We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We stayed in the El Dorado for 2 nights over a weekend. Our room (6) was facing the Plaza and had a small balcony with chairs. Rooms 3 and 4 have the best views and larger balconies. But noise from the street can be a little annoying. Most rooms face the courtyard/pool which I understand have other annoyances (noise from outdoor restaurant tables, a/c units). However, you cannot beat the location and the nice contemporary décor and the fact that this is not a chain hotel makes it a very attractive option.

Our room was small by American standards although with adequate space to store our luggage. Wooden floors and simple, clean decoration gave the room an airy feel. We had a queen bed. Fresh white bed linen and a duvet made a welcome change from the usual sheets and blankets found in many hotels. According to guidebooks the hotel has been recently refurbished. Not sure whether this extended to bedrooms as our room & bathroom were a little tired looking and the hallway outside our room had a grubby and rather worn carpet.

Front desk staff were excellent. Always friendly and ready with a polite greeting when we came through the lobby.

We did not eat in the El Dorado Kitchen. With so many excellent restaurants in the surrounding area we ran out of time! There is a nice little café right next door to the hotel if you want a simple breakfast. There is complimentary coffee served in the lovely lounge area

The hotel is in an excellent location. We parked up and did not take the car out for 2 days. You can hire bikes to get to all the local vineyards (bike rental place is just down on Broadway). Both vineyards and the town are best seen from the saddle or on foot. Traffic can be busy at weekends.

Parking can be a minor problem during the week and on Saturdays. The hotel lot (no more than 5-6 spaces) is often full. There is plenty of on-street parking but it is limited to 2 hours during the day time so be prepared to move your car if you are staying around the area. There is a public lot with unlimited parking just behind the Swiss Hotel which is a good option.

  • Liked — Location & contemporary decor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank London_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    124
    33
    27
    13
See reviews for
29
184
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Well-located and stylish small hotel in the centre of Sonoma. The communal areas and the rooms are very tastefully done successfully combining a crisp, modern look but still retaining the wooden fabric of the orginal building. We stayed in one of the bungalows (No 25) behind the pool - the room was great, flat-screen TV, good quality cotton sheets and large, tasteful bathroom etc.

What lets the El Dorado down, in my opinion, is attention to detail: the air-conditioning unit in our room was extremely noisy (preventing its use), the blinds in our room didn't completely black-out the sunlight, no plates for croisants at breakfast, pleasant but random, inefficient service in the restaurant.

Individually, not big issues but this place could easily be so much better.

  • Liked — The stylish decor and swimming pool
  • Disliked — Noisy air-con unit
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Out of all the places we stayed on our trip, this was definitely our favorite! We loved the El Dorado! The decor is such a beautiful mix of wine country and simple modern design. The staircase, lobby, hallways, "kitchen", pool, and rooms are all so nicely decorated! The only negative thing was the pool- it hadn't been cleaned in awhile, so it could use some attention. Besides that, we loved the whole experience. Make sure you eat at the El Dorado Kitchen- the food is gorgous and actually tastes great too!
We preferred Sonoma to Napa after exploring both, and this is definitely where style-savvy travelers should stay!

  • Liked — Style, Food, Patio, Everything!
  • Disliked — Pool needed to be cleaned, and the ac was pretty loud (outside, but not inside)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookMeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, TX
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We decided at the last minute to stay in Sonoma, so we chose this property based on availability, appearance and price (our king room overlooking the couryard was $145). The room was comfortable and very California with tile floors and nice sliding shutter doors at the balcony and on the closet. It was perfect for us, although an elevator would have been nice. No bathtub, but the shower was a good size. Eat breakfast at Pearl's cafe if you're really hungry. It was excellent. Good complimentary coffee in the lobby for early risers.

  • Liked — Convenient location, price
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadams3119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Stayed here last week. Nice clean room, small bath. The front desk printed maps for us and helped with our luggage (no elevator). We enjoyed wine and cheese downstairs, but had dinner at Cafe LaHaye. I wish we had more time here, I would have eaten at El Dorado Kitchen. Great location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — could use some exterior paint
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

My family stayed here last month, and were incredibly impressed by both the quality and the service. The location is fanstatic - not only for being right on the main sqaure and in walking distance of great restaurants, but it's a great place to keep as a base for day trips around the area. The staff were always incredibly helpful and friendly. We received vouchers for free wine tastings from the front desk. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The only drawback is that our rooms were on the street side, which was incredibly noisy. Buy earplugs or ask for a courtyard view.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2007

this place is a little gem, 24 rooms on the second floor of a historic building on the Sonoma Square. Had a great experience and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank romeo_deleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing