We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tara na sa Club Tara!”
Review of Club Tara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tara Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Socorro B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My family and I usually visit places in the Philippines where nature abounds. Club Tara Resort is a refreshing place that opens the door to the beauty of Bucas Grande Island in Surigao del Norte. It is located strategically between the glimmering Sohoton Cove and the powdery-white sand beaches going to Socorro town.

The resort’s rate may be a bit pricey compared to the other resorts in the island but we think it is worth every cent we paid. It only has ten cottages, offering a certain degree of privacy to its guests. At the time we were there, only three cottages were occupied, two by us and one by a young Korean couple with a 5 year-old son. They left a day ahead of us so we practically had the place to ourselves on the last of the 3 days and 2 nights we stayed there. That gave us the relaxing feeling of being in an exclusive resort all our own.

The place is magnificent with clear emerald waters. The rooms open up to a lagoon surrounded by lush green trees on limestone islets. It was like having a huge swimming pool right at our balcony’s edge. There was no need to use neither the room’s Jacuzzi nor the resort’s swimming pool. The kids had fun kayaking in it and around the resort. It does not face the sunrise but the sunset view at the end of the day was simply awesome!

The rooms were huge, clean and relaxing. The resort manager and staff were friendly, courteous and accommodating. The food was sufficient for the 6 meals that came with the cost. It reminded us of home-made cooking but much more delicious and does not have a commercial taste to it.

For those who want a summer getaway, Sohoton Cove in Bucas Grande Island, Surigao del Norte is the place to go to for jellyfish watching, cave exploring, diving, snorkelling and simply marvelling at the beauty of God’s handiwork in this part of northern Mindanao.

And for those who would like to have a relaxing and worry-free vacation, Club Tara Resort is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LakwatserangParuparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fantastic surroundings, run down facilities. Everywhere you can see evidence of neglect or at least poor maintenance. Wasn't sure I'd bother to write a review but felt it was the least I could do to warn others and maybe wake up the resort management.

The food - barely acceptable quality, definitely not 5 stars. Coffee was 3-in-1 mix that tasted like it was split in half to make 2 cups! Breakfast was local canned corned beef of the lowest quality. No paper napkins! When I asked for napkins I was given a nearly empty roll of toilet paper! One guest asked for additional vinegar and was told no more was available. As for snacks, forget it. You'd better bring your own since the restaurant offers nothing in between the three set meals. You also can't choose what to eat. And beer is 150.00 each!

Transportation - a pain. The only van going to Hayangabon from Surigao airport was a dilapidated one that smelled of fish. The alternative we took was bound for Tandag. The driver switched off the aircon after about twenty minutes on the road. If it wasn't cloudy and lightly raining, the heat and stuffiness would have been unbearable. If you still want to go there, better arrange a van with the resort and hope they give you a good one. Of course you'll have to pay an arm and a leg for that!

The jacuzzi didn't work, the pool had no water, and you can't even brush your teeth with the water that came out of the faucet; it was that bad!

Just like one review said.. a lot of potential. But that's it.. just potential, not hard reality.

Stay away if you value your money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Luckily found this resort on cash cash pinoy...Me and my friend's been searching for a place that we can feel the nature.The place where we can value their preserved nature.. This place was perfect.. great view, nice staff, and the peace and relaxation we've been searching for months due to our busy schedule...
Going there was like an adventure to us.. its all worth it... island hopping, snorkling, and my favorite part was the UNLIMITED KAYAKING... we will go back there for sure!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Been her for once only together with my friend who introduce this place. Together with my son and daughter, we stay here for 2nights and 3days. I really enjoy the ambiance of this place. Stress with my daily works and routine in Manila, Club Tara really helps and ease my stress. Also a great place to unwind and enjoy bonding with my children. Definitely, a great quality time!!! Surely, we'll be back here with my Mom! I could rate it with 5star more if not only some of the place were ruin after the typhoon. But according to one of the staff, it is because they let some of their neighborhood whose house was damage by flood to stay there for a few a days. Really a good samaritan huh! Two thumbs up for them!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Got to know this place from CashCash Pinoy group buying site. I was in awe looking at the picturesquely perfect resort's uploaded photos. We end up buying the deal for Php16000 for 4 pax, 3D/2N Jacuzzi room accommodation with full board meals. There was no problem booking at the resort. Just email or call the number stated on the voucher and Voila! Finally booked on our target travel date. Going there isn't as easy as 1-2-3. The resort's transfer rate cost Php3,000/way good for two person.( including Private Van service & Boat transfer arrange by us. If 4 persons, Php1,000/way per person). We decided not to arranged our transfer with them. From Surigao Airport, we take the 2-hour van ride going to Hayanggabon pier. Then, boat ride from the pier to resort takes 30-40 minutes. We were welcome with an artificially mixed juice drinks . Resort staffs are nice and accommodating. Food is not bad at all. True enough, the view is picturesquely perfect. The Jacuzzi room is spacious enough. The only problem is that there is no door separating the toilet, jacuzzi, and shower room. Towels are rugged and old. The Jacuzzi is not functioning (it serves as a bathtub only). Needs repair so that it would serve it's purpose. Toiletries (Shampoo, soap, toothpaste and toothbrush) aren't available. You have to bring your own. Thankful enough that they provide toilet paper. Oh the room! There were ants crawling on the walls. And they never bothered to change linens and clean the rooms (especially the bathroom). Never mind the swimming pool. It's not tiled and dirty, but very photogenic. We enjoyed kayaking around the resort (unlimited). We do Island hopping tour to Bucas Gande/Sohoton Islands but we arranged it not from the resort because they offer very expensive rates. Thankful that I find tour guides/boatmen with much affordable rate from a blog site. Bucas Grande/Sohoton Island hopping was a great experience. Breath-taking view, amazing caves, and wonderful white sand beaches were majestic. Finally, Club Tara Resort experience wasn't bad after all. Only needs proper maintenance, renovation and improvements to justify their expensive rates. Don't have regrets going there because we only got it on a promo in a group buying site. And one more thing, I can say that it's the Maldives of the Philippines.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tripaholicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has a lot of potential but sadly, is not maximized. The resort is roughly 6 years running and maintenance is a primary issue. Dilapidation of certain areas are quite visible and need to be addressed. Altho this is mainly for aesthetic reasons, it adds to the total experience of the place. The rooms are very comfortable to sleep-in and the open terrace (with glass flooring) overlooking the water is a nice touch! The staff were very attentive to our needs and requests but then again, we were the only guests during our stay. But I think they are sincerely considerate.
Other activities you can do are, snorkeling, kayaking, swimming - all for free! You can kayak to a nearby island with a small strip of white sand where you can lay bare and sunbathe. Fresh coconuts can be had if you're nice enough to the locals. If you are lucky, intermittent light rainshowers occcur to cool you off. The place looks amazing during these times!
One of the issues I have is the open planning of the toilet & shower. While this maybe okay with couples; families and friends might have an issue with modesty and privacy. Another issue
is the shower floor drain which goes directly down the water below. I don't exactly know the long term repercussions of this (chemicals from soap & shampoo) but as long as there are fishes, then I guess it's still safe... for now.
Altho I had a pleasant stay at this resort, this will be a one time deal for me. We got a huge discount via online so it was worth it. Otherwise, the published rate is way too overpriced for the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GoodKrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Bought a voucher from cashcashpinoy, paid 13,000PHP for a 3D2N stay. We thought it was an awesome deal for all the amenities and the 5star experience. The thing that closed the deal was actually the Jacuzzi and all the other amazing pictures shown.

Getting There
- Rates that the owner/manager gave us were ridiculously expensive so we decided to go and take the public transportation and find a cheaper boat going there
- The van ride was absolutely horrible and we had to wait for soooo long for the boat to arrive
- TIP: just go take the expensive one that the resort offers

The Welcome
- Just like what other people said, it was not really much of a welcome - the welcome drink was just cheap juice.
- When we got there, we felt so sticky and dirty but the water system was BROKEN so we had to wait until 3am to be able to take a shower.

The Room
- Very nice and well decorated room - very spacious too.
- If you look closer, you'd notice that it's not well maintained. The room is actually very dirty.
- The bed is big, pillows are nice.. But if you smell the sheets they seem OLD. If you are very allergy prone like me, you will end up with skin asthma because of the room.

The Bathroom
- Not clean
- JACUZZI, please don't let the hotel pictures fool you because the jacuzzi is very very old and honestly quite gross.

The facilities/tours
- Now this, you have to take advantage of. There's unlimited use of kayaks! So we went around with our personal guide
- At the time we went, the pool had no water.
- They offer island hopping for a very expensive price, so it's better if you find another contact that will give you a tour for cheaper
- Island hopping was amazing :) The islands are very photogenic and the caves are also very very nice.

The Food
- Nothing exceptional, quite plain and very "home cooked".
- The meals were free so I guess I can't complain too much.

The Staff
- Most of the staff were very friendly

FINAL VERDICT
Like the title says, don't let the pictures fool you the way it fooled me and my boyfriend. Go to the resort with low expectations and you'll be happy. The place had it's glory days perhaps 5 years ago, but it REALLY wasn't maintained. Overall though, we had a great experience. The island itself really is a paradise. You will appreciate the lovely view.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Socorro
0.0 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#6 of 6 in General Luna
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romantic Beach Villas
Romantic Beach Villas
#9 of 50 in Siargao Island
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eddie's Beach Resort Siargao
Eddie's Beach Resort Siargao
#7 of 25 in General Luna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tara Resort

Address: Bucas Grande Island, Socorro, Mindoro 847 00, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Socorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Socorro
Price Range: $72 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Club Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tara Hotel Surigao City
Club Tara Resort Philippines/Socorro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing