We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is That Decaf Coffee Disguised as REAL Coffee? Yes.”

Red Viking Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 78 Restaurants in Solvang
Cuisines: Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Featuring a Danish and American cuisine menu offering service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A Danish favorite and is a tradition in Denmark are the open-faced sandwiches, Frikadeller, Medisterpølse, Rullepølse and America's favorite sandwiches with a variety of sides, including burgers, club, reuben, and many more. We offer a full bar that includes local beers and wines plus a variety of your favorite cocktails. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Don't come here. Save yourself the trouble. Even the smorgaboard, which they advertised for breakfast, doesn't open til 11, and the food is awful, and the coffee is worse. The worst experience of the whole trip. By far.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank u2fan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thank you for your feedback and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 225 of 512 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2016

The service was friendly. However, everything else was bad. We had the buffet and do not recommend it. The lettuce salad was limp and browning. The meatballs and gravy was too salty. In other words the food was old. The restaurant was dated and needed cleaning.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrpr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thank you for your feedback and patronage we are working to updating the interior of the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

As far as I know this is the only smorgasbord in town. It has a varied assortment of Danish dishes. We always come here when we visit and get the buffet.
It is NOT fancy, but quaint. The red cabbage sausage and meatballs are delicious.
The place is always full and locals come here.
I'm fine with the price...

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank loaragrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thank you for the 5 Star Review and your patronage. We are glad you enjoyed your dinning experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Located near the corner of Alisal & Copenhaven Drive. Small restaurant with amazing food. Offers a full menu plus a smorgasbord featuring Danish cuisine. Try the Lemon Salmon!
Very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Redbird918
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thank you for the 5 Star review and your patronage we are glad you enjoyed your dinning experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Had the best schnitzel served by a local friendly lady! Food tasted like it was just made! Seasoned just right! Not a high end restaurant but one that hits the spot!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Nextriplease11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thank you for the 5 Star Review and your patronage. We are glad you enjoyed the schnitzel official called "Dunajski Zrezek" in Denmark. Have a Great Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Viking Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Viking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.