We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Everthing you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the El Dorado for 2 nights in Mid October. Very nice hotel for the value and very comfortable beds. The restaurant is great with a nice cocktail and wine list. The El Dorado is right in the Sonoma Town square so walking to breakfast, lunch, dinner is a breeze. I felt very pleased with the value for the rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 307 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location of the hotel right on the plaza was perfect for walking around to get a bite to eat or just explore. We happened to stay on a Tuesday night, which meant the Farmer's Market took over the center of town. You can bring your own wine and enjoy the sights and sounds just a short walk away, so I definitely recommend it if you're in town at the right time.

I would also suggest requested a room overlooking the courtyard, as it's quieter and makes for a nice balcony view as well. The staff was excellent in helping us check out a few vineyards as we did not have much time to research before our trip. The price was great, and I would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a room overlooking the courtyard if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BriEm0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Spoke to both Courtney and Katrina regarding website "stay and save", Courtney also discussed with manager Treg. Will not acknowledge both for a 4 night stay. Plus means in addition to
Rooms are small. Facing street is loud.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in one of the rooms near the pool and enjoyed the quiet patio and easy access to parking lot. Parking lot is small and we had to park on street one day but it is such a great location that you don't need to drive other than going to wineries. Great food and service. Apparently a very popular place for dinner/drinks because it was consistently busy. Breakfast was good and easy to get into eat.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool were quiet and you can enter/leave without walking through the lobby. Room a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The El Dorado Kitchen was a charming stop on a busy day full of touring Sonoma. The charcuterie was delicious and truffle oil fries were yummy. A nice stop for the afternoon right off the town square.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TullyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotels can be hard to come by in Sonoma. We happened to get a room here for a night. I really liked it. The rooms are small, but nice. Has good tv, free internet, chilled water and good AC. Staff is nice. Food down stairs was is very good. All that and you are right in the heart of Sonoma at the square.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The El Dorado Hotel and Kitchen was the host facility for this year's Out in the Vineyard's annual Sonoma event, and we were very pleased with the hotel, the rooms, the cuisine, and hotel and restaurant staff. As other reviewers have noticed, the rooms and bathrooms are somewhat small and closet space is almost nonexistent, but the rooms are very comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated with polished saltillo tile floors throughout. We had a balcony overlooking the outdoor dining and pool courtyard area which was very nice and not at all noisy, even with the area full of diners for Fathers Day brunch. Parking is virtually non-existent on-site (there are only about eight spaces on the hotel grounds accessible from Spain Street), but plenty of free on-street parking 24/7 can be found nearby on the side streets off of the adjacent town square, so this is really a minor inconvenience.

The venue facilities, both indoor and outdoor, are more generous in spaciousness and more than adequate to accommodate the various events for the weekend, including a winemaker dinner and food pairing (the cuisine provided by the El Dorado Kitchen was fantastic), various wine tasting receptions, and a pool-themed outdoor party. There are literally dozens of wine tasting rooms, restaurants, and shops surrounding the town square, so you can eat and drink and taste to your heart's content without having to drive anywhere! Everything is a short walk away, a block or two at the most.

If you are looking for a spacious wine country resort, you may want to look elsewhere farther from town. However, if you want to be within walking distance of everything and don't mind staying at an older, smaller, boutique hotel with good wine country cuisine, you will be happy with the El Dorado. We certainly will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior courtyard and pool. The street view rooms will have less privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.0 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $198 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing