We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Comfortable hotel in great location. Wine reception on Friday and Saturday afternoons. Fresh fruit and baked Brie. Jeff and Stephanie are dolls. Had dinner afterward. Heather is a genius. The short ribs were "close your eyes and savor every bite" delicious. Breakfast was very good with fresh potatoes instead of frozen. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were in the front of the hotel. A little traffic noise but not unbearable. Ask for a room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    303
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
503
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for my wedding and stayed the first night with my bridesmaids and the second (the wedding night) with my husband. We stayed in a King Spa Suite. The rooms were very large and very nicely decorated (which my photographer especially appreciated). The bed was very large and comfortable. After being on our feet all day, it was wonderful to be able to soak in the giant spa tub after the wedding! They provided a hot breakfast in the morning which was pretty good.

A few small quirks. The air conditioning unit was in the bathroom, which was kind of odd and the rest of the room did not cool down as much as we would have liked it to due to that. They also didn't have any rollaways at the hotel in case you need a cot. One final negative was that there were several ants in our hotel room. Several of our friends were staying at the Kronberg Inn next door and they complained of a similar issue, so maybe there was some invasion in the area. We received money off our bill for that when we complained and hopefully they will take care of it.

Aside from the ant issue, which I assume will be taken care of, I would highly recommend this place to stay. It is unassuming on the outside, but quite nice inside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDevil805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great place to hang your hat for the night. Very modern-traditional in its decorating & newly renovated. Same goes for the lobby, and Restaurant. The Restaurant staff were extra friendly, while nothing stood out about the front desk staff.

This is a great motel turned chick boutique (well, 70 rooms - so not boutique, but that's the feeling you get). It does still look like a motel on the outside, as all rooms open to the exterior, and there are no elevators (which was really its biggest drawback for me since I am injured, and have a hard time climbing stairs), but once you see the lobby, the rooms, the restaurant, it is pure hotel all the way.

The indoor pool was not fancy, but clean and modern, and the jacuzzi outside could probably hold 20 people although there were only 3 of us in there. This area was cozy with 2 fireplaces. You forgot you were in the middle of a parking lot!

The free morning breakfast was one of the nicer ones I've had. Partially because the restaurant is modern-traditional with high ceilings, and a pleasure to relax in, and also after you get your buffet, your server will bring you coffee, juice, water, tea, etc, and they clear your dishes as well. The food itself wasn't amazing, but it was just fine to kick-start your morning.

Other notes we: We paid $157 incl tax on a Tuesday night in August... it was packed that night (this place is popular). I would absolutely stay here again. My biggest complaint is that our room, 209 did not receive the free wi-fi that supposedly all the rooms get. Also - I haven't seen any reviews on the spa... at all.

Room Tip: Room 209 had no access to the free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pliofilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in Solvang for 2 nights, and decided to stay in this hotel.

The rooms are really large, with 2 Queen beds, and it looks clean and nice. The only problem we had was there are ants crawling around the bathroom area even though we do not have any food lying outside. The carpets are a bit dated. Rooms are a bit dark.

Room is really spacious. Location is great, very close to the heart of Solvang.

Front desk people are not too friendly when we asked for some guidance about the places to visit, they just expect us to figure our own way.

We will definetely be back to this hotel if we come by to this area again..

Room Tip: Choose the second floor room, Not under/ next to the stairs as there's little light in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank member9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spent a birthday wine tasting weekend here in July. The hotel is a converted roadside motel but don't let that scare you! We had very little interaction with staff, at check-in it looked like they were dealing with some complicated situation so were in and out in about 2 minutes. We had a corner room which was a suite, complete with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace.

The hotel is right in the center of Solvang and makes walking to dinner (a must after a full day of wine tasting!) very easy.

For the rate we got, would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Solvang overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportandVisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Most hotels in Solvang are kitschy, dingy, Victorian style places. Hadsten is a renovated two-story motel which has been re-done in a modern, elegant style. They opened up the bathrooms, put in wood floors, lots of water pressure in the modern shower, added mini-fridges, excellent bedding - all around comfortable.

Although there is free wifi, it can be weak - but I discovered that our room had wired Ethernet - so you can plug in your laptop and get excellent speed.

Normally, I'd give this hotel 4 stars, but I added a star because we got a mid-week "manager's special" directly from the hotel website that made our stay a truly excellent value. And the hotel was nearly full on a Tuesday night - so the place is popular for a reason.

This was a find, and we will definitely here stay again when near Solvang.

Pros: Generous free hot breakfast, comfortable beds with duvets, large rooms, elegant but not overdone style. Service was excellent and friendly.

Cons: No impressive views, and the parked cars and walkways are right outside the room door, so it's motel-style privacy. We got a room in the middle of the second floor for less traffic. There is some road noise if you sleep with the windows open, but frankly, Solvang is a quiet town after 8pm.

Room Tip: Bring an Ethernet cable to plug in your laptop for lightning-fast, free internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel had several positive reviews, reason why we chose it.
The first thing the lady at the receptiondesk said, after we came in and I told her my name and said I had a reservation, was" "I need your creditcard and a foto-id"
I suppose that in Solvang, that must be the Danish way of welcoming you.
Hotel is motel-like structured: Outside entrance to your room and parking right in front of it (if your room is on the groundlevel) Room is reasonably modern( with an old creaking cupboard in which there is a fridge) with a flatscreen tv and also a dvd player, but without a safe.
Great bed.
There is a complimentary continental breakfast with eggs and bacon, served in the very darkly furnished restaurant.
We were supposed to have a high speed wifi internet connection in our room.Forget it.No such thing.We had to go to the lobby to get a connection.They told us that it was out of their hands and that the server had to solve the problem and was working on it around the clock, or words to that extend.
I am curious if other travelers encountered the same problem
There is an outside jacuzzi in the back where there is also a terrace,with tables and chairs where you can sit or lie and also an indoor swimmingpool.
Aside from the reception and the wifi failure, we enjpoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchrob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing