We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveler rating
483
335
97
31
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
335
97
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolpotatoeswine tastingoatmeallobster bisqueelectric fireplaceflat screenfresh fruithot tuba great place to staymid weeksliding doorfree breakfastwine countryroom ratesanta barbarain town
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 964 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2017

Very clean and comfortable with a fireplace. It is within walking distance to bakeries, restaurants, and shopping (definitely check out the Christmas store). Casino and golf close by. It is a lovely town and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GarryP176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Garry P,


Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We hope to accommodate you again when you return to the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights. When we checked in, an amazing young woman, Kiana, informed us our room would not be ready until 3pm. As we had driven in from AZ we took her suggestions for a place to eat & walked some of the town. When we came back at 3pm the room was ready & she gave us more helpful hints for the area, like one of her favorite restaurants. (This hotel's bistro is closed Sunday & Monday & we came in on Sunday). This hotel is very popular & is so convenient, the entire town is walkable from it. Breakfast each morning was filling. They rotate the fruit but the rest is pretty standard: scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, toast, oatmeal & cold cereals.

Room Tip: room in the back away from the main highway
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank okcorralNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear okorralNevada,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 Star review of our hotel!
Our team members work hard to ensure that each guest receives a personalized experience and we truly appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge the wonderful service Kiana provided. Kiana is a gem and we are grateful to have her on our team. Unfortunately our restaurant is no longer open for lunch and dinner but we do serve delicious hot breakfast in the mornings. Your comments are motivating to all staff and we hope to welcome you back to our Hadsten House the next time you are in Solvang!
Thank you again for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here on a Saturday night. Good news: room was comfortable & it was super quiet all around us. We chose a room in the back (114) & ended up on the lower floor. Luckily, all neighbors were good tenants.

The indoor pool was interesting mostly for kids. We did partake in the outdoor jacuzzi. Very relaxing soak before bed.

Bad news: Restaurant food was just okay. Service not very good.

Gave them 4 stars due to the room rate ($300) as we booked late. Felt it was a bit high considering we just wanted the basics and didn’t stay for breakfast. Oh well, live & learn. Otherwise, a restful stay. One of the first hotels entering town.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017

Our group planned a two part conference at the Hadsten House for two separate 3 day weekends on 9/29-10/1 and 11/3-11/5 2017. I was the event planner as well as one of the trainers. As the event planner, I was well taken care of by the manager, Mr. Michael Hawk, who made sure our entire experience was well managed, and went by without any significant issues. He was helpful in coordinating with his staff, as well as managing any 'random problems' that came up with the set up and during the event. Several of the participants stayed at the hotel and gave us great feedback about the venue, the staff, the rooms, the restaurant, and the service.

Our primary trainer has been doing this for many years and was impressed by the level of care and service we were provided during our time at the conference. He stayed in the spa suite, and enjoyed it so much he has booked it for next year, when we do the conference again. (We booked it for a second year).

From small things like having a battery when we needed it for the computer remote, to big things like making sure all the coffee, food, water, etc was never running out, and keeping the conference rooms clean (despite us keeping our stuff there overnight), they were extremely helpful at making our event successful.

Mr. Hawk and Amara (from the staff) took the time to regularly check in on us, to make sure our needs were met, handled any problems we encountered almost immediately, and overall made sure our event went by without any problems.

The outside spa area and indoor pool were very much appreciated by some of the participants who stayed overnight, and several ate at the restaurant for dinner and enjoyed it. There were five of us trainers who ate at the restaurant each night of the first training and very much enjoyed the salmon, the steak, the salads and the wine. The bread was really great too.

I would HIGHLY recommend the Hadsten House-for the rooms, the conference site, and the food. They did a great job.

Thanks from the team at EMDR Consulting

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Walked into the lobby and no coffee. This was not a good start! Was expecting inside hallways - disappointment # 2.
Toilet in bathroom was so low I could hardly get up and there were no grab bars - must have been designed for a child. disappointment # 3

The water faucets were hard to turn off and on. Took me both hands. disappointment #4

The bed was great! The breakfast was average. The location was not the best in the area- but it was ok. the price was great!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank vermeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews