We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamlet Inn
Nearby Hotels
Kronborg Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$143
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solvang Gardens Lodge(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$91
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hadsten House(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corque(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$177
$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landsby(Solvang)(Great Value!)
$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirabelle Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atterdag Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
85
76
48
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
76
48
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastryolsen's bakerybike rentalsgazebo areasolvang brewing companydirectly across the streetweek dayspaula's pancake housemodern furnishingscalifornia coastblackout curtainswater pressurewine tastingplace to sleepthe main dragbasic amenitiesin town
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 230 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First, let's talk location. The Hamlet Inn is located in the center of town, making it perfect for walking to the local bakeries, shoppes and restaurants. The energetic and helpful staff offers tips on wine tasting routes, meals and information about unique local areas/events you might otherwise miss. Complimentary bicycles are available for cruising about town and you can even play a game of bocce ball near the gazebo area! Rooms are cozy, comfy and reminiscent of a European inn. One stay and this will be "your" spot in the Santa Ynez Valley!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capezzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about Hamlet Inn. Great location, it's inexpensive and offers the basic amenities. We will continue to stay here as everything else in Solvang is an over priced tourist trap. Free pastry coupons and bikes for free!? Who could resist this little gem of a great hotel?. Thank you Hamlet Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nutters1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We needed to be in Solvang, CA on business for four nights and usually stay at the Hamlet as its in the center of things there for us. When I phoned for reservations, there was no room available for those four nights, so we booked at another hotel. They told us there were new owners and the rooms have been completely remodeled. Out of curiosity, we went on line and discovered the decor to be very different from the previous, or that of any other hotel we have stayed at. We dropped by to check out the rooms to see if we'd want to stay there another time. We have never seen hotel rooms that were less inconvenient than these; no nightstands, no credenza, no place for toiletries in the bathroom, no table or desk, just a board attached to the wall under the window and a couple basic wooden chairs. No lamps, just a couple dim bulbs hanging on wires from the ceiling at either side of the bed. We were told that the decor is contemporary Danish Modern ala Ikea. If you travel with just a small soft bag and a toothbrush, the Hamlet will work for you, but it doesn't work for us.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on line before calling for reservations.
Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
6  Thank Ric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good location for this hotel as it was steps from the main part of the village. The room was clean and had a nice, simple contemporary decor. The overall look, feel and location of the property are definitely in the 'plus' category. The couple negatives that we experienced. We stayed on a Friday night and there was ridiculously loud music coming from perhaps a bar or restaurant across Mission Road and it could be clearly heard in the room. Second, on Saturday morning, there was no hot water in the bathroom. I called to the desk and they started working on the issue and told us they hoped to have it fixed shortly. After an hour, we had to go, so we just took cold showers. Just as we were leaving the room, they called to say it was fixed. Now, I understand things like this happen, and at small places, it can't be fixed immediately. I have no issue with that. My issue is that when we checked out, they made no offer to take off a little on the bill for the hot water or anything for the inconvenience. They seemed pretty indifferent about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Heaters are very loud, even if you turn yours off, your neighbors' heater are sufficiently loud to interfere with sleep. Very minimalist furnishings, poor and slow wifi. The staff is friendly and helpful though. The bike for rental is fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexfridman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews