We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveler rating
483
335
97
31
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
335
97
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolpotatoeswine tastingoatmeallobster bisqueelectric fireplaceflat screenfresh fruithot tuba great place to staymid weeksliding doorfree breakfastwine countryroom ratesanta barbarain town
Filter
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 964 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2008

My girlfreind and I recently stayed at this hotel. We had heard and read great things. The rooms were recently remodeled and very nice. Unfortunately, that is the only nice thing about this hotel. The worst part of our experience was the restaurant. We made a 7:30 p.m. reservation. When we arrived they did not have a table for us, so we sat down at the bar. We were finally acknowledged after waiting 15 minutes. The bar tender did not ask us if we would like a drink, he just told us our table should be ready in a while. We were finally sat at our table around 8:15 p.m. We were not given water or menus. Finally after asking a hostess we recieved menus and water after sitting for another 15 minutes. After not seeing a waiter or waitress for an additional 15 to 20 minutes we decided to leave. It is unfortunate given this hotels beutifull renovation that they have such absolutely terrible service. We will not return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WineEnth8123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

This hotel is either new or newly renovated and it was excellent. The rooms were very clean with nice toiletries in the bathroom. The decor was quaint and fit in perfectly with the gas fireplace and ambiance.

We were visiting for just one night to tour through wine country which was also great. Unfortunaltely we didn't partake in the complimentary appetizer and glass of wine. Maybe next time.

I think that the only downside was that the Spa wasn't open yet but there are others in town.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneyerin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

I wanted to write a review to share how much I loved this hotel. The service is so great and the owner did such an amazing job on the decor. I have to say that the restaurant is absolutely amazing here. You walk in and feel like you stepped in to the Pottery Barn. It feels so much like home and the food is AMAZING!! we came back every night to eat dinner here to try all the different dishes. The restaurant just opened when we were there and it didn't even have a name yet ,but we are going back again this weekend just so we can stay here again and eat here. It is not only the best food in Solvang but the best atmosphere. You HAVE to try this food!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank winebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I read a lot of reviews about this place, and because the price was a bit higher than what I normally pay, I wanted to be sure about it. We've been to Solvang many times, but never spent the night. The Hadsten House is the first place you come to as you enter Solvang. If you pull up to this place and judge it by the outside, you would never pay the rate they are asking, but once you walk in the lobby to check in, you realize that outside appearances can be deceiving. The desk staff was very polite and very informative. When you check in, you are given 2 coupons, 1 for a free glass of wine and appetizer in the lounge, and the other is for a light breakfast in a place just up the street. Upon entering the room, I was very pleasantly surprised. The decor was modern but warm. There is a faux fireplace, which doesn't throw off much heat, but does set the mood nicely. There is a flat panel TV along with a DVD player. The bathroom is split up with the sink area being seperate from the toilet and shower. The bathroom floor is a dark hardwood look, which just makes the whole place warmer. Each night, if you wish, made service shows up at your room between 7 & 8pm to turn down the bedding for you, but if you do not want to be disturbed just left the sign on the doornob. The hotel also has an indoor pool. We took advantage of the glass of wine and appetizer in the small but cozy lounge/restaurant. After, we walked around town. It was nice to be able to walk right from the hotel. The next morning, we went to Paula's Pancake House for breakfast (again, walking from the hotel). This place has amazing food. After, we stopped next door to redeem our breakfast coupons for some pastries to go. The other attraction is that the hotel is only 4 miles from the Chumash Casino. It was great to leave the Casino and just have a short drive to the hotel rather than a 2 hour drive home. I guess if there is anything negative about this hotel it would be the pillows. They are full, but a bit lumpy, but not to the point of not being able to sleep. Definitely worth money!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Great location in Solvang. The owners have done a fantastic remodel--amazing attention to even the smallest details. We took our two boys, ages 5 and 7, and they loved the indoor pool--immaculate, perfect temp, so clean! Room was comfy, great beds--family friendly and can't wait to get back! Mike at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Overall a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank latravelmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews