We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamlet Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed one night on recent tour around wine country, reasonable price, room was clean, & spacious

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    73
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
109
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We flew in 6/11 for kid's graduation from UCSB on 6/13. Lodging in and around Santa Barbara for graduation weekend averaged an obscene $287.00 per night which we were not willing to pay. Thanks to other Trip Advisor reviews, the Hamlet Motel was a perfect, relatively cost effective alternative on a weekend where every hotel/motel in that area jacks up prices.
The Hamlet Motel is a small, simple, no frills motel. We had room 8. Pretty good sized room with 2 double beds, a sofa, a small desk. Large shower. Small fridge. No coffee maker, no blow dryer, soap but no shampoo. Bed was ok. The large pillows seemed exceptionally hard until I discovered housekeeping had packed two small, flat pillows into one pillow case. Once I took the pillows apart it made for better sleeping. As far as cleanliness goes, it seemed fairly well kept up. My socks did not pick up any residue from the floors so I guess this means the carpet and bathroom floor were clean. The grates in the wall heater across from the toilet could definitely use a deep cleaning. Pretty quiet place. Just off the main drag but since Solvang rolls the streets up by 8:00pm traffic noise was not an issue.

They give you a voucher for coffee and a danish across the street at Olsen's that can be redeemed at any time. (think afternoon snack if you want something more substantial for breakfast.) I recommend the bear claws.

The location was fantastic. Across the street from Olsen's Bakery, Paula's Pancakes and Little Mermaid Cafe. Walking distance to virtually everything in Solvang. 10-15 minute drive to most wineries.

Related notes:
Little Mermaid restaurant was very reasonably priced and offered home style comfort food- tried it for dinner one night and would recommend. Paula's Pancakes has a cute atmosphere. It was a bit pricey and their "special" pancake is like a giant crepe. Locals recommended the upscale River Grill at the public golf course for dinner with a view. Rustic, lodge furniture, fireplace, and picture windows overlooking the mountains. Unrushed (slow) service with good entrees. Rack of lamb was outstanding. In regards to wineries, avoid Sunstone! The servers were rude, the wine was mediocre, and they do NOT let you keep the wine glass (every other winery includes the keepsake wine glass as part of your tasting fee.)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagacioustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed here for my birthday after I went wine tasting in Los Olivos. It's a great place, it was peaceful, clean, and there are restaurants near by... I recommend it for sure. Good price too :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseLover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slross
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed at the Hamlet Motel last night, thanks to recommendations of other Trip Advisor members. The people who run the motel were sweet, it was in the middle of Solvang, walking distance to everything, and while the chairs may have been a bit worm, the bed and the bathroom were spotless (i.e. blanket was double-sheeted, etc.). You may have to bring your own hair dryer, and won't be able to make coffee in the room. But I had my coffee and danish, courtesy of the Hamlet Motel, sitting outside in front of Olsen's bakery, on a beautiful tree-lined street - so I can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We hadn't planned to stop in Solvang, but we needed to spend the night, so we had to find a place last minute. They say you get a free breakfast, but it is really just a small black coffee and a pastry. This motel is just a place to put your head down, but we saved our money and went to the Hitching Post to have a "Sideways" movie experience. It was so fun. They have a great menu at really reasonable prices. It was crowded, so we sat at the bar and that was fine. And P.S. There really is an ostrich farm in Solvang. "Those suckers are mean!"

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2010

First the good. Location can't be beat, managers are very nice and they offer a coupon for a great continental breakfast at a danish bakery across the street.

Actually I hate to leave a negative review because the managers are so nice, but here is the downside. The pictures we found online when planning our trip really hide the fact that this is a very old property that has not been updated in years. We spotted a beer bottle cap under one of the beds when we checked in which should have warned us about general cleanliness. The carpet was so dirty that our feet were black from just walking around in the room for fifteen minutes, so we resorted to wearing shoes indoors. You won't find courtesy shampoo or conditioner in the rooms but we brought our own anticipating that hotels in the price range might not offer it.

If it were not for the contrast between the online photos and the reality I probably wouldn't be writing this review. Afterall, what do you want for a room under $70/night in the heart of Solvang? Just be aware that cute, quaintness of the online image may not match up with the actual condition of your room and bring slippers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This was the perfect place to stay with our teenagers. It's in walking distance of everything! Anthony is very nice and you get vouchers for coffee & danish across the street at Olsen's Bakery. I loved the Danish. The motel has wireless internet so the kids were able to use the laptop. The rate he quoted was what I received upon check in. I had a refrigerator (no coffee pot), but that was O.K. because we were up early at Paula's across the street. I used my voucher upon arrival for a snack at Olsen's (tea & danish). It was so pleasant. All the details of the town just make it so magical. The little pony farm is a must see, too along with the mission, and walking all over town. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Property: Hamlet Inn
Address: 1532 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, it's a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer. Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing