We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My first and only night is Solvang was wonderful and Hadsten house was a big part of that. The rooms are the most well appointed you'll find in a "motel" style facility. The pool and hot tub and spacious and well kept up and the on-site restraurant is fabulous. In terms of drawbacks, the check-in was a bit slow, but still friendly. Also the hotel is on the edge of downtown, but still a very easy walk to all the downtown Solvang attractions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobo_ent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    308
    93
    28
    17
See reviews for
149
516
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Great rooms - brand new furnishings, fittings, fixtures - even the parking lot was freshly paved and striped. Free breakfast was the best on our journey from Solvang to San Fran. Enclosed hot tub was beautiful. Staff was so helpful that I would have hired some of them. Kudos to management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virtualg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice and we have already booked our third trip. We love the whole experience. The rooms are beautiful and quiet, the spa and pool are nice, but the best part is their complimentary gourmet breakfast and the afternoon wine and cheese tasting. We will continue to recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph4vah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at Hadsten House. We were able to take advantage of the $99 deal which was well worth it. The decor is charming, evening wine and appetizers were generous, breakfast was above what you would get in a regular hotel especially since they serve you coffee, juice, etc. The room was clean, beds were ok but not over the top comfy. Our coffee pot didn't work properly, towels were of poor quality and not enough of them. You can call the lobby for more but I feel you shouldn't have to. We had hoped to stay a second night but the rate went up over $200 and the motel is not worth that. For that price you really can be in a nice hotel. We did use the jacuzzi which is large and very nice. The pool was too cold. Overall I would stay there again for $99 but not for over $200.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We had two very good nights at Hadston House, which is essentially an updated motel, but done with some style. It was quiet and comfortable with nice touches (we each had a snazzy bathrobe). It tends to let itself down on small details - we had to drink our coffee from cheap paper cups and the towels are rather thin, and we only had one each. All in all though a reasonable and very comfortable experience - particularly if you go mid-week and you're an AAA member....

Room Tip: Try if you can to get a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopjoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in April 2011. We paid $99 per night for a 2 queen bed room based on midweek special rate. For that price the hotel was excellent value. It included free breakfast, parking and glass of wine. The room included all the usual amenties but no room safe. We stayed on the 1st floor and had no issues with noise. The hotel has an indoor heated swimming pool and spa.
The breakfast is good, there could be a bit more variety though. It does get busy so a good idea to be there early.
Only issue I had was the Wifi did not work that well in the room whilst we were there. It did work well in the restaurant though.
Solvang is a really nice spot and very different from the other close by towns.
We visited the Hitching Post and the steaks were very nice, if you plan to visit make a reservation.
Hadsten House would be the first choice if we are to visit the Santa Ynez Valley area again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We lived in the local area for 20 years and after 8 years returned for a mini vacation to Solvang. As a suggestion from a friend, we were told to visit the Hadsten House. Wow, we have traveled all around the world and was so very impressed with this hotel. It had quality rooms disigned with with 5 star flair including a free buffet breakfast. and afternoon wine tasting. The grounds were beautiful with an indoor pool, an outdoor sun area, lounge and fireplace conversation area! The staff was very helpful and our receptionist Chelsea Nash was a true delight. Definitely, a must do when you are sightseeing the Santa Ynez Valley.

Room Tip: All the rooms were in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalecraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing