We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good budget motel in tourist trap town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King Frederik Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good budget motel in tourist trap town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

if you're going to stay in Solvang, which is convenient for exploring local wineries as well as eating Danish pastry, the King Fred is not a bad choice. Pretty average motel room with the usual cardboard-thin walls, but it was clean and the maid service was excellent. Our room had a small fridge, which was very convenient, but the combination AC/heater was a rattling antique. Free wi-fi internet was a big plus.

Room Tip: If you're on the second floor, you won't hear the upstairs neighbors as much. And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    106
    60
    8
    3
See reviews for
64
107
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the King Frederik right before Christmas. . Room was clean and we were on the second floor and could see perfectly down into the village with all the lights. Location is awesome as this hotel sits amongst the lovely shops in the danish village. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suesuecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Got the room most furterest away from the reception without Wifi, which is not nice during Christmas Eve. When they realized that it was really important for us getting in contact with our family (in Sweden) they arrenged (on my suggestion) another Inn just across the street at their on cost. Thsi was not really what i expected to happen even if they sad soo. Very good work and service. The pool is nice as was the room that we had for like an hour. Free coffee, cold fresh water and juice in the lobby does add to the good feeling. Would go back with a smile.

Room Tip: The hotell is kind of divided with a separate row of rooms outside the pool area. No big deal and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Ca.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a good place to stay if your visiting Solvang. It's right in the middle of downtown and is very quiet. The shops and boutiques are right outside your door. This inn is nothing fancy. But if you want a nice and clean place to stay, this is it. For about $80.00 a night, we got a clean 2 queen room with a microwave and refrigerator. There is a pool and jacuzzi on site too. Continental breakfast is just pastries and coffee/juice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our 2 night stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davyboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed only for one night but I would say that this is the perfect place to stay if you're going to see the beautiful places in solvang. the hotel is walking distance to shops, restaurants & park. the woman in the front desk was very friendly & has a ready smile to guests. the danish breakfast was great. will definitely stay in this hotel when we visit solvang again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location in the middle of town. Hotel includes a basic continental breakfast. The pastries are fresh and tasty. I did not like their coffee or orange juice.

Clean room and basic furnished. You can hear your neighbor cough. You can hear vehicle traffic too. So walls are thin. I suspect all of the older establishments have the same problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windiveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way up from Ojai and decided to stay in Solvang for the night. We were so delighted in finding "King Frederik". The woman at the front desk was so nice and we got a great room by the pool. The room was very neat and clean, and comfortable bed. The only disappointment for me was the hot tub did not open until 9:00a.m. I love a hot tub in the morning with my coffee! Other than that it was a very pleasant stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gotoborabora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Royal Copenhagen Inn
#1 of 8 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Property: King Frederik Inn
Address: 1617 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is in the heart of Solvang, with all attractions within walking distance. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing