We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique place for unique tastes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonoma Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique place for unique tastes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location at the heart of Sonoma - with an amazing restaurant on the main floor, the Girl and the Fig. The staff was incredibly nice and the hotel had a decent breakfast, and a wine happy hour. The styling felt like a throw back to its historic roots, and for us it was a nice change, but not glamourous. The rooms were average to small in size, and it looked like all rooms required a hike up some stairs. Ours was on the third floor, which in July was fairly hot without air conditioning. We didn't mind it at all, but I think some people would view that negatively.
On street parking required us to park a few blocks away, but it helped us discover Roche Winery next door which was a great place to stop in for a tasting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    17
    19
    13
See reviews for
11
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here two nights with my husband and during my stay, I formed two conflicting opinions of this place. During the day, it was ok. Our room was tiny, with a double and a twin bed and a tiny bathroom as well with a sink in the room. The room was cleaned impeccably and the sheets were fresh. The breakfast was nice, the selection of pastries was good, albeit all were a bit too sweet.

Some maintenance issues were apparent in the room. The sink drips, the lightbulb in the desk lamp was burnt out, and a plug was not working. The tv is outdated and should not be included with the listed amenities.

When it came time to sleep, I wanted to pack my bags, demand a refund and leave. I was pretty jet lagged and really needed to sleep, but I could hear voices of people standing outside the door, footsteps on the stairs and voices of the upstairs neighbors. In addition to that, the sink dripped all night, and intensified my frustration. It was the worst night of sleep in a hotel that I have ever gotten.

I mentioned the dripping sink to the ladies at front desk and they seemed surprised, made a note about it and said someone would take a look at it that day. Apparently that never happened, because the drip was in full force the following night. Additionally, after talking to another hotel guest who had a dripping sink problem as well, I have the impression that the owners just don't care enough to fix it.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The price is far too high for the tiny room and lack of sound proofing. At the very least, the hotel should have a stock of ear plugs to hand out to their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meemawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was: (A) on the main square, and (B) "historic." I also liked that it was next door to "The Girl and the Fig," an excellent Bistro-style restaurant. I was disappointed because the hotel didn't have an elevator. I booked a "Petite Suite" but the room was located on the third floor. We had to schlep our full suitcases one at a time all the way up and down. That by itself wasn't too bad (who couldn't use a little exercise?), but I was also disappointed that the hotel didn't have any designated parking. We did have a little bit of trouble finding parking close to the hotel during the day. I booked a "Petite Suite" because it was supposed to have two beds, but the room was TINY. The second bed was a pull-out couch, but when we pulled it out, the bed took up most of the space in the room. The other bed was VERY comfortable (with a beautiful bedspread). One more disappointing thing: the place smelled a little musty. The website described the hotel as "historic," and it was, but it just looked a little old and in need of repair in some places. The continental breakfast was nice (only pastries, coffee, and tea), and the staff were extremely friendly, but I will choose another hotel with more of the modern amenities next time I go to Sonoma. I didn't have a bad experience at the Sonoma Hotel, it just wasn't what I was expecting.

Room Tip: Be warned: most of the rooms are TINY
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent a lovely, relaxing weekend in Sonoma and would definitely stay at the Sonoma Hotel again.

Pluses:
+ charming decor
+ comfortable rooms and lobby
+ very reasonable prices
+ excellent location right on Sonoma Square
+ delicious, complimentary continental breakfast with assorted pastries, coffee and fresh juice
+ complimentary wine happy hour
+ the Girl & the Fig is located in the building. It has amazing food and a great bar.
+ friendly, accommodating staff and fellow patrons
+ lovely lobby excellent for rendezvous with our crew before dinner or after dinner to play cards or sip wine
+ our room had a small sofa and coffee table, which was really nice for getting together with friends to taste wine and play games.

Minuses:
- hot water on Saturday morning was hit-or-miss. My fellow travelers didn't experience it, but I took a less than perfect shower.
- lacks some modern amenities, like an ice machine (necessary for our white wine purchases)
- on the street parking, which was not a terrible problem for us, since we went out wine tasting during the day, but could be an issue if you want to stay in town and don't want to move your car every two hours.
- no elevator. Not an issue for us, but it was an issue for some older travelers who were staying there.

Like I said, it suited our needs very well and we'd definitely stay there again, but it may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is on the ground floor. I would have thought it would be noisy, but our traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonHunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were glad to find a twin room at late notice in the local town square. The lady behind the desk was friendly and we were given wine on arrival! A quaint, slightly chintzy room, but we liked it. Street parking didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niclier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After dinner at the restaurant (Girl and the Fig) we called a taxi. It was a bit chilly so we went inside to wait in the lobby. We were advised by the woman at the desk that we could not stand in the lobby but had to wait outside. I can't even imagine staying at a place with this attitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sonoma hotels

Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay in the hotel but stopped and had dinner in the restuarant. The food food was really good, prepared correctly and the prices were reasonable (for Sonoma, CA). The service was good - not great, but no complaints at all. We sat out back on the outdoor patio and it was pleasant there. Safe bet if you are downtown in Sonoma.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HudsonScooterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Hotel

Property: Sonoma Hotel
Address: 110 W Spain St, Sonoma, CA 95476-5696
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sonoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing