We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexandra's Plaza Suite
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the charming cottage and just loved it. Gene and Cathie are so considerate. The refrigerator was stocked, the suggestions for restaurants and wineries were terrific and the location was perfect. The reviews were right - this was truly a special place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSinJohnsCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

What a great find this was. Great location, so it's within walking distance of the Plaza and Vella Cheese (yum!). Many wineries are nearby, and Gene and Cathie are happy to make recommendations on which to visit (take them). The Suite is cozy and comfortable, and my husband and I actually relaxed for once, sleeping in every morning thanks to the comfy bed and peacefulness. Cathie has provided more than you will probably ever need, but it's those thoughtful touches that set this place apart: a cooler and picnic basket for outings; flashlights for walks to and from the Plaza at night; different pillows to accommodate soft/firm preferences; as well as a fridge stocked with sodas, juices, filtered water, milk, and cream, and cupboards stocked with oatmeal, cereal, and granola to help you start your day. Cathie and Gene are perfect hosts, ensuring you have what you need, but never intrusive. We loved our trip and can't wait to visit Alexandra's again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacasanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Cathie and Gene were great hosts -- always willing to share history, recommendations, information about making wine, etc... but never intrusive. Everything we could have possibly needed or wanted was provided -- breakfast items, toiletries, washer/dryer, kitchen facilities, and more.

Even though we spent time in both Napa and Sonoma Counties, the location was not too far from anything. After a long day of wine tasting, Alexandra's Plaza Suite provided a nice place to unwind and relax. The bed was comfortable too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I visited wine country to run the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon, and we really wanted to stay near the finish line in Sonoma Plaza. I was about to give up - hotel and B&B options in the area were quite disappointing, in terms of location and value - but then we found Alexandra's. What a fortunate discovery for us! It was so wonderful to have more space than a hotel room, including a full kitchen where we cooked our pre-race pasta dinner. The bed was comfy, there were lovely little touches everywhere (fresh fruit, a variety of toiletries, a note on the blackboard when we arrived), and the setting just couldn't be beat. I like to think our race was so successful because we felt like we were at home. We would recommend Alexandra's to ANYONE, and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I was reluctant to review this because i don't want the world to know about this place. I want it to be Sonoma's best kept secret because i want to be able to get back there without a big hassle with vacancy! With that said, this place is exactly like the previous reviewers have said. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the place has everything that you could possibly need or want while you're there.
We rented bikes while in Sonoma and Gene drove us there so we didn't have to walk (we didn't ask - they offered!) THAT is the type of people you are dealing with here! We will be back but next time we're skipping Napa and San Fran and just hanging in Sonoma.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisathew8lifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Bring your clothes and an appetite for great food and wine because everything else that you could think of is already at Alexandra's Plaza (including an extra toothbrush!). Essentially you are getting a fully stocked home - complete kitchen/dining area, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom with more goodies and gadgets than we have in our home. The best part? Fresh oranges and lemons growing right outside the front door and very welcoming guests. Thanks to Cathie and Gene, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

As soon as we pulled into the driveway and saw the flourishing citrus trees and the sign saying "Welcome to Alexandra's from your hosts..." we knew this would be a place to relax and recuperate...and it was. Cosy, warm and fully equipped (even down to an ipod dock, picnic basket and wine chiller) with a full cupboard and fridge we couldn't believe our luck at stumbling across this little slice of Sonoma heaven. Incredible hospitality from our hosts created an experience we will never forget...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seam0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra's Plaza Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra's Plaza Suite

Property: Alexandra's Plaza Suite
Address: 442 2nd St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-6706
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaze at the stars while sipping wine in your own private garden. Indulge in a massage. Sleep with the windows open. It's all here for you at Alexandra's. We are proud to be called "the best kept lodging secret in Sonoma." We have two wonderful little guesthouses, located in the beautiful Historic Zone of Sonoma, walking distance to the Sonoma Plaza. One bedroom cottages, with kitchens, living rooms, gardens and private baths. Very comfy beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing