We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Valley Wine Tours?”
Review of Valley Wine Tours

Valley Wine Tours
Ranked #5 of 40 Tours in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Valley Wine Tours (formerly Jake's Valley Wine Tours) offers Napa and Sonoma wine country visitors the real “inside” wine tour experience. We guide you through hard-to-find, small family-owned wineries. Taste award- winning wines and learn all about wine, vineyards and Napa and Sonoma viticulture.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Why Valley Wine Tours?”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well I'll tell you why...they know what the're doing! This is the first wine tour company we've ever used and it is going to be tough to top this one! What a wonderful time we had with Bob Howells! We were scheduled to go out on a certain day but due to the recent storms we called him to change our date. He was so nice about it and very accommodating. He even checked the weather himself and told us which day he thought would be the best. He was prompt to pick us up at our hotel. We seemed to hit it off right away with him cause he is a very easygoing guy that knows a lot about wine and is willing to share his knowledge with you. We felt like we were going out with a friend for the day! He took us to some nice wineries where you could tell he had a very good relationship with them all. We were treated like royalty. He found out we like mexican food and took us for a tasy lunch! He even squeezed in one more winery at the end of the day which included tasting some different olive oils, very nice! Bob also carried all our purchases for us and made sure we got the appropriate box for taking our bottles of wine on the plane. We plan on coming back and hope to use them again for some of the other wine regions in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank my_red_dress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    4
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy travellers from New Zealand”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having travelled to San Francisco from New Zealand, we were keen to see some Sonoma wine highlights as part of our trip. We researched wine tour options online before we left and Valley Wine Tours kept appearing at the top of our searches. The reviews were great and our experience was the same! Bob was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly, online communications pre tour were extremely clear and the day was fantastic. Once we'd been picked up at the ferry, Bob changed his plans for the day once he'd made further queries about our wine interests, demonstrating great local knowledge and passion for his job. Really enjoyed the day and the vineyards, We managed to collect a great case of wine that Bob helped us pack to get home safe and sound - thanks Bob! Highly recommended. Andrew and Melissa, NZ

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Rain,rain stayed away”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had what was forecasted to be a rainy day for our tour of Sonoma. As soon as Bob arrived to pick us up the rain went and stayed away. We had great conversation from San Francisco all the ways to the first vineyard. There we were greeted with warm smiles and a happy vineyard dog. From there it only got better. Visiting small "off the beaten path" vineyards, meeting the owners and just having wonderful conversations.
In between each stop, Bob's knowledge allowed us to ask questions and learn more than we ever did.
Overall the day was amazing and allowed my self and my best friend a trip that we will be talking about for years to come. Bravo, and I have already started recommending Valley Wine Tours to friends, family and pretty much anyone who will listen. :). Thank you again Bob!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keedragrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The only way to go!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Deb and I were overwhelmed with all the choices of wineries to visit while visiting The Sanoma Valley. Not wanting to miss out on some of the smaller boutique wineries, and after reading all of the reviews of other tour companies, we decided to go with Valley Wine Tours. Man, am I ever glad we did. Bob treated us like family, and we were warmly welcomed at every vineyard we visited. No waiting in line, no tasting fees, just a beautiful day. One of the cooler things I thought was how Bob would give us the history of every vineyard before we arrived at the winery.

I really enjoyed that the first winery we visited included a tour of the vineyard. It really set the tone for the rest of the day. We learned the entire process of wine making from when the grape first gets picked, to when it finally gets bottled. We visited five vineyards that day with each one having it's own uniqueness. I'm convinced that if it wasn't for Bob's expertise, we would have truly missed out on much of what Sanoma Valley had to offer.

Thanks again Bob for making our 60th birthday and 11th anniversary such a memorable experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearcats50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela
1 review
“Saved the best for last!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My childhood friend and I took a special trip to San Fran in celebration of our 50th birthday. After several days of trying to schedule our winery tour, it finally came together for us on the last day of our trip, and it worked out to be the perfect end to an amazing week. Ed, a remarkable gentleman, picked us up at the Ferry stop and we promptly began an amazing day of wine tasting, good food, beautiful scenery and great information about the Sonoma area and the winery industry. The Ferry pick up/drop off was such a bonus for us who traveled in from the city. With Ed in the driver's seat, all we had to do was show up, relax and enjoy the day! NO hidden fees or fuel charges! There was no better way to highlight our special vacation for a great price. Mahalo, Ed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Valley Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing