We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Clean, comfortable, and pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king size bed room for 1 night in march. Checked in late with no problem, receptionist at front desk was very helpful and nice. Got a room on second floor, very nice, big and very clean. The hotel itself is big, ample parking, very quiet and calm. Location is good as well, it's basically at the beginning of the solvang strip. Walking distance (5-15 minutes) to most bars, restaurants, and shops. Overall, a great experience, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    287
    86
    26
    16
See reviews for
129
480
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

When we pulled up we were skeptical because it looked like a standard motel. When we checked in, the front desk was helpful and quick. Our room was furnished more like a wealthy friends guest room than an hotel room. Furniture was great, bed was great, DVD player, fridge, even a laundry basket. A locking armoire was a nice security feature. We could walk to town and their included breakfast was the first hotel free breakfast I have ever eaten that was any good. Great place, we will be returning on our next Solvang trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetstephanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place appears to be a former motel that's been facially redone. The rooms were decorated fairly cute and stylish, and they were clean. The bed was comfortable. The stay includes a free breakfast, which included some hot options (i.e, eggs, pancakes), but the quality of the food was just meh. Other reviewers seemed to like breakfast, but we thought it was mediocre at best. That said, there aren't a lot of options wine country that have modern decor (we hate country style inns), so we still give Hasten House a four star rating. (Among the general population of hotels outside of wine country, it is a three star.) Make sure you check with reception for the list of wineries that have a deal with Hadsten because they'll give you free or discounted tastings. Some of the wineries on that list are pretty good. In fact, we were already members at one of them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meheartsthevacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hadsten House is very cute with great amenities. Great pool area and breakfast. The rooms are not very large but still good and they are decorated nicely. The location is great. However, the front staff does need to be a bit more friendly!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NelCalifornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Quiet, well located, great breakfast options and staff that is professional. We will stay again and again! Easy walking to great restaurants, allowed early check in... Just a nice experience! A great option for a wine weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 4 years ago and had a pleasant experience. This time around I can not say the same.
The rooms are decorated nicely however, the carpet is stained and furniture looks tired. We stayed in a king room behind the pool area and were kept up all night from the VERY LOUD pool equipment ( don't stay in a room directly outside the pool). We went into the front office first thing in the morning and asked to be moved, the girl at the front desk was very polite and kindly moved us right away. We moved into a room closer to the front of the hotel and when we walked in, noticed that the carpet was stained in multiple places and smelled. I don't really like to complain and I couldn't hear the pool equipment so we stayed. After being out all day and getting back around 9:30pm we were happy to get a good nights sleep, or so we thought. At 1:00 am the people in the room next door to us came back to their room. We could hear them talking and then they turned the tv on and we could hear it through the wall. Two hours later( tv still on) we hear them "getting it on" and then the shower water turning on. The walls are so thin here, you really can hear EVERYTHING!! If you get a room closer to the front you will hear the traffic on the street.

The restaurant is excellent and they have a complimentary buffet in the morning. The hotel is within walking distance to shops, tasting rooms and restaurants.

I would look at the Hotel Corque. We were impressed with the staff, decor and cleanliness of the hotel. They also have a restaurant next door that has a great bar/restaurant and the dessert was good too. This hotel is owned by the casino. We were informed that the casino just recently purchased the Hadsten House, so hopefully they will remodel the rooms!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humuhumunukunukuopaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first, I was a little skeptical about selecting the Hadsten House, but I was pleasantly surprised. The desk staff were efficient and friendly. I stayed in room 205, which is closer to the highway. Although there was a little bit of traffic noise, I didn't bother me at all. I stayed in a king room/suite and it was roomy. The fireplace was a nice touch. It seemed that the hotel was just newly redone. The paint was nice, furnishings pleasant, and best of all was the cleanliness. Everything was clean, even under the sink and furniture! Even the bed was comfortable! The complementary breakfast hit the spot with options for different types of dietary needs. The staff in charge of the breakfast were very friendly and helpful. Based on my experiences, I would recommend the Hadsten House.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to highway noise, request a room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing