We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel at the edge of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 895 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel at the edge of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The Hadsten House is a great place to stay. The rooms were good sized and very comfortable. It's location is at the edge of town, but within walking distance of everything. Don't miss having dinner at their restarurant (great food). Clean, A/C worked well, quiet, and hotel staff was very friendly. During peak season I can see that parking could be tight.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    299
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
137
500
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
435 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

A European style Inn, on the main street. Good location near everything.
Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Our room keeping with European style, featured a freestanding wardrobe, king bed with upscale linens, flat screen TV, writing desk, comfy couch and a fireplace. Bathroom with a lovely tub was welcomed after long day of sightseeing. Full breakfast was included. Indoor pool was nice as free parking on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went to Solvang for a day and stayed overnight here. The room was very nice and looked updated. The fireplace made it very homey. It was a short walk to the downtown area, but we decided to drive and park. It was a little more than some of the other motels but not much. I would stay here again if we come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToBike8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We decided to stay the night in Solvang and consulted Trip Advisor for a hotel recommendation. When I saw over 600 reviews with an exceptionally high rating I thought surely we wouldn't be able to afford Hadsten House but it's Sunday and the usual $170 room was just $99. From the outside it doesn't look much different from the $70 Travelodge we stayed in last night but once you open the room door, it's just lovely.

Contemporary and welcoming, Charleston style shutters on the windows, and cozy sofa, updated paneled carpet with tasteful art on the walls. It's the little touches that make this room look more like a guest room in your wealthy aunts home than a hotel room.

A fireplace, an adorable rustic bunny lamp and 1940's style phone, with a padded seat tucked under the vanity, but it was the pocket door in the commode that won me over. This room is the most homey and comfortable I think we've ever stayed in.

We also love the fact that there's a nice restaurant here. We don't have to get back in the car and look for a place to have dinner. We'll just walk across the lot and enjoy dinner made with local ingredients and local wine. Of course we could opt for room service if we wanted to stay put.

Once last thing.... my husband is a smoker and though it's a no-smoking facility, there's an adorable café set with an ashtray right outside the door so we can sit outside in the evening with a glass of wine and a smoke.

If you're in the Solvang area, Hadsten House is a must... it's just lovely.

Ps... it's right in the center of Solvang though it's so quiet you would never know

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Fantastic rooms with king size bed, flats screen TV, DVD player, electric wood effect fireplace, quality furnishings and very nice bathrooms. Super clean and well maintained. To top it all they also provide a quality breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian71037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just spent the weekend here and the rooms are great and modern. Whenever we had an issue such as a new blow dryer or more towels they were quick to respond. The best thing about staying here was the free wine pass. There are tons of complimentary wine tasting on the pass and 2 for 1 tastings as well. It saves you so much money on tastings. I've stayed at other hotels in Solvang and they didn't offer this complimentary wine pass. From now on we'll be staying at the Hadsten just for the wine pass.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nessaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went there for our anniversary. Room was very nice. The fireplace was a nice touch. The nice thing is that is right around the corner from the little shops.
Also not to far from wine tasting. The food in the hotel was not very good only real con about the place.
The whole town shuts down at about 6pm

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 399anniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing