We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Room nice, but extras now gone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Room nice, but extras now gone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful visit here several years ago, so my friend and I made reservations here in anticipation of the afternoon wine tasting and breakfast featuring Olsen's pastries. The hotel is now owned by the local Chumash tribe, and the wine tasting has been eliminated along with the pastries. We ate just part of the breakfast and crossed the street for pastries at the bakery. We would have paid more for the room to have these treats back! The lighting in the room is poor, and when I mentioned this as we checked out, the clerk said we could have asked for reading lamps. A note in the room would have helped! We did enjoy the binder of restaurant menus at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    287
    86
    26
    16
See reviews for
129
481
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I chose this place due to the ratings on T.A. My husband and I stayed for a few days while sampling wines in the Santa Ynez area. We reserved the king size suite and felt that it was exactly what we needed for our time away. Bed was comfortable but pillows were lumpy. The jacuzzi tub was nice but it took quite a while to fill up. It was nice going to the restaurant and being greeting even if the food was a standard continental cuisine. We arrived at 3:45 for check in at 4 only to be told it wasn't ready and to come back. Make sure you ask for the free wine tasting as this can save some $$$

Room Tip: Avoid room 200 as it faces the street and you may be woken up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptamom1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here on a recent trip to Solvang. We got a great rate (so great - the wine tasting vouchers we received at check-in saved us so much in tasting fees, our stay was almost free). The rooms are nice but nothing incredible. They were clean and comfortable - not too cramped. I would say it felt like staying in a motel when you were outside your room, but once in your room, it was like a nice hotel. The grounds are a U-shape of motel rooms with the front office building in the middle.

The hotel has a restaurant that was very good (I will post a review on that). At dinner, food was fantastic and service was very nice. (although I question what they call a "mariana sauce" on the raviolo as it was more of a tomato bisque, but still good). Not cheap, but still reasonable. The wine selection was nice as well. Oh, only beer and wine available - not a full bar.

They have a free breakfast buffet in the mornings. I would rate this a "C-". This is why: (1) almost no vegetarian options (2) pre-made scrambled eggs, no omelet options or egg white options (3) no juices to pour - one had to wait and ask the staff to pour some from behind the "bar" (4) they ran out of everything repeatedly - granted we entered late in the breakfast hours, but it seemed everyone else did as well and everyone had to ask for more of almost everything from oatmeal to utensils to cups, etc.

Staff was super friendly and helpful (except for one guy at the morning buffet - maybe he was just overwhelmed or having a bad day, but he seemed to be put out anytime someone asked him for something).

Bed was sooooooo comfortable. Bathroom nice, but nothing spectacular. The sitting room area was very nice.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying away from the road so ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Endurazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Impressively modernized. The electric fireplace added a nice ambiance to a very clean room. The room was decorated in black and whites with simple clean lines. Our room included a terrific breakfast and the pool/spa area was a nice surprise. Since we had two small dogs traveling with us it was a great to find a nice hotel that would accommodate us.
The list of wineries the front desk gave us was a big help in planning our route along the wine road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here over Easter Weekend sampling wines in the Santa Ynez area. From the outside the Inn looks very modest and fits in with the area's old world character. We stayed on the second floor and upon entering the room there is somewhat of a contrast from the outside with the more modern avant garde style decor for a decent space sized room with a king bed, armoire, desk, chair with footrest, small fridge, small faux fireplace, Dell Flatscreen accompanied by Samsung DVD player and a smaller but well separated bathroom. The smaller space was very well planned for its function. The Inn also has a pool and jacuzzi though I did not get a chance to sample it. There was also a standard fare breakfast which was complimentary but not very high quality accordingly as could be expected. The front desk staff were very friendly but a little unalert as perhaps it was a busy weekend for them. Upon chekout the bill was split two ways but it remained fully on my card several days after we checked out with no separate charge for the half showing for which I had to spend time calling them to follow up to make sure they had in fact processed the paperwork to split the charge for the two cards presented and Separate bills signed at checkout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucantkeepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king size bed room for 1 night in march. Checked in late with no problem, receptionist at front desk was very helpful and nice. Got a room on second floor, very nice, big and very clean. The hotel itself is big, ample parking, very quiet and calm. Location is good as well, it's basically at the beginning of the solvang strip. Walking distance (5-15 minutes) to most bars, restaurants, and shops. Overall, a great experience, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

When we pulled up we were skeptical because it looked like a standard motel. When we checked in, the front desk was helpful and quick. Our room was furnished more like a wealthy friends guest room than an hotel room. Furniture was great, bed was great, DVD player, fridge, even a laundry basket. A locking armoire was a nice security feature. We could walk to town and their included breakfast was the first hotel free breakfast I have ever eaten that was any good. Great place, we will be returning on our next Solvang trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetstephanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing