We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the Best Stay in Solvang... (within walking distance to the very good PCPA theater)”
Review of Hotel Corque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Corque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Easily the Best Stay in Solvang... (within walking distance to the very good PCPA theater)”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We'd stayed at this property when it was under other management and another name - the Royal Scandinavian (I believe it was). They've completely re-modeled the place and it's gorgeous. The rooms are very clean, the bathroom with its two sinks and glassed-in shower are wonderful.
Bed: comfortable with a variety of pillow "textures" and types to suit your preferences.
WiFi: works great.
Amenities: small fridge, wine glasses, and all the other things a quality hotel offers. Flat screen TV. Free copy of USA Today - a bit of a milque-toast publication, but I guess they don't want to get anyone agitated while on vacation.

Nice place... so why only a 4 out of 5?

The pool is very nice if small. Since staying at some other resorts lately, I guess I've been spoiled by what a pool - or poolS - could be. Why spoil the ambiance with gaudy signs advising "No Diving" etc. - is that a state requirement or just some lawyer's idea of keeping the management safe from lawsuits? Either way, having the huge signs really clashes with the rest of the property. Maybe that's a trivial complaint, but there it is.
So OK, I'm a news junkie even when away on vacation. I watch a variety of news outlets and subscribe to everything from the far-left "Nation" magazine, to the Limbaugh Letter.
I watch MSNBC and Fox News, but wait... I can get CNN, but when I try and access Fox News, it's "no signal" time. The printed material in the room says it's on Channel "6" - but no signal. The electronic menu says it's on Channel "15," but again, it's not. Are the Chumash censoring Fox News? I think they might just be - and that bugs. If the management reads this, I'd love a response.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    236
    70
    22
    23
See reviews for
145
400
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was the second trip my husband and I stayed at Hotel Corque. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very clean. The bed is comfortable, and have down pillows upon request (the first night I had a foam pillow which was not good). This hotel is great location, walking distance to the Solvang Bakery which is very good. We also like Root 246, which is the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. We had a late evening arrival, and the staff was very accommodating. We will stay here on future SYV area visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lleinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked a quick nights stay while wine tasting in the Sta Rita Hills area. I had originally booked the Grand Suite but was encouraged by a friend to swap to the Wine Country Suite - while both were the same price the Wine Country Suite has a MUCH nicer bathroom!! The only other difference is the Grand Suite has a door that seperates the lounge area from the bedroom.

Room was super clean, checkin and checkout very smooth. Would gladly go back if in the area. Great value.

Only downside was the attached Root 246 was pretty bad for breakfast.

Room Tip: Pick the Wine Country Suite over the Grand Suite - same price, but MUCH better bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robotronic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow! What a nice surprise for Solvang. If you've ever stayed at most of the other hotels in Solvang, you know what I mean. Most of the hotels are sufficient but not nearly as nice as the Hotel Corque. Worth the extra $$ if not taking the kids. Only stayed one night but had a great time. Wonderful location. Really felt like I was at an upscale hotel. If my parents timeshare down the street isn't available again, I'll be back for sure!
Spent the majority of our evening at the Solvang Brewing Company. Nice surprise that they had a live band. Good mix of locals and visitors. Food was nothing exceptional but pretty good overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First time stay. Excellent, well-appointed room...especially considering the area. Got good concierge help from Karen with restaurants. Spacious parking and a good location in town to access the Los Olivos and Santa Ynez wineries, restaurants and shops. Pricing appears highly variable based upon demand for the rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room we had, a double queen, was quite nice. Staff was nice also.

But If you're staying just one night, the 4pm check in, and 12 noon check out means that you're paying a lot for a very short stay.

Also, after logging into their free Wifi, my email account was severely spammed like never before. Coincidence? I doubt it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JohnStarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When in Solvang, Hotel Corque is the only place we will stay. It's way above the motels in the area. We enjoy the amenities, especially the double sinks in the bathroom. Has comfortable beds,fridge in all the rooms and a has a very large parking area. Staff is friendly and helpful. For what this hotel offers the room rates are very reasonable, However on this trip ( we stayed Weds & Thurs) the reservationist told us the 2nd night would almost be double because of an event in town of which she didn't know what it was. Since room rates are usually less expensive Sun thru Thurs. we were surprised but accepted the rate since we enjoy this hotel so much. Solvang is a great place to walk around the town, you don't have to drive far to go anywhere. The Chumash Casino is only a few minutes away and the wineries are close by. We love coming in the summer so we can attend the outdoor theaterfest with its excellent cast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Property: Hotel Corque
Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93463-3741
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#2 Family Hotel in Solvang
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corque 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing