We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a very friendly, comfortable overnight stay at Hadsten House.
The room is modern & well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, great pillows,
The room is very clean & tidy.
We also dined at the in house restaurant which was a lovely experience. The service was very friendly & attentive & the food was delicious. Great fresh produce prepared expertly.
I would recommend this experience to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    308
    93
    28
    17
See reviews for
149
516
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hadsten House was truly a treat. We've stayed in the area many times but this was our first visit to Hadsten House. The room was nicely renovated with shutters, a romantic faux fireplace, and a modern bathroom. The bed was soft but not too soft. The breakfast was exceptional for a buffet with scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, fruit, french toast, and coffee. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi after wine tasting with fireplaces on both sides.

We'll stay here again as we enjoy wine tasting in Santa Barbara County. The complimentary tastings at the local wineries were icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alavio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Love this place. Clean n cute rooms. Breakfast included with stay is really good. Scrambled eggs, French toast, bacon, potatoes, oatmeal with all the fixings plus orange juice, cranberry juice and coffee. On the weekends they have a wine and cheese reception from 3-5pm. I haven't tried the spa yet but I love the location! Walk across the street and start strolling thru all the shops. Huge jacuzzi. Inside pool eh. Fake fireplace in each room, DVD player and cable. Mini fridge, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee pot. Dinner there is great too! Delish filet mignon and other great dishes. Cooked just the way we ordered.

Room Tip: Check out their website for package deals. Mini mart right next door which does not impact your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

we stayed here one night on our way from vegas to monteray bay, what a lovely hotel, rooms were well above average for the price, the staff were friendly and the restaurant was just amazing, kids loved it too, didnt get to check the pool out but judging by the rest of the place i should imagine its pretty good breakfast too not the best but its included in the price and adequate i would not hesitate to stay here again and would recomend

Room Tip: we chose standard room which was perfect you c an get a room with a bigger bath for about 50 dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have liked this hotel, and have stayed there many times. Now I'm not so sure.

Worst, the breakfast is now poor: dry and tasteless french toast, awful scrambled eggs. What a comedown. Go to Paula's pancake house.
The front desk is slow and uneducated.
The rooms are somewhat sparse for $225 per night. There is only one chair. The sliding door to the shower and toilet is ridiculous.

I will only stay here again if I can't get in anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senlis, France
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel during harvest weekend. I found the decor simple chic, in great shape although I was told the rooms were redone five years ago. Bedding was comfortable, I loved the gas fireplace that gave my room a toasty atmosphere in minutes. Breakfast was included, an excellent buffet with hot dishes, fresh fruit, pastries. Although Hadsten House is not right in the heart of town, it is close enough to walk (ten minutes stroll).

Room Tip: I liked being on the second floor...you don't hear the cars pull in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losangeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this place every year. Since the Chumash Casino new ownership...the rooms r not as clean as before. It uses to be very very clean. But not like that any more! The hotel is close to the road and further away from the town center.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachdarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing