We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming and friendly, not modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonoma Hotel to your Saves list
Sonoma Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 W. Spain St., Sonoma, CA 95476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly, not modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent a lovely, relaxing weekend in Sonoma and would definitely stay at the Sonoma Hotel again.

Pluses:
+ charming decor
+ comfortable rooms and lobby
+ very reasonable prices
+ excellent location right on Sonoma Square
+ delicious, complimentary continental breakfast with assorted pastries, coffee and fresh juice
+ complimentary wine happy hour
+ the Girl & the Fig is located in the building. It has amazing food and a great bar.
+ friendly, accommodating staff and fellow patrons
+ lovely lobby excellent for rendezvous with our crew before dinner or after dinner to play cards or sip wine
+ our room had a small sofa and coffee table, which was really nice for getting together with friends to taste wine and play games.

Minuses:
- hot water on Saturday morning was hit-or-miss. My fellow travelers didn't experience it, but I took a less than perfect shower.
- lacks some modern amenities, like an ice machine (necessary for our white wine purchases)
- on the street parking, which was not a terrible problem for us, since we went out wine tasting during the day, but could be an issue if you want to stay in town and don't want to move your car every two hours.
- no elevator. Not an issue for us, but it was an issue for some older travelers who were staying there.

Like I said, it suited our needs very well and we'd definitely stay there again, but it may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is on the ground floor. I would have thought it would be noisy, but our traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonHunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    17
    18
    13
See reviews for
10
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were glad to find a twin room at late notice in the local town square. The lady behind the desk was friendly and we were given wine on arrival! A quaint, slightly chintzy room, but we liked it. Street parking didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niclier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After dinner at the restaurant (Girl and the Fig) we called a taxi. It was a bit chilly so we went inside to wait in the lobby. We were advised by the woman at the desk that we could not stand in the lobby but had to wait outside. I can't even imagine staying at a place with this attitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sonoma hotels

Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay in the hotel but stopped and had dinner in the restuarant. The food food was really good, prepared correctly and the prices were reasonable (for Sonoma, CA). The service was good - not great, but no complaints at all. We sat out back on the outdoor patio and it was pleasant there. Safe bet if you are downtown in Sonoma.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HudsonScooterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was in Sonoma for the weekend for work and the company booked the room. When we got to town I learned that there was no parking lot for the hotel, it was just on street parking in the Sonoma Square area, almost impossible to get a spot during the day. Check in was smooth and we drug our luggage up the stairs to the second floor. The room was small which we expected, the bathroom had plenty of room though, roomy shower was nice. We were with our 13 year old daughter and there was a fold out loveseat for her to sleep on. There is no WiFi, the front desk told us if we sat by the window we might be able to connect to the wifi across the street. The TV was an old 19" that looked to be as old as the property, a shame since there were lots of channels. At 9pm we got a call in the room from the front desk advising that there was a $25 per night charge for the extra person (our 13 year old daughter). They wanted to be sure we handled that prior to check out.

The room was loud which we expected because of the location. It didn't feel very clean, the carpet was pretty worn and stained but it didn't smell bad and we couldn't point to anything other than the carpet that needed attention.

The morning pastries were fine, the coffee was good. Evening wine reception consisted of two bottles of already open wine being set out, that's it.

We were reminded three times that we needed to stop at the front desk to pay for the third person charge before we checked out. Apparently they thought we might sneak out without doing it.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again if given the choice. For $220+ per night I really expected more. There are other places in that same price range that are much more comfortable in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night and also ate and drank in the bar/restaurant downstairs.

The room was pleasant. Certainly clean and comfortable, and good value. I would happily return.

We had a drink in the bar, before dinner. The service was solid, the food was very good and the atmosphere buzzy.

Had we been staying for longer in Sonoma I might choose a bigger hotel with better facilities but for one or two nights this is ideal.

I can't remember its name, but there was a lovely cafe a few doors down, where we had breakfast the following morning. It had a large garden at the back and is worth keeping an eye out for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfoodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

It looked like a charming old hotel in the pictures on the internet, but once you arrive, if you're discerning at all, you soon see the stingy corner-cutting. For the late afternoon wine hour one white and one red bottle was set out, each with about 2 inches of wine. No pretzels, no popcorn,nor even a crust of bread. The continental breakfast, not available till 8 AM, no choice of decaf or regular coffee-- orange juice, and half a dozen pasteries to choose from. And, yes, the only place to sit was a table about 18 inches wide. (To make up for all this, our hosts provide two mints on your pillow when you check in.) One newspaper in the lobby but no place, really, to read it.

The lobby has a fireplace, and it was December, but no fire.

We had the best room in the house, and the shower stall was barely big enough to turn around in. We could hear the man in the next room using the toilet.

We paid almost $200 for the night -- in the off season -- for service barely equal to Motel 6.. Next morning we looked at rooms in two other hotels on the square, both excellent and up to par in every way -- between $110 and $150 in the off season.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Try the Swiss Hotel (excellent) or El Dorado Hotel (excellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Hotel

Property: Sonoma Hotel
Address: 110 W. Spain St., Sonoma, CA 95476
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sonoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing