We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaah...Slow Down and Enjoy the Wine Country”

Sonoma Coast State Beach
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A state park and beach recommended for fishing, walking and picnicking.
Annapolis MD
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aaah...Slow Down and Enjoy the Wine Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Bodega Bay is absolutely in September...it's the time for wineries to harvest the grapes and for you to cruise the wineries and enjoy the coastline...lavender is blooming...weather is perfect..80s...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    31
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,036 reviews
425 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,643 helpful votes
“Nice views even in the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

It was grey and raining when we were driving along this section of Highway 1. Still, it's a lovely drive, even if my photos from the car showed nothing more than raindrops on the window!

We did stop at several parking areas just to look. I noticed one that said it was "One of the most dangerous beaches in California" but do not remember the name. I gather that not many people swim there!

On a warm summer day I bet the whole area would be filled with visitors. Great open space.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

An absolute must if you are in Northern Ca, SF area. Goat Rock Beach is fabulous. Arrived there just at sunset. Parasailors were frolicking on the flat rock above the beach. Beautiful wild flowers grow along the shoreline including iris. An unforgettable experience to drive Hwy 1 along this rugged coastline.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JWB904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some of the most beautiful scenery in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is rugged drive but well worth the trouble. I have done it numerous times and can't get enough. I always see new things. This last trip, I took the 101 up to the turn off for the Anderson Valley (some great wineries there and a nice stand of coastal redwoods) and traveled over to mendicino for lunch. Then down hwy one as the sun dropped lower and lower in the sky. Stopped several times to enjoy the view most notably at Goat Rock. Turned off at Jenner and headed back to Guerneville for the night. Tip for those traveling hwy one, public bathrooms are a bit scarce but there are several in Sea Ranch at the coast access sites along the road. Also, a nice one in Jenner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good even in Rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Drove through and viewed these beaches today. Saw the Harbor Seals at Goat Rock Beach. Rained on us all day but didnt spoil our fun. Had lunch in Bodega Bay...see TA list for top rated restaurants.

Helpful?
3 Thank vgroten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Coast State Beach also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Coast State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing