We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average.”

Big Bopper Drive-In
Ranked #54 of 72 Restaurants in Solvang
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
southern Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just average.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I stopped in Solvang for the night and just wanted a burger instead of a full meal. We found Big Bopper, and ordered a Solvang burger (reg. hamburger) and a 1/4 lb burger, both with pickle, onion, & mustard only. When the burgers came, they were fully dressed, adding lettuce, tomato, and mayo instead of mustard. The meat is just a small frozen patty that's put on a grill, nothing special. Our bill came to around $9 for just the 2 burgers. While they didn't taste bad, I just wouldn't go back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PamsouthernIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seaside
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Tri Tip Sandwich/Ok Cheese Burger”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husbands Tri Tip was really good he said, my cheese burger was good but not the best I have ever had. The onion rings tasted like they cooked fish in the oil before the fries were cooked...Yuck
The guy at the window was very nice :)
The tables outside were old and dirty and there was ants on the table.
Would we go back? probably not.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
1 review
“Great fries!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

It took quite awhile to get our food. It was almost $10 per meal which is a bit spendy for a family of five but it is a tourist area. The burgers were ok but the fries were AWESOME! Next time I'd just get the fries and skip the burger and soda!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydmurrsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food & good price”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We ordered a burger, tri-tip sandwich, and am order or chili fries and the food was hot and good. The prices were great and if you have pets they are pet friendly because all the seating is outside.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank melissajo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Great place to get a Burger”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Big Bopper is a great place to get a great burger. Styled after the 50s car hops(This is not a car hop BTW) The food here is great and there's two sets of outdoor seating. I can honestly say I had one of the best burgers I ever had right here. Their menu is surprisingly large offering all varieties of burgers and shakes. Not a huge establishment by any means but the food is well worth a visit. When driving into Solvang after you first enter the town eastbound on Hwy 246, just look to the right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bopper Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing