We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing a complete remodel here...will be beautiful.”
Review of Buena Vista Winery

Buena Vista Winery
Ranked #7 of 104 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A recommended wine-tasting venue in Sonoma Valley.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Doing a complete remodel here...will be beautiful.”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

New owner is doing a complete remodel, inside and out of this historic
winery. Will really be beautiful when finished. Inside tasting room is done
for the most part and is really elegant. Wines are fantastic, especially the
Zin. Only thing I dislike the is push to join the wine club, but it was
not bad. Very nice picnic grounds are being redone also.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank nautifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    84
    24
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great Winery - Great People”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This Winery was our second stop on our three day tour and one that we compared all other wineries that we visited to. Jasmine behind the bar was the best part of the winery.. She poored our wine, and entertained us as the same time. We loved the HUGE wine barrell in the front enterance. Can you say Photo opp.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Epac060606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

thought this would be good because of its age but the displays were average and the wine tasting was poor

Helpful?
1 Thank NovtomCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible - way too pushy with Wine club and not very nice wine either”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a wonderful day in Sonoma as a whole - but this was definitely the worst by far.
A tall lady with diamante glasses was doing our tasting for us, and basically spent the whole of the short 15 minute tasting pushing the wine club. When we declined several times, she literally said "well, that'll be $30 then" with a horrible attitude and then hurried us through and kicked us out.

Far better other wineries to go to.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank edhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, WI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another to add to your Sonoma Visit”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

When picking wineries to visit in Sonoma or Napa, the wine is subjective. One person might love their wine and another hate it. So what do you have left to decide whether you'll add it to your list? I visited Buena Vista twice in a four month span. Both experiences would tell me to have you add it to your list. First, I do enjoy many of their wines. So for me, that is a plus. Buena Vista is one of the oldest wineries in Sonoma so the history and tradition is a great contrast to a newer winery such as Ravenswood. The wine specialists at both tastings were knowledgeable and helpful. The fist visit was rather busy but we were still treated with time and patience. The second visit we were the first to arrive - having their undivided attention is great so I'd highly advise an early arrival. It is also a great opportunity to taste the differences in region, clones, etc of the same varietal.

On my first visit the weather wasn't cooperating. We had planned picnicing but the torrenial rain put a damper on our plans. We were given their premium glassware to enjoy our wine with lunch in the upper balcony area. Very nice. The outside grounds are equally as lovely. Do realize that there is parking (both handicapped and regular) past the first parking lot closer to the tasting room.

Make sure to check out their website for a 2-for-1 tasting. I might suggest sharing a tasting as we were there for over an hour and were allowed taste several varietals including port.

Lastly, their wine club is rather unique in that it allows you to change out bottles of wine from their planned shipment. The only one in our sixteen winery tour stop that did. In addition, it gives you free tasting and a nice discount on their wine and there is no minimum number of shipments. Check it out if you enjoy their wines.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank michellecmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Buena Vista Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing