We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Quiet, well located, great breakfast options and staff that is professional. We will stay again and again! Easy walking to great restaurants, allowed early check in... Just a nice experience! A great option for a wine weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    293
    86
    26
    17
See reviews for
132
491
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 4 years ago and had a pleasant experience. This time around I can not say the same.
The rooms are decorated nicely however, the carpet is stained and furniture looks tired. We stayed in a king room behind the pool area and were kept up all night from the VERY LOUD pool equipment ( don't stay in a room directly outside the pool). We went into the front office first thing in the morning and asked to be moved, the girl at the front desk was very polite and kindly moved us right away. We moved into a room closer to the front of the hotel and when we walked in, noticed that the carpet was stained in multiple places and smelled. I don't really like to complain and I couldn't hear the pool equipment so we stayed. After being out all day and getting back around 9:30pm we were happy to get a good nights sleep, or so we thought. At 1:00 am the people in the room next door to us came back to their room. We could hear them talking and then they turned the tv on and we could hear it through the wall. Two hours later( tv still on) we hear them "getting it on" and then the shower water turning on. The walls are so thin here, you really can hear EVERYTHING!! If you get a room closer to the front you will hear the traffic on the street.

The restaurant is excellent and they have a complimentary buffet in the morning. The hotel is within walking distance to shops, tasting rooms and restaurants.

I would look at the Hotel Corque. We were impressed with the staff, decor and cleanliness of the hotel. They also have a restaurant next door that has a great bar/restaurant and the dessert was good too. This hotel is owned by the casino. We were informed that the casino just recently purchased the Hadsten House, so hopefully they will remodel the rooms!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humuhumunukunukuopaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first, I was a little skeptical about selecting the Hadsten House, but I was pleasantly surprised. The desk staff were efficient and friendly. I stayed in room 205, which is closer to the highway. Although there was a little bit of traffic noise, I didn't bother me at all. I stayed in a king room/suite and it was roomy. The fireplace was a nice touch. It seemed that the hotel was just newly redone. The paint was nice, furnishings pleasant, and best of all was the cleanliness. Everything was clean, even under the sink and furniture! Even the bed was comfortable! The complementary breakfast hit the spot with options for different types of dietary needs. The staff in charge of the breakfast were very friendly and helpful. Based on my experiences, I would recommend the Hadsten House.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to highway noise, request a room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hadsten was perfect for us. We booked by calling 1 hour before we arrived and Carrie was super helpful to make our reservation quick and easy. When we arrived our room was ready. We were so pleased with the room. Clean, comfortable, and modern. The bed was super comfortable and the room was large and roomy. We had a room on the second floor and it was quiet and pleasant. The next morning we had breakfast there and they had eggs, bacon, waffles, potatoes, French toast, and oatmeal to serve yourselves as you like. We didn't even have to drive to walk around Solvang because it was so close to town. We will definitely be staying here for our upcoming visits to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ArtLaura96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights what a great place to stay for a romantic weekend with my sweetheart! The room we stayed in was very nice and spacious, very clean just perfect for a couples get away! Breakfast was included pretty good just eggs, french toast and such. It didn't beat Paula's pancake house but for free we couldn't complain. Overall I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay when you are in and around Solvang

Room Tip: Request room away from Highway if noise is an issue with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deadgrassdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been remodeled. Rooms are okay but the lighting is totally inadequate for reading in bed. Apparently this is a common complaint as the front desk staff said we should have requested an additional. Frankly, that did not occur to me at 10 o 'clock at night!
Attached restaurant is great and complimentary breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra lamp or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Room was spacious and tastefully furnished with quite a comfortable bed. The large bathroom was spotless and equipped with American and European type showers. The absence of a safe deposit box in the room was surprising. The hotel has a well equipped spa section with a heated indoor pool. Self-service breakfast is included in the price and included a variety of hot dishes and drinks. This facility is designed as a motel where cars can drive and park by each room door. Nonetheless the lobby area is satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quadrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing