We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrights Beach Camping” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Coast State Beach

Sonoma Coast State Beach
Ranked #11 of 99 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A state park and beach recommended for fishing, walking and picnicking.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wrights Beach Camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We camped for a week on one of the beachfront sites. Beachfront are no's 1-10. Our weather was perfect, no wind, no fog. If the weather is windy I can imagine that beachfront sites could be interesting in a tent as not many have good protection. This campsite was a great base to see the coast from. There is an easy 5 mile walk to Goat Rock starting at this campsite and it is a great central point for exploring the Sonoma coast, Point Reyes and inland to Santa Rosa. You need to book this campsite early as sites go fast. We could find no laundry facilities in the Bodega Bay area. The nearest was at Petaluma, a pleasant half hour drive away. We will definitely plan to go back there for whale watching or just another camping trip. Would try to get site No 4 or No 10 - they seem to have views and a little more protection for us tent campers if it is windy. Also, take a range of soft sand and really hard ground stakes for tent staking - you will probably need them both.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank kuratau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    31
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Varied Views But All Are Really Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a large beach that consists of various overlooks and stopping points. You can see quite a bit in an hour or so but to really explore the area you may need an entire day. The views are quite scenic and camera friendly. The Arch and Goat Rock were two of the nicest stopping points. Goat Rock also features a beach with white sand not as typical of others in this area. Some areas are more crowded than others.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Camping at the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went camping over Labor Day weekend at Wrights Beach camp site, which is situated on the beach. It has approximately 27 private sites, divided into two sections- campsites with a clear view to the beach and water, and camp sites with a bank of low growing trees between the site and beach. While the view from the sites without out the bank of trees is unbeatable, the bank of trees from the other side shelter your tent from the very windy beach. We stayed on the side with the tree bank and never had to worry about our tent blowing around, tying it down or losing sleep over the wind. The bathrooms were always clean & stocked and there were plenty of them, we never had to wait. The camp host was gracious and friendly, even hosting karaoke a couple of the nights. Each of the camp sites have a picnic table, fire pit and are generous in size- enough for a trailer, truck and personal space (although we only had our car and tent so we had even more room). It was wonderful walking down to the water to watch the sunset (1 minute from the camp site to the water) and then going to bed at night with the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep. Wrights Beach camp site is reasonably priced and approximately a 7 minute drive from the center of Bodega Bay town. There is only one negative about this camp site- there are no on site showers, however the showers at Bodega Dunes camp (a 5 minute drive) site can be used and are free.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Sircling_the_Globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivehurst, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing ocean views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of the best ever. Amazing ocean views, and at the right time of year great whale watching too. There is a deep trough near the beach frequented by mothers and calves. It's expensive, no doubt about it. Considering the amenities, or lack thereof, the price sounds crazy - unless you get one of the few sites at Wright's beach. Reservations are almost impossible to get, so you might wind up along the entrance road in the overflow spots. They still have fire rings and tables, and some have views.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank choo2drivr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenic Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My sister and I recently drove north from Bodega Bay, CA to Jenner on Highway 1 along the Sonoma Coast. There are several places to park and walk down to the Beach. We stopped at South Salmon Creek Beach and Goat Rock Beach. Both were breathtaking with lots of waves and interesting rock formations. I'm ready to go back!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Coast State Beach also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Coast State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing