We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway For the Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Getaway For the Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed during the July 4th weekend and had a wonderful time. Upon first glace at the hotel, it does look like you're entering Motel 6 as all of the rooms are located on the outside and the entrance is right along the busy highway (the main road leading to/from Solvang), but don't let that fool you.

Once inside, the room we stayed in was beautifully decorated, comfortable and super clean. The bed was comfortable and little things like complimentary bottled water in the refrigerator and a loofah scrub were nice finishing touches.

From 3:00-5:00, they serve compimentary wine and appetizers (consisting of fresh fruit, proscuitto, crackers and cheeses). The food was great and fresh.

Complimentary breakfast is served from 7:00-10:00 and was standard fare of bacon, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruit and fresh pastries. The food was also great.

We didn't eat dinner there or book a spa treatment during our stay, so I can't comment on that. However, I saw 20% off coupons for the spa if you stay at the hotel. Also, you have to ask for complimentary wine tasting coupons.

Even though the hotel is at the end of Solvang (or entrance, depending which direction you are heading!), the area is so small that you can easily walk the town in about an hour. It's nice to stay in Solvang because of the tricky parking situation, but it's also centrally located to the other towns (Buellton, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez) and a pretty decent central location to the diffferent wine tasting vineyards.

For first timers to the area, I'd recommend staying at least 2 days in the area to get a full experience. I'd also suggest searching for the Sideways map (based on the movie that was filmed in the area). There are a lot of things in the map that we found to be worth seeing/doing (such as the Ostrich farm).

The only downside I could say was the A/C unit was next to the bathroom sink, so the bathroom can get pretty chilly in there if you want to cool down the rest of the room. The other thing was that even though they had a DVD player in the room, they don't have any DVDs for rent (the front desk recommended a video store down the street). The last thing was that because it has a 'motel' like setting, if you get noisy neighbors talking outside, you can hear every single word. Fortunately, our neighbors only talked during the day time as our nights were quiet and peaceful.

Nevertheless, we still had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Clean Rooms, Great Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    303
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
503
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

My husband, 10 month old son, and I just stayed at the Hadsten House in Solvang. We stayed there years ago when it was a run down motel. They have done an absolutely amazing job with this new place! It's emaculate! I even saw a guy with soap and water scrubbing down the stairs! It is a wonderful upscale boutique hotel. It's clean and beautifully decorated. We did have a few bumps when we first got there...the women at the front...older, with her hair in an upsweep...told us they did not have a pack 'n play or crib for our 10 month old. She snidely said, "We don't have anything like that. Can't he sleep in bed with you." So, we tried that the first night...Not good! The following day, we went in and talked to Joe at the front desk about getting something for our baby. Within the hour, we had a very clean, possibly brand new, pack 'n play set up in our room. We were thrilled! Thanks again Joe! If you are looking for a great internet connection, you won't find it here. But, as a VERY frequent traveller, I would highly recommend staying at the Hadsten House above all others.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank kenziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

We loved our one night stay at Hadsten House and vowed to return. Everything feels newly renovated and with a fantastic aesthetic. The rooms were not huge, but beautifully done and of a high quality, and nicely appointed: coffee in room, great linens, fireplace, toiletries, etc. The wine happy hour and the breakfast were icing on the cake and very well done. We were greeted and treated well throughout our entire stay. Great place for a couple or a girls weekend. Though we were there in 115 degree weather it seemed like a great place for a winter visit as well. All of us highly recommended Hardsten House.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank amstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Orange County
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

This "hotel" is a great value for the Santa Ynez Valley. Thankfully I knew before we went that it was motel style, otherwise, I think I would have felt a little mislead by the hotel website. Overall, the location of the hotel is good. The rooms are very clean. The restaurant is decent. I'm not a huge fan of Solvang, but the hotel was within 5-20 minutes of the local wineries and made for a great base camp. For the price, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, Convenient Location
  • Disliked — Motel Style
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

My wife and I had an excellent stay at the Hadsten House - the rooms are renovated beautifully, the staff is friendly, food is great, and my wife raved about the spa treatment.

Highly recommended, and a great value. The class of Solvang.

  • Liked — The quality of the room
  • Disliked — The heat wave on the Central Coast that weekend
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SavannahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melikeymenolikey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I could go on and on about every aspect of this boutique hotel. First, go to the spa, and get a facial with Andreea (what a talented cutie!) or deep tissue massage with Rich. Next, have a drink and everything on the menu in their restaurant, which by the way will require a reservation because its upscale relaxing decor is beginning to attract every local in the area. Jerry in the kitchen is one of the most talented chefs I have ever had the pleasure of meeting- the muscles, lobster bisque and even the brie plate are perfect to begin your meal. Garlic mashed potatoes and green beans melt in your mouth. If you can, save room for dessert. Afterwards, relax by the indoor pool, or go up to your newly decorated room, with plush bedding and a flat screen tv.
What a fabulous getaway gem!

  • Liked — spa
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melikeymenolikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at the Hadsten House in Solvang. This completely updated two story hotel had first class amenities and wonderful service. The heated pool and spa were wonderful and the chaise lounges were terrific after a day of shopping. The attention to detail in the rooms was impressive. All the appointments were high end. Great beds and decorator touches throughout, even a towel basket and fine linens. Turn -down service and a great spa and a daily reception for guests in the dining room complete with wine, fruit, cheese and crackers. Everyone was friendly and they have a great restaurant. We also had a fabulous steak at The Hitching Post. All in all, a great vacation!

Helpful?
Thank WorldJourneyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing