were divine. Gene is a veritable encyclopedia of knowledge about grapes, wine, and wine making. I'm just sorry we were only here for a couple of days--but we will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delenerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra's Plaza Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra's Plaza Suite

Property: Alexandra's Plaza Suite
Address: 442 2nd St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-6706
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaze at the stars while sipping wine in your own private garden. Indulge in a massage. Sleep with the windows open. It's all here for you at Alexandra's. We are proud to be called "the best kept lodging secret in Sonoma." We have two wonderful little guesthouses, located in the beautiful Historic Zone of Sonoma, walking distance to the Sonoma Plaza. One bedroom cottages, with kitchens, living rooms, gardens and private baths. Very comfy beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing