We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great inn and location in Solvang”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamlet Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great inn and location in Solvang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We came back to the Hamlet Inn, due to its awesome location in Solvang and minimalist decor. We were right across the street from the Viking Room which was playing live music, the Olsen Bakery, and multiple wine bars and tastings. Overall the room is super clean and comfy and we're a brisk walk from the main drag in Solvang. A delightful place and hope to visit soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler360x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
107
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hamlet Inn with two other couples traveling together. My brother had called to hold the three rooms, and upon arrival the manager gave my brother a discount on his room, but didnt extend a discount to the rest of our party paying separately on each room. Just seemed really odd, and gave a poor impression upon checking in. The rooms themselves were suitable - sparse furnishings in danish style, but super clean and comfortable. It was a chilly night and due to a large crack under the door the room would grow quite cold before the heater would kick on, then be very warm until it turned off. Not a sound nights sleep as the walls are quite thin, could hear other rooms heaters turning on and off all night, and quite a bit of parking lot noise through the wall. However - all that said it is in a great location with easy walking to everything of interest downtown. Ok for one night's stay but if you're looking for a quiet getaway weekend this isnt the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

During a 3 week tour of southern California, my wife and I stayed in 7 different hotels/motels, all of which were chosen primarily based on Tripadvisor reviews. While the Hamlet Inn was OK for the 2 nights we stayed in Solvang, we ranked it lower than the the other six places we stayed in.

Re-reading reviews after having stayed in this motel-like Inn, I have difficulty understanding the rationale for the Excellent reviews - which, unfortunately raised my expectations. What we liked - comfortable bed, clean room, convenient location, helpful owners (good recommendations for restaurants and winery visits) and the continental breakfast at Olsen's Bakery across the street. What we were disappointed with - the sparse furnishings in our room (we had to borrow a second chair from the office so we could watch TV), the thin walls between us and the adjoining room (our next door neighbours were noisily amorous); the lack of Internet reception in our room (#12 - because of its location we were told - that may be the reason but it's no excuse in today's marketplace); the lack of a common area or lobby where guests could sit (other than the gazebo situated between the parking lot and the street which had uncomfortable wooden chairs to sit on); no pool (my fault for not noticing this when I booked the room). While the average cost of $119 per night was lower than what other local hotels were charging, we still didn't think we got good "value for money".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Take an old motel, clean it up, use creative minimalist fixtures and you will have the Hamlet Inn. We arrived after 6pm and did not have the opportunity to really enjoy what Solvang has to offer, but it was obvious that the Hamlet was in the best location when it came to exploring the town. The rooms are clean and spacious and great for a one night stay.
It was cool outside and we wish we could have had fresh air circulation, but the windows opened to the parking lot and we could not leave the drapes open. There is, however, an A/C unit in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailAway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night and the motel is wonderful. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel, this is not the place for you. The rooms are in the Scandinavian style so are a bit minimalist looking, but everything is there and the rooms are quite spacious, very clean, and comfortable. We were there for the 3rd Wednesday wine walk and Jessy at the front desk was great. She showed us the wineries and breweries she liked best, and we had such a fantastic time in our one day stay at this inn. It is right on the main street and very centrally located. There is a good breakfast place right across the street too. They even sent us a personalized hand written postcard thanking us for our stay. Definitely recommend the Hamlet Inn!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Awesome, affordable, nice staff, great location. My favorite hotel ever! We got coupons for danishes - to the cafe across the street. Walked everywhere. Clean, comfortable, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The Hamlet Inn is spotlessly clean and the simple modern room decor is a welcome change from the usual hotel bedroom. Friendly and efficient front desk made check in a breeze. Free bicycles to explore the town are a great idea. Being in the centre of town means restaurants and bars are close by, but also gives a bit of traffic noise in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Property: Hamlet Inn
Address: 1532 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, it's a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer. Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing