We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great price, and close to the action”
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King Frederik Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, great price, and close to the action”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were in Solvang the last week of May.

Most of the Solvang hotels had great reviews, so it was hard to finally pick one. We decided on the King Frederik Inn and we weren't disappointed! It is ideally located near the middle of the action.

The room was small, and slightly dated, but was kept extremely clean. Good quality TV, and we appreciated a printed-out version of the channel list, so we didn't have to guess what station we were tuning into.

Internet access was included, and dialing 800 numbers didn't cost us anything either! Hotels in bigger cities charge you for everything, so this was so refreshing.

We also liked the fact that the sink was outside of the bathroom, so one person could brush/put on makeup, while the other showered.

But the walls are indeed paper thin, and we were able to hear the person next to us snore. The inn didn't seem to be fully booked; I guess we could have asked for another room...

Another strange thing was that the shower head was installed pretty high up. If you're short (i.e. 5 feet or less), and you need to adjust the shower, this might be challenging, if not dangerous.

But overall we loved Solvang, and we loved this place. The next time we come to Solvang we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor, you won't have to lug your luggage up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    117
    62
    8
    3
See reviews for
68
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granilte Bay, CA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Right in the center of Solvang. The location is the best asset. The staff friendliness and professionalism were also great. The rooms small but clean with walls perhaps a bit thin. The Memorial Day weekend crowds made the ability to walk through the town priceless.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the 'end' rooms - too near foot and vehicular traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at the King Frederik Inn with my mother for a weekend. We booked this hotel at the last minute and we didn't have a lot of options. We read reviews on Tripadvisor and thought that it sounded pretty decent. Going in with reading mediocre reviews we weren't expecting too much, mostly just needed a place to rest our heads at the end of the day. I don't think this hotel exceeded our expectations, but we certainly were satisfied with our experience.

We were on a second floor room in the corner facing the pool. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed having our own coffee pot in the room. The light switches were all switched around so that took a little getting used to. I did find an earwig-looking bug in my bed the first night, but that was the only bug we saw the rest of the trip.

We laid out by the pool one day and we enjoyed the temperature of the pool and patio area for sun bathing. The hotel is right in the middle of the town so there is a lot of activity happening, and we enjoyed that while we sat and people-watched from the pool. At night there were some bands performing across the street and while they weren't super loud we could hear EVERYTHING because the walls are that thin. The rock bands felt like they were performing in the next room, not across the street in a restaurant.

I wouldn't stay here if you are expecting a high-class fancy hotel, but if you need a simple easy-going hotel this would be a great option. The convenience of being located in town is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanika2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Positives: Location, price, cleanliness, and continental breakfast.
Negatives: Nothing really, just older looking rooms.
Bottom line: If you're looking for a centralized spot and don't care about fancies, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Solvang over the long weekend and stayed at the King Frederik Inn. We were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is perfectly located in town. The hotel isn't 4 stars but the rooms are clean, and the beds were really comfortable and staff was friendly. We will be staying ere again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in the heart of Solvang this place is not extravagant, but the rooms are clean and a short walk to shops and breakfast spots.

If you're just looking to lay your head after a wonderful day of wine tasting, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: There are no elevator, so choose a ground room for easy unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean. On the other hand, the walls are very thin and the furnishings are aging. However, the very best part of the motel is the location. Everywhere is within easy walking distance around town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Silver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Royal Copenhagen Inn
#1 of 8 in Solvang
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Property: King Frederik Inn
Address: 1617 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing