We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience Wine Country as a VIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eclectic Tour

Eclectic Tour
Ranked #28 of 39 Tours in Sonoma
Attraction details
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
248 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Experience Wine Country as a VIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was our third trip planned by Eclectic Tours but our first with a group small enough to experience the individual attention that David, Rhoni and Morgan are best known for. Just like their website says, Eclectic is perfect for wine tasters who may have already done the typical commercial wineries along the wine trail, and who want to go off-the-beaten path. The Napa Valley has hundreds of ultra-premium winemakers and Eclectic always puts together an itinerary that treats us to special wines, winemakers and vineyards we would otherwise never see. We are able to picnic in the vineyards, tour the wine caves, meet the owners and winemakers themselves and ask questions about the winemaking process. VIP!

The transport vehicles are top notch for touring. I think we've been in all of them at one time or another. We've also experienced all three tour guides and enjoyed their unique perspectives on the area and their individual contributions. David is an excellent guide and will stop at nothing to make sure everyone is comfortable and happy. He chimes in when asked, engages in the conversation when invited and generally puts up with our behavior - whether we're laughing, singing or sleeping. He is always early to pick us up and excited to be there. Nothing is ever a problem for David and any reasonable request is met without hesitation. He even asked if he could take pictures of our day and send them to us. Rhoni is more reserved, very respectful of our group, and eager to accomodate requests and answer questions. Morgan is upbeat, funny, easy going, and very professional. She is also a livesaver! She went to the store for us to get Tums and aspirin (LOL) while we were at dinner. All in all, we felt very pampered and special.

I highly recommend Eclectic Tour to anyone looking for a unique experience in the Napa wine regionn

Thanks for another fabulous trip David, Rhoni and Morgan!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    0
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paget Bermuda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorified taxi serive for $550, 5 hours.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We thought that we would advise other tour goers in Sonoma NOT to use this service. To call this a tour company is not really fair. This was a grossly overpriced taxi service as Rhonnie, our 'tour' guide and (I think) an owner of the company, offered nothing of value to us the whole day- no tibid of info on Sonoma or otherwise. The 'guide' demonstrated a serious lack of knowledge about the vineyards in the area, wines offered, and the industry as a whole. She mis-informed us on the cost of tastings and when we asked for help with figuring out the cost she told us to "go ask yourself". Additionally, a so-called 20% gratuity was imposed AFTER I booked the tour that was not voluntary- I even asked to remove it at the end of the tour and I was told flatly No. Also, a $50 fuel surcharge was imposed in the same fashion. There is no way we travelled more than 30 miles that whole day as we stayed very close to the hotel. This was the worst $550 dollars I have ever spent - especially for 4 person private 5 hour wine 'tour'.

Helpful?
2 Thank JulesHPagetBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“What a fantastic day....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My partner and I and our two friends were hosted by David. We can't say enough great things about our experience. David arranged for a day of wine tours, each of which was not typically part of the usual wineries offered by the typical tour, and was the result of David carefully listening to our interest for the tour. Each winery stop was hosted by someone as personable and knowledgable as David. En route between stops, David explained the various wineries and noteworthy attractions that we were passing. The selection of the wineries, his local contacts, and his day-long commentary during the tour demonstrated David's knowledge of the Napa area and his attention to detail. We would highly recommend Eclectric.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank EdinStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of a kind experience. Personal attention from vitners at your own pace. David provides local color making it relaxed, fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We would highly recommend this experience for the novice or experienced wine conniseuor.

Helpful?
Thank Stone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
1 review
“Eclectic Tours made our Napa experience unforgettable!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Eclectic Tours provided us with the most amazing wine-tour experience! From the moment we contacted them, David, Rhoni and Morgan were friendly, responsive and made us feel like family. Their knowledge of Napa/Sonoma allowed them to create a tour which gave us a spectrum of winery experiences from high-end to boutique to casual, all of which were fantastic! Morgan was our driver and it was evident throughout our tour that she has formed some great relationships with the wineries in Napa. Each stop on our tour was amazing and her attention to detail, timeliness and overall service was more than we anticipated. She even took her own pictures of us during our tastings and gave us a DVD afterwards! We will most definitely be using Eclectic Tours on our next trip to Napa and will be recommending them to friends and family as well!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank wineloversnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclectic Tour also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Eclectic Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing