We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Back at the Ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been visiting the Alisal as a family for 19 years. Yes it is expensive, but we always leave there marveling over how well they look after their guests. The food was great, the dining room staff friendly and accommodating. The recreation options (horseback riding, hiking, fishing, swimming, golf, tennis, fitness classes, fitness room) give something for everyone. We have visited in Spring, Summer and now in December. Each season has its advantages and disadvantages, but each was very enjoyable.

Don't expect a television or telephone in your room. This is a Ranch/Resort that works to preserve some of the "old west" feel. But you will not feel deprived (and there are televisions in some of the public rooms).

Room Tip: The smaller/older bungalows at the rear of the property are the quietest, but I believe they only ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poipuvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveLautensack, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We always love welcoming back our long-term guests and are honored that you have made the Alisal your family retreat for the last 19 years. Your comments will surely help convey to others what a special place the Alisal truly is and has become for so many. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 251 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is not the Four Seasons (thank God). If you need a flat screen TV, room service or kiss-your-butt waitstaff, please look elsewhere. This place is all about downtime (with great cuisine, friendly service and low key luxury). As a person who doesn't partake in Alisal's golf, tennis, spa or horses I still LOVE this place. For a while I was concerned Alisal was not getting the upkeep it needed. This is the second year in a row that I've been reassured. Our customary unit now has a new bathroom (twice as large) and the entire property has new outdoor furniture. WiFi is great. Cell phone works if you know where to stand. If you need to watch TV, there's one in the "Library."

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on-a-roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveLautensack, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you have made the Alisal an annual tradition for your family. We pride ourselves on being able to offer an experience like no other. An experience that allows oneself to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life and just relax and enjoy nature as it was meant to be enjoyed. We like that you “get” us.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I had heard about Alisal Ranch for years from friends and our second honeymoon was our opportunity to make our first visit. Absolutely magnificent! I don't know where to start. The food, atmosphere, ambiance and available activities are terrific; particularly if you are looking for a laid-back and relaxing environment. Lot's of things to do, but no pressure to do them,
Meal portions are almost overwhelming; (trenchermen rejoice!), but the food is an adventure and quite good!
Our contacts with all staff were very positive and we felt we were treated like royalty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I called to inquire about availability and it was like I was bothering this person. This is a RESORT, you will receive questions about availability and the like. If you can't be friendly, don't answer the phone and fine another job. This completely turned me off. If they treat people like this over the phone, I wonder how they will treat people who stay at their facility!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank boragirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveLautensack, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the service that you received upon contacting our Reservations Department. We sincerely apologize if one of our associates was less than professional or courteous. We strive to offer the best customer service at all times, however, we must have fallen short on this occasion. We have a wonderful ranch with many exciting activities that we would love for you to experience. Please come and visit us and give us a chance to demonstrate the service for which the Alisal has been known for the past 67 years. We can do better and will. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My family stayed at Alisal twice in recent years. We loved the horse back riding, air soft, archery, golf and great gym. The rooms and decor are a throw back to the 1960's -- and unfortunately I'm not sure they have been remodeled since then. It is a wonderfully relaxing place, just beware that the rooms are outdated and bathrooms a bit moldy. Hopefully you will be out enjoying the outdoors and won't spend much time in your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here on the "Round Up Package" which includes meals, golf and horse riding. The meals were excellent but a bit excessive in volume. The golf courses are in first class condition and the trail riding is second to none. All of the staff will go out of their way to help you. Most of the guests are regulars who keep coming back year after year. The one piece of advice that I would give to anyone going for the horse riding is to get yourself up to a level where you can comfortably lope (canter) as you will then be in a group that explores a lot more of the property and you will see some magnificent sights. These horses can climb like mountain goats. We cannot wait to return. Before booking we read negative reports about the rooms. They are rustic but with quality fittings and simple furniture. First class bed and bathroom. As long as you do not expect the Ritz Carlton you will be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Alisal on our way back to Australia - we wanted to show our children a different side of the USA and what a way to do it! I can't explain how you can do so much yet feel so relaxed at the same time. We were very lucky that the Australian school holidays coincided with low season in the US - lucky us! We pretty much had the place to ourselves, yet the service, the food, the sense of adventure, the atmosphere, was still incredible. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. I cannot recommend Alisal more highly - and we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balmaingirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
2.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
5.1 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
2.5 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort

Address: 1054 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463-3033
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Solvang
#1 Business Hotel in Solvang
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $688 - $1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort is located in the beautiful Santa Ynez Valley and renowned Santa Barbara County wine country. Privately owned and operated since 1946, the Alisal is a working cattle ranch and full-service resort. This historic ranch is one of four original Spanish land grants on the west coast given to conquistador Raimundo Carrillo in the late 1700’s. Today, the romance and majesty of the old west remain in the wide-open spaces and unspoiled natural beauty of the Alisal. They serve as a reminder of simpler times and as an invitation to those with a taste for adventure. As California's premier guest ranch, the Alisal transports guests back to a bygone era. Set on a 10,000-acre working cattle ranch, this one-of-a-kind resort blends the best of nature with exceptional golf, horseback riding, tennis, fishing on a 100-acre private lake, fitness center and spa, children's activities, barnyard activities and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisal Guest Ranch Hotel Solvang
Alisal Guest Ranch And Resort
Alisal Hotel Solvang
Alisal Resort Solvang
Alisal Ranch Solvang
The Alisal Guest Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing