We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sonoma Feel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Ga.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Sonoma Feel"”
Reviewed July 30, 2006

The Eldorado Hotel was a good choice to experience our first Sonoma wine country visit. The staff was helpful and very friendly. Our room was clean and very nicely decorated, alittle small but about what you would expect from a old restored building. We stayed on the street side of the Hotel so the noise from the resturant and court yard was not a problem. We had a nice view from the deck over the sidewalk. Nice place to drink some very good wine and watch the sun set. The Hotel is a good choice in a good location to see Sonoma.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Tips/Secrets — Rooms on Street may be quieter and away from bar noise
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blind-Willie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    123
    33
    27
    13
See reviews for
29
182
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We recently stayed at the El Dorado hotel. The rooms were simple and very nice. We actually took over the entire hotel for 2 days, and the staff were great, and we had a wonderful time. Not a good place for kids though. Perfect for youthful guests. We had dinner on the patio and it was the BEST dinner I think I have ever had. The staff were professional and attentive. The ambience on the patio was lovely and elegant. This was the 3rd time I have eaten here in the course of a year, and every time the food has been fabulous. We have eaten in most of the Sonoma restaurants and hands down this was the best.

  • Liked — food, location, ambiance
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — all accomodations in sonoma are costly and this hotel is better than most for what you pay
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

The El Dorado Hotel is right on the sonoma square near wonderful shops, restaurants, boutiques, cafes, bars, etc. Yes, the rooms are small, but rooms 3 and 4 have large verandas overlooking the downtown area. Staff members were very polite and helpful. Coffee and tea are available in the morning. Breakfast is not served until 11AM, but there's a cafe next door that has very reasonably priced breakfasts, muffins, snacks etc. The El Dorado Kitchen had fabulous food!! we highly recommend the wild salmon and the lobster risotto!! Great location and value!!! we would definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, staff were helpful and professional
  • Disliked — rooms are small
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cosmogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2006

We recently stayed 3 nights at the El Dorado. The room was VERY clean, decorated very nicely- pottery barn alarm clock, lamps, the lobby was very cool, kind of like a "W" hotel.
The only issue I had was the room was TINY!!! and there was really no room to sit out on the "balcony" the room was a bit stuffy and there was little or no air circlulation unless the air conditioning was running. But... For the value I feel it cannot be beat. I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't want a huge room.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2006

We stayed 1 night at the El Dorado in early March. The hotel is in a good location right on the plaza. We had to park on the street, but didn't have any trouble finding a parking spot on a Saturday evening. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable and plush. However, the room was above the restaurant (room 11), and obviously right above the stereo because the music was very loud. I can't recommend a room in a hotel where you need earplugs to be able to sleep. The staff was courteous and helped us find a good place for breakfast in the morning. So all in all, I give the El Dorado mixed reviews.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank at8126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2006

El Dorado provided what we wanted for a brief stay in September---a stylish (but small) room in a great location on the plaza in Sonoma at a reasonable price ($180/midweek, high season). Given the high prices of most wine country lodgings, at this price I hadn't expected great service, and we didn't get it. But we didn't need it---I make my own dinner reservations, and with Girl and the Fig across the street, Cafe La Haye two blocks away, excellent wine shops and The Cheesemaker's Daughter (great local cheese shop)within a block or two, I'm in foodie heaven. The room faced an attractive inner courtyard with a small pool and outdoor dining. There was a little noise from diners down below until about 10, but that didn't bother us--we were up anyway. The contemporary/rustic four poster bed and other simple furnishings were more stylish than usually seen in a room at this price. The complimentary breakfast isn't much, but the Basque Boulangerie is a fabulous local breakfast spot a block away if you want something more. So, if you're fairly self-sufficient and want an attractive room (I concur with the "Country W" assessment of the aesthetic)in a great location on Sonoma Plaza, without breaking the bank, the El Dorado is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank iowaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 11, 2005

I liked the laid-back but refined aesthetic of the El Dorado. Chic with a bohemian rustic charm. Other area places try to evoke some kind of fake "Mission" style or pile on the potpourri. Not the El Dorado. It's a unique, hip, casual place that doesn't lose site of its historic character -- the majestic old fig tree grounds the very cool spa-like pool area, for example. We were thrilled with the excellent restaurant. Put yourself in the hands of Thomas, the terrific, knowledgeable and vivacious wine steward. Adventurous and delicious food. Warm friendly service all around -- from the front desk person to the generous hotel manager. Can't beat the location. Try this place if you are looking for something less ordinary, but still comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing