We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for the price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great for the price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This 2.5 star motel has tastefully decorated rooms with super comfortable elevated pillow top beds. Jacuzzi tubs, granite counters and large flat sceen tv's and refrigerators make this a very guest friendly abode. With a pool and spa in the inner courtyard you can enjoy the sunny days of the Danish motif'ed architecture. One of the better" continental" breakfasts with yoghurt, fruit and non packaged pastries. Cereals and coffee that is really good.
My best rate of eighty dollars was negotiated with the front desk but booking . Com has listings for saving over rack rate.

The good:
Comfortable beds, clean room, pool- spa, better than most breakfast, nicely appointed.

The bad:
Farthest motel from town center .
Pool is unheated " we don't need to heat it because it is warm enough" and needs chlorine,( algae growing).
Maintenance poor, first tv had no screen, burned out light bulbs in lamps and" we're out of certain bulbs " for a solution. Stained carpets , dusty hand rails, steps and walk ways. Plastic sheets used on balcony walkway looks filthy.
Huge lobby but tiny dining area for breakfast. They should add and remove tables in the cavernous lobby during the breakfast hours. Huge table in lobby could seat 10 but it is covered with brochures that should be in a rack.
Banners for signs that are aged and dirty," we were going to change the name but got too busy in the season".... Huh?

Unfriendly front desk daytime person. This is all too common in my experience. You don't get a second chance for a first impression and the front desk person should have the qualities of a host as you are a " guest". This person isn't bad but is so far from welcoming that you wonder if you are bothering him to get a room. Typical in the two star range it is a main difference in a four star property. Oddly it isn't their fault but the management that hired and failed to train them.

Don't look close as it is superficially clean.
I rated this property more for value than quality and oddly it would take basic maintenance, hiring and training to bring it to a 3+ star property. The cost to result ratio is minimal.

Room Tip: Upper floor units have private balcony's .Stay away from the street side of the building. No e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    170
    76
    25
    19
See reviews for
97
190
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, West Yorks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are spacious, however the pool and outdoor furniture were looking tired and seemed in need of a clean or replacing. The breakfast was adequate but the breakfast room was far too small for the amount of guests the hotel rooms and many people were left standing or had to take their breakfasts back to their rooms.

Solvang itself is a fantastic little town with plenty to do and see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKBatley_WestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice. We like the staff, the service, the beds are fantastic, firm with thick downy quilts. Nicely decorated too. There is a pool and jacuzzi and the breakfast bar was well stocked. It's close enough to the local theatre to walk there for the show, wrapped in a spare blanket. This is not a 4 star hotel, but the rates are similar to 2 star places, so what's not to like?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I booked my reservation one month early. When I called to confirm the hotel said it thought my reservation was for one month earlier. Even though the hotel made a mistake it refused to give me a room on the correct date, and refused to help me find another hotel. Moreover, the hotel said it had already charged my credit card the full amount, and refuses to refund my money! I asked to talk to a manager and was told he is unavailable.
Stay away from these people. I never got any apology or any help, and am now stuck fighting to get back money for a stay that never occurred.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alagria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and great value, they include a breakfast which is good, not as good as Paula's Pancake right across the street. The Inn is in a great location everything within walking distance. A short 4 miles to the Casino. I agree that the staff could use some customer service training. We took a short drive to AJ Spurs they rock, best food in the Central Coast.

Room Tip: The room was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariposa153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

At a last minute getaway for my wife and 14 yr grandson. Great and aarp rate 130 total w/ tax close to Casino and village Solvang when you drive in you see doors facing parking lot like motel. bath nice granite floors comfy beds and contineatial breakfast w/ waffle maker. Solvang shuts down at 6 pm except for icecream and bakerys and cafe 246 and the 24 hr Chumash casino 10 min down road. we ate at Kabuki Sushi open late and good. I took grandson to gate Neverland Ranch Micheal Jacksons former estate for photos and memorial. We went to Ostrich farm on 246 by Buellton fed birds fun; $4 each adult and $1 each bowl food. we would come again; bout 90min from Ventura area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place has the most poorly trained personnel I have ever encountered in a hotel . They cant answer questions or complete even the simplest requests without putting you on hold for 10 minutes or passing the buck onto another employee or manager who never calls back . for the money there are far better choices in Solvang

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Property: Kronborg Inn
Address: 1440 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kronborg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing