We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hadsten House - good, but.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hadsten House - good, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

The Hadsten House is very nice, but quite expensive ($200 per night).

The rooms and grounds are very nice, and the pool area and hot tub are very pleasant. The restaurant is good, and the staff outstanding. Room furnishings are well done. The afternoon cheese and wine from 3 - 5 pm is a nice touch. Breakfast, although basic, is enjoyable.

This hotel is a good choice in Solvang.

There are some issues:
- The hotel is designed like the old motor inns, and traffic and people noise is a problem.
- The hotel is adjacent to a busy road, and traffic noise starts at 6am.
- The bathroom has no privacy, as there is no door, only a very noisy sliding door. Forget about not disturbing other room occupants at night.
- The windows do not have curtains, but shutters, which let in a lot of light. The east-facing rooms get light and bright at dawn.

Unless you wish to blow the budget at Alisal Ranch or the Santa Inez Inn, this is a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    292
    86
    26
    16
See reviews for
132
489
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lompoc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

I just wanted to pass on my compliments to the chef. I dined there last night for my first time and my experience was more than I expected. The ambiance is great and it feels nothing like the traditionally feeling in this valley, which has been long needed. The menu selection is wonderful and the presentation was well exceeded. The flavor intricacy was impressive especially dealing with shell fish could be difficult to separate those natural oceanic flavors from the dish. All in all I will be back and I would not hesitate to send guests and friends there for an enjoyable experience.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank valleygirlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermosa beach, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We spent two days in the Solvang area and found the hotel to be a nice option. The service was good, the room nice, and the breakfast was big and hearty. Our only complaint was that noise traveled easily -- the walls seem to be thin. The hotel was quiet at night, but did get noisy in the morning after about 8 am -- made it hard to sleep in.

It's an easy walk into central Solvang from there, and a short drive to many wineries and restaurants. The staff was great in helping us get a Saturday night reservation at the Hitching Post II in Buellton.

  • Liked — Location, service, and breakfast
  • Disliked — The noise in the morning (probably due to thin walls)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

While the lobby and the rooms inside all were renovated nicely, the outside is still only average and not worth the inflated price of the room. I booked what I thought was a suite (and ended up paying that price - $60 more) but only got a double queen room. I was told the prices change daily based on occupency and holiday, but I really believe I was overcharged since the website clearly lists the lower price room rate for the type of room we recieved. The rooms, while very nicely decorated, were very noisy - we heard every door shut, every chair move, etc. since the walls were very thin. The free breakfast buffet was nice, but since I felt overcharged for the room, it did not make up for the cost. It is at the edge of the town but within walking distance if you are able.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Very noisy rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ttxx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

Stayed there with my girlfriend in May of 2008. It's a lovingly re-mastered motel. Yes, motel. You park in front of your room after getting your key from the front desk. But the rooms are very well maintained with wide-screen TVs, gas fireplace, and a cute fleur-de-lis theme on the bedspread and furnishings. The front desk people couldn't have been more helpful in terms of directions to wineries, the closest restaurants, etc. While we never had a meal in the attached restaurant, it too has a fun look and we really loved the free wine and appetizers after a long and sweaty drive up from Los Angeles. As noted, the Hadsten doesn't serve breakfast but does provide you with coupons for a nearby faux-Scandanavian breakfast/pastry nook that my girlfriend and I actually came to love. Another nice feature is that the Hadsten is at the edge of town, so you don't have to deal with as much slow-moving town traffic when you head off for your tastings. The only complaint I had was with someone stomping around in the room above us on Saturday night. I think there was some kind of Harley convention in town and those leather boots aren't made for tip-toeing. Other than that... I haven't stayed in any other hotels/motels in Solvang, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hadsten House to anyone visiting the area.

  • Liked — Classiness-to-dollar ratio
  • Disliked — Upstairs guests were a little loud on Saturday night
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeartyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

Despite using words like house, inn, spa, etc., this is a motel. It is probably the nicest motel we've stayed in, but it wasn't what we expected after viewing their website. Though, it is one of the better values in Solvang. The room was a decent size and beautifully decorated, the staff was nice, and we had a pleasant time, but we just wanted to warn those who expected something resembling a lodge or hotel that this is, in fact, a motel.

  • Liked — Nice-looking, clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Room a facing the parking lot and right next to a busy street.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank feneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

I first visited this hotel in November 2007, when the property was still under construction. This was originally an old motel that got purchased by new owners and after an extensive renovation it became the Hadsten House, with great bright spacious rooms with 1 king or 2 queen firm top-quality beds, 32' LCD TV / DVD player, faux fireplace that makes a lot of sense for a romantic evening with the significant other. Spacious bathroom, quiet AC, upscale modern interior design. No stench whatsoever- just clean air. This is a 100% smoke-free hotel. Free wireless internet is available in designated locations. Very courteous room service and front desk. Romantic restaurant. Great breakfast buffet in the morning. Indoor pool open till 10PM. Jacuzzi inside the enclosed back-yard arranged like a lounge. I can continue on with the list of great feature, but I think you got the point. This is definitely the top choice for Solvang + it is conveniently and centrally located so you can pretty much walk everywhere in town. I highly recommend this hotel to all of you who don't mind spending around $200 per night, and get a great value in exchange. If you want to pay half as much, go to the famous hotel with the windmill in Buelton. But don't complain from the stench of their rooms.

  • Liked — Rooms have no smell. I am very sensitive to hotel room stench, so this hotel is like a paradise.
  • Disliked — Sometimes they have 2 nights minimum stay, which makes it very hard for me to reserve due to my schedule...
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mikichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing