We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Nasty and Rude staff”
Review of Hotel Corque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Corque
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Nasty and Rude staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I agree with the previous review "nasty staff". The hotel is georgeous, rooms are very pretty. But the staff must have been trained at a federal correctional facility. The attitude of the staff the entire stay was almost laughable. Rude upon check in - not a hello the clerk looked at me and said "yes?" with a leer. We got past that and got into the room and it was not clean. I called downstairs to the front desk - they never answered the phone. Went downstairs and told her of the situation and she grunted and turned and walked away. The whole experience was such a dissapointment and a turn off. I asked for change,, the clerk replied "I am too busy for that - go to the bank if you have to". There are alot of hotels in the area that appreciate their guests.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Hotel staff - terrible
  • Tips/Secrets — check out other hotels that appreciate thier guests
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank conejofamily24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    227
    68
    22
    23
See reviews for
141
379
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

Lovely people, clean, welcoming lodge/inn... BUT THE BEDS ARE TERRIBLE!
When it really comes down to an upscale "motor lodge" like this, all you need is a good night's sleep in a clean place... Clean it was, but the sleep was impossible to achieve. The beds are hard, angled toward the middle, and really uncomfortable.
We loved the people... but would not return.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The Bed!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aLITTLESpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2006

My daughter and I spent one evening at the Royal Scandinavian Inn recently. We arrived early to walk around and enjoy Solvang, I love this little Danish town. We walked over to the Hotel early at around 2.45 and they were still cleaning rooms, but they were able to give us a room overlooking the parking lot. It was very clean. especially the bathroom which was spotless. I noticed that on the Air Conditioning, it says it has a sensor that detects that you are not in the room so it will turn itself off. maybe that is why some of the other reviewers I have read here had trouble with the Temperature. I did have to get up at 3.00am and turn it down as it was stuffy and warm. but other than that, the beds were very nice. The meadows restaurant next door that the hotel uses for your complimentary breakfast is very expensive for dinner and the service is just so so. the restaurant was almost empty on the Thursday evening we were there, and at $28 for a small Filet Mignon, I can understand why. Perhaps they should lower their prices weekdays and that might fill up the place with the tourists that look for other cheaper places in town. Other than that, I would recomend this Hotel to other travellers.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Lack of a good Cheap restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank imscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We've stayed here on two occasions for a total of four nights and have found it very pleasant. The rooms and public areas are in very good condition. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but Solvang is known for its food so a short walk [as close as across the parking lot] is perfectly fine. Quiet, tidy, and comfortable with convenient parking around the hotel all make for an enjoyable stay.

Helpful?
Thank Sharonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel on August 9th, 2006. We stayed in room 350 which cost $ 149.00 a night with the AAA discount. This room has a view of the Pool and Mountains very nice room with double queen beds. The room was clean and very nicely kept up. The decor was fitting, the bed a little on the stiff side but even though I have a badback I had no aches in the morning. This Room has a balcony in which you can sit out and take in the views. As mention in another write up I found no bugs or chocolate covered lamp shades, the room was very clean . Another thing I like about the hotel is that it is very close walking distance to the main shopping area of Solvang and to many resturants including there very own the Meadows resturant . I would gladly stay here again and would rate the Hotel and reception staff a close to 4 star rating. One more thing to mention was that my in-laws stayed in room 343 and also like it very much this room has a single king bed with no balcony or pool view but cost us $99 per night.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — tree blocking a little of the view needed to be trimmed.
  • Tips/Secrets — be sure while in Solvang to eat Aebelskivers for breakfast they are great !
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank W.R.Hearst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2006

While visiting California, we found our way to the great little town of Solvang, and stayed at this hotel. We found it to be family friendly and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would definately return.
R.L..
Oregon

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank poormoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 15, 2006

the room was clean, the checkin and check out went smoothe, the restaurant bar on a saturday night had a bartender that was not very friendly at all and she actually told one of our guests that was with us to 'shut up, and I will get your friends a drink'. this was totally embarassing as he was visiting here from Ireland. I spoke with the bar manager and he said he would speak to her and bougt us a free drink.. We did not want this at all, just her to apologize, which she never did so we let.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Property: Hotel Corque
Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93463-3741
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang
#2 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corque 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing