We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Highway Outside”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel was a two-story place right next to a busy highway. It was extremely difficult to sleep and I was in the lobby when several people were asking to move to other rooms due to the noise. No rolls or even toast for breakfast, even though the hotel was located in the quaint, Danish village of Slovang with lots of Danish shops with home-made breads, rolls, etc. Dinner at the hotel was great but the service was just average. The front desk staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. The rooms were well-decorated and attractive.
The rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the rooms close to the highway----G
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beck48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmSolvang, General Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

I just want to say I am very sorry that noise concerns impacted your stay here at the Hadsten House. Like the majority of inns in Solvang we are located on Mission Drive which can, at times, get quite busy. We do encourage guests who are more sensitive to traffic noise to call ahead, and whenever possible we will accommodate them in the back part of the building.

I also would like to clear up a comment about the breakfast. The statement "No rolls or even toast for breakfast, even though the hotel was located in the quaint, Danish village of Slovang(sic) with lots of Danish shops with home-made breads, rolls, etc" sounds as if we do not include a breakfast. I just want it to be clear that we do include a full hot American breakfast for our guests. This fresh cooked breakfast includes bacon, eggs, home fried potatoes, French toast, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit and coffee or juice. So, while it is true that we leave pastries to Solvang’s many fine bakeries, we certainly do not cut any corners on our breakfast offerings.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope you will come back in the future and perhaps we can arrange a quieter stay then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
There are newer reviews for Hadsten House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 915 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Hadsten House. While it looks at first glance like a typical two-storey motel, it greatly exceeeds those expectations. The exterior is decorated and landscaped very nicely to produce a charming ambience.
Our room was refurbished with a very modern look and lots of "classy" touches, such as the granite counter in the bathroom. The bedding was extremely comfortable.
Our only complaint was that the a/c unit was in the bathroom area and thus had a hard time cooling the rest of the room unless you made the bathroom very cold indeed.
Like the room itself, the included breakfast exceeded expectations - a full and varied breakfast with attentive service, way beyond the typical "help yourself" continental.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Owen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is the best hotel hands down in Solvang! This is my second time staying here and each time I have been very happy. I am a very picky traveler as I work in the travel industry and hold my fellow hoteliers to HIGHER THAN AVERAGE standard. This hotel hands down met my requirements especially for being in a small town. Make sure and request a 2nd level room. The rooms are very spacious with a fireplace and nice bathroom. I recommend a visit to the Mystic Merchant as well just a short stroll from the hotel.

Now that the Chumash Casino owns this hotel I hope They KEEP IT UP just like the previous owners did. Please keep the price point where it is now to be able to keep up with any necessary upgrades.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank chad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel and equally as good, Front desk pleasant and helpful.
Room comfortable with a nice touch with a fireplace They should have a higher wattage bulbs in the bedside lamps, it was impossible to read in bed with the poor light.
The breakfast was included and it was very good with good service.
The dinner was superb and again good service.
Location excellent for walking the main street of Solvang. .

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfcasey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Hadsten House, as we wanted to visit the wine country. It has a great location, convenient for walking into Solvang, and pretty central to the Santa Ynez wineries and vineyards. It is an old motel which has been decorated in a contemporary fashion. Unfortunately my first impressions were a rather large stain on the carpet in our room, but otherwise everything was good. Clean bathroom and powerful shower. In room hair dryer and fridge, but no safe. Excellent hot breakfast, included in the room rate, plus nice pool and jacuzzi. Pretty good all round and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 2nd floor to avoid noisy neighbours upstairs!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabernetsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I just spent 3 days at the Hadsten House this Labor Day Weekend and my expectations were fulfilled again.

Rooom: I had a King Room which was spacious and clean. It had a comfortbable couch, a cozy Fireplace and a Large T.V. It even had a mini refrigerator which came in handy for me because I bring alot of Water with me when I plan on drinking in wine country.

Great Location: Hotel has a general store next door and is in walking distance of the streets of Solvang.

Extras: If you are planning on tasting wine the Hotel offers a complimentary discount list of about 20 Wineries and Tasting rooms where you get free tasting or 2 for 1 tastings- you have to ask for this. Also, a free hot breakfast is offered every morning and the food is tasty and the service is great. I also ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was delicious as well.

Overall, I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyn2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hadsten House is a find. It's a well-kept upscale motel at the Buellton "entrance" to Solvang, the other end of town from the Chumash Casino, which means you don't have to go all the way through town to find it. It is set back from the road, and quiet for the area. The rooms are very clean and fresh and well-appointed, with an electric fireplace if needed, a big comfortable vanity area and bathroom, great beds, and a TV that really works. With Wi-Fi in the rooms and a good hot breakfast both complimentary, it is also good value. The staff is courteous and very helpful. The best feature of all is a large indoor pool in a bright pavilion with French doors, and an adjacent walled sauna area outside with seating and fireplaces. The only mild criticisms: the dining-room is incredibly dark, and there is only one distant ice-making machine for the whole property.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room near the pool. The property is large and there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $137 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing