We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

we stayed here one night on our way from vegas to monteray bay, what a lovely hotel, rooms were well above average for the price, the staff were friendly and the restaurant was just amazing, kids loved it too, didnt get to check the pool out but judging by the rest of the place i should imagine its pretty good breakfast too not the best but its included in the price and adequate i would not hesitate to stay here again and would recomend

Room Tip: we chose standard room which was perfect you c an get a room with a bigger bath for about 50 dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachycali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    287
    86
    26
    16
See reviews for
129
480
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have liked this hotel, and have stayed there many times. Now I'm not so sure.

Worst, the breakfast is now poor: dry and tasteless french toast, awful scrambled eggs. What a comedown. Go to Paula's pancake house.
The front desk is slow and uneducated.
The rooms are somewhat sparse for $225 per night. There is only one chair. The sliding door to the shower and toilet is ridiculous.

I will only stay here again if I can't get in anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senlis, France
Level Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel during harvest weekend. I found the decor simple chic, in great shape although I was told the rooms were redone five years ago. Bedding was comfortable, I loved the gas fireplace that gave my room a toasty atmosphere in minutes. Breakfast was included, an excellent buffet with hot dishes, fresh fruit, pastries. Although Hadsten House is not right in the heart of town, it is close enough to walk (ten minutes stroll).

Room Tip: I liked being on the second floor...you don't hear the cars pull in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losangeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this place every year. Since the Chumash Casino new ownership...the rooms r not as clean as before. It uses to be very very clean. But not like that any more! The hotel is close to the road and further away from the town center.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachdarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The first thing I said when I opened the door to the room was wow! This hotel was just my style, I loved it.

The room is beautifully decorated, it a mix between vintage and modern. Room very clean. Bed really comfy. There is a fireplace in the room which is a really nice feature and makes it very cosy. Lovely spacious bathroom. Loved the white shutters on the windows. It had a little outside area with seats which was a nice feature also. We had breakfast which was really good.

I just loved this hotel. We were on a driving tour of California and this was my favourite hotel, I only wish it was closer to home.

Please ensure you stay here if you are planning on visiting Solvang.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingrumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The interior of the rooms is nice, with an electric fireplace and upgraded furnishings, but don't plan on sleeping in here. Entry doors are frame to frame and inconsiderate guests will wake you up with the slamming doors and maids banging around early in the morning. Carpet in my room was dirty with stains. Baseboard and walls in bathroom were water damaged and the maid neglected to re-fill the toilet paper and disposable coffee cups on her visit, resulting in me having to go to the office the next morning to retrieve some myself. For the money I paid, it would have been nice to have had a better stay, but this hotel is the epitome of the whole town of Solvang, which is full of older, run down buildings, poorly designed with staff that seems tired of all the tourist that the town exists on. Oh, and be prepared for tight compact parking spaces as well.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, you may want to insist on a top floor room in the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Cilty
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Love this place! Most of the places to stay in Solvang are old ( u can tell upgrades are taking place on several of the hotels), but this place has already gotten a great face lift. It is a modern sheik place with dark wood floors fire place and great decoration scheme, the beds are so comfortable and they are very accommodating (I need featherless room and they make sure I have one every time) the front office people are always friendly and always have great reconditions on where to eat or what to go see. Best place to eat though is at their restaurant it is amazing place for a 5 star dinner great romantic atmosphere and they also offer a simple but very good breakfast! Must stay at least once and you will never want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: I like being on the first floor! no steps for me but any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger6_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing