We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice But...”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon Country, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice But...”
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Read and read again the reviews on TripAdvisor. I never read that this property didn't have center hallways. I think garden style properties are motels. I was disappointed but that was my only true disappointment.
I booked a package which included the room, massages for two, a wine sample, and breakfast.
The decor is beautiful. It's an obvious remodel but they did a great job. Loved the fireplace in the room as well as the shutters.
The spa had just opened and although obviously in rooms that had been made in to a spa, it was beautiful. The side-by-side massage was excellent. My husband and I had never experienced this. The atmosphere was perfect and the therapists were attentive.
The wine tasting was a little cheesy and unnecessary. We also received an appetizer sample which was about 2 ounces of lobster bisque. It was tasty but luke warm. The glass of wine was good. The bar/dining area is very intimate. We asked to see the menu out of curiousity. It seemed limited and pricey so we were glad we were not eating there.
After eating dinner, we returned and visited the hot tub. Very nice, clean and lots of atmosphere with fireplaces on either side of the enclosed patio. Would have liked to have a drink machine nearby-the ice and drink machines are too far away from the pool area and the rooms.
We enjoyed the clean room. Even the linens were fresh.
I am a light sleeper so the light that came through the closed shutters bothered me as did traffic noise and the early morning trash truck-5:30AM.

Breakfast is not on site. They give vouchers to Olsen's Bakery which is within walking distance. We enjoyed the Danish Breakfast.

I will definitely recommend this property but will make sure I tell people that it is motel-style building.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — not center hallway hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    306
    91
    27
    17
See reviews for
145
510
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Our stay at the Hadsten House was fantastic! It's been newly remodeled and the decorating is elegant yet comfortable. The colors and styles are pleasing and the complimentary soaps & lotions are L' Occtane en Provence! Our room was truly the equivalent of a 5 star hotel, yet reasonably priced. Our dinner was superb! The appetizer of brie hidden in a puff pastry with a rich raspberry sauce was plentiful and delicious. The halibut was fresh, moist and beautifully presented, as was the salmon salad.

I highly recommend the Hadsten House. My husband and I are comparing our calendars as we anxiously look forward to our next stay there.

Mickey Herrell

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank mherrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Not only were the rooms clean, fresh and cozy, but the location couldn't be better. You can walk from this hotel to all that Solvang has to offer, and since much of that is wine-related, that makes a huge difference. We walked to breakfast in the morning, to the shops, etc. There's even a little market nextdoor. Both of our rooms had fireplaces (they're the kind that turn on with a switch, not truly wood-burning, but still, very charming), and the l'Occitane products in the bathrooms are a lovely touch. The restaurant was also beautiful, with food so good that we ate there both nights. The jacuzzi is huge... Overall, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eversincethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Orange County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed there for a weekend getaway and have been to the area before. We love the winetasting and the relaxation factor of the area.

The room was nicely appointed and put together and felt very clean which is a huge plus in my book. We enjoyed our stay here.

The only issue we did have was the restaurant/bar. We stopped in both nights of our stay. The first night for a night cap...which was fine. The second night however ,we stopped in for our appetizer and glass of wine. The service was horrible. We were seated right away...but literally sat for 20 minutes before even getting a glass of water. Folks came in way after us and were served drinks. When we finally did get a glass of water it took an additional 20 minutes or so to get our free appetizer which was supposed to be some kind of crab cake..it ended up to be tuna salad (cold) on some kind of cracker...really poor. I didn't even eat mine.

It's really not a nice restaurant...it's more set up as one big open room with tables...it's very much like a bar...and the people next to us ordered dinners that looked one step above Coco's type food. The servers are not on top of their stuff...they are disorganized and rushed.

We will definitely return and will try the free glass of wine and appetizer again...I hope it was just an off night for them.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and upgraded rooms and property
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WineCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, Calif.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2008

This was a delightful find. This hotel has been recently renovated with the utmost of style and class. Everything about the room was comfortable and up scale. If you want an unbelievable meal - eat in the hotel dining room. The tiramisu is the chef's grandmother's recipe and rivals that found in Venice!
It was a nice location for walking around town, yet not in the center which made it a bit more quiet and less "tourist-y". I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and will definately return when touring the Santa Ynez wine country.

  • Liked — The value of the on-line package that we booked
  • Disliked — The spa was not yet completed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2008

After visiting Solvang and the Santa Ynez Valley for years, we had never even heard of this hotel. Had stayed across the street at the Holiday Inn but upon staying at Hadsten, we'll never stay anywhere else.

We booked the more high end room as it was not much more expensive. It turned out to be two rooms and was better than we expected on alot of levels.

Upon an initial view, the place has a very chic french vibe. Dark hardwood floors, 2 fireplaces, 2 lcd tvs, antique looking books, comfortable bed... just very upscale in general. Turned out the fireplaces are fake, the tvs are small and the books are just decoration but it still gives a very nice impression and a great general vibe.

The restaurant/wine bar is equally as impressive and you receive a complimentary glass of wine when you check in.

This motel seems a bit out of place considering it's in the very Danish inspired city of Solvang.

If you are looking for a more cosmopolitan stay in this area, you can't go wrong with this place.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank nickk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We enjoyed the Hadsten House for only one night, Feb 14. Our package included dinner and a continental breakfast. Considering the executive type quality of the accomidations and the gourmet food it was a tremendous value. However what we didn't count on was having two of my wife's diamond rings stolen. One she received for our 20th wedding anniversary in 1990. When you factor in the emotional stress, the cost of the rings and the feeling of being violated, we will be paying for that one night stay for years.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Stolen Items
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationsReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing