We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Solvang!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Solvang!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

although it does have a motel style exterior, the remodel is beautiful! We have stayed in Solvang many times before and both my husband and I agree that we will never stay anywhere else. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - has the feeling of a 5 star hotel! You will not be dissapointed.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms!
  • Disliked — motel style exterior
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    303
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
503
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

From the time you step in the front door you know this is some place special. The rooms were terrific, the people very helpful and polite and the restaurant was 5 star. I am looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank bobcomph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

If you are going to the beautiful region of Santa Ynez, there is no other place to stay! I scoped out this property a little on the internet before booking, and expected a nice, clean and comfortable property. Hadsten House not only wildly exceeded my expectations, but I felt compelled to tell the world about this special place. From the moment I walked through the guest lobby, I felt like I was in a five star hotel. The front desk crew were fantastic! I mentioned to the front desk, my partner and I were in town to do some winetasting, and mentioned wineries we were planning on visiting. They not only immediately offered several wine coupons, they gave excellent directions and were professional, gracious and ultra friendly. Now for the room...WOW!!! If I didn't already have activities planned for that day, I would have been content to spend my day luxuriating in that phenomenal room. We opted for the room with the jacuzzi tub...so worth it after a day of winetasting...two flat screen tvs...top notch complimentary toiletries...recessed lighting...the list goes on. When I initially booked the room they were offering a dinner package. They just opened their dining room, and are trying to spread the word. Well....I'm here to spread the word....GO! I had the halibut...melt in your mouth tender and flavorful, my partner had the filet mignon. She allowed me a little taste as it was almost too good to share...probably the best piece of meat I have ever eaten! The sausage stuffed portobello mushrooms appetizers sent me to the moon. I have to make special mention of Thomas....the bartender and server. He took excellent care of us, and his personal and attentive service confirmed my certain return to this restaurant for future dining.
They are opening a full service spa soon, so I'm hoping the room rates don't increase due to the addition. After my little taste of world class service and luxury at Hadsten House, staying anyplace else in town just will not do!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zengoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

We went to Hadsten House for a birthday weekend. We had never visited Solvang before but what a wonderful stay. I highly recommend the Hadsten House. The rooms are beautiful, the location is perfect, the staff is friendly and I will stay there many more times. You can't beat the price for the quality of these rooms. We usually retreat to Spindrift Inn in Monterey, CA but feel we have found an equally charming room for half the price and half the drive. Don't leave without trying the Hadsten burger, to die for!!! The only thing I would change about the rooms is that they offer bottled water.

  • Liked — charming room
  • Disliked — no room service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candjanhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Hadsten House for one night in December 2007. We found the hotel through a quick search on TripAdvisor, but we contacted the hotel directly to secure the reservation.

The hotel has new owners and they have remodeled the entire facility in the past year (it used to be the Vagabond Inn). They have done a wonderful job with the decor in the rooms, lobby and restaurant, and they have a new pool and outdoor jacuzzi. They are also finishing up adding a spa as well as conference rooms.

Our room was on the 2nd floor (#237). It had a very comfortable king bed, a nice leather chair w/ottoman, flat screen TV, very large armoire, and an environmentally safe fireplace (fake, but looked good and put out heat). The bathroom was spacious (separate rooms for sink and shower/toilet), and L'Occitane toiletries were provided. The dark wood floors in the bathroom were a nice touch as were the entire overall color scheme, pictures, bed spread, etc. When you arrive at the hotel you wouldn't imagine that the rooms would be as nice as they are, but it is a definite treat when you walk in.

The staff was very nice, and whenever we needed anything they were quick to respond (we asked for iron/ironing board, laundry bags - which we later realized were already in the room, additional hangars). They also provided information about Solvang, and, on the day of check-out they let us keep some of our goodies behind the front desk while we shopped more before leaving.

The indoor pool was at a comfortable temperature and the outdoor jacuzzi (w/2 fireplaces) was great. The towels that were provided were comfy and absorbent. The only thing that was missing at the time was lounge chairs/patio furniture (possibly because it was December, or because they had just resurfaced the pool area).

We loved this hotel overall and would definitely stay there again and/or recommend it to other travelers. We talked to the manager, and he said that some of the older reviews on TripAdvisor were carried over from when the hotel was the Vagabond Inn, so they don't really apply given the new ownership and remodel. He is right.

Our cons: We would have preferred to stay in a room further back in the complex to reduce a bit of the highway noise. Also, it was very cold in the room when we arrived, and the main heater is located in the bathroom which results in the slow heating of the main room. Robes in the room would have been nice too, and there was no room safe.

Finally, as an incentive to attract new travelers, they were offering a free appetizer, glass of wine and dinner. Not sure how long this will last though as more and more people discover this wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — Great value and quality
  • Disliked — There are still a few minor kinks to work out since the remodel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YOPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

Before making this trip, I consulted with TripAdvisor and felt as though this hotel sounded like a good stay .... but instead, it was an excellent selection. The previous negative comments earlier dealt with construction noises, lack of restaurant and closed pool (way earlier comment). However, now the pool is open - very nice, indoor and heated, majority of the construction is complete - a little noise, but I should be out of bed a 10 a.m. anyhow, and the restaurant is now open. The only amenity that is not currently functional is the day spa - and according to them, it will be complete in a month. Of course the exterior is still designed like a motel - u-shaped and all doors open outside instead of a corridor, but the interior of the rooms are GREAT. Very comfortable rooms, all amenities in the room are of excellent quality, the LCD TV is a great size ... nothing to complain about. They are adding 'extras' on the exterior such as waterfall units, small vineyard, etc. to make the exterior more pleasing. The food at the restaurant is INCREDIBLE. Give the aged beef hamburger with 'everything' a try - goat cheese, sautéed onion, mushrooms and peppers, avocado, etc. It's very big and melts in your mouth. I can't wait to go back when the spa is open - only by then they will probably have changed their star rating from a three star to a four ... and there may be a much heftier price tag at that time.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Motel shaped unit
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

We were warmly greeted by everyone at check-in. The check-in process was quick and we were provided with complimentary breakfast coupons and a glass of wine for each day of our stay. The room was extremely clean and was stocked with large and luxurious towels, a full supply of shampoo, conditioner, etc. The room had a small refrigerator, flat panel tv, with a DVD player. There was a large couch and coffee table, which was very comfortable. They are in the process of refurbishing the entire complex but we were not inconvenienced in any way by the renovation which is now limited to the landscaping and a few conference rooms that are almost complete. The complex has a very nice indoor pool and an large, outdoor spa that was not listed in the information about the facility. Everyone working there was very pleasant and helpful. The only unfavorable comments that I would have about our stay is that it would have been nice to have an ironing board and iron in the room so we didn't have to call the office to have one delivered and, while the rooms were very quiet for the most part, the upstairs shower was a lot louder than I thought it should be. I would highly recommend the Hadsten House and will stay there in the future.

  • Liked — Clean and newly remodeled - felt like a brand-new complex.
  • Disliked — Would have liked and iron and ironing board in the room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfiske1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing