We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, cozy place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband and I only stayed here one night, but we just loved this place! The beautiful weather only added to the beauty of the inn, which abounds with roses and other colorful flowers. The grounds are not big, but they are centered around a lovely large oak tree, picnic tables, a grill, and grassy pathways leading to a gazebo with a fountain and roses surrounding it.

The rooms are in two long rows, with patio chairs in front, and parking right in front of your door. It was so relaxing to pull up and not even have to bring all our luggage in, when we could just open our door and grab what we needed from the car! The room was clean, cozy, and romantic. Our room was not huge, but fine for two people, and I loved the floral comforter, tea candles, and excellent air conditioning. The bed even had a feather-top Simmons mattress = sleeping heaven! It was also piled with comfy pillows.

The continental breakfast has the usual fare - bagels, fruit, toast, juice, jams, hard-boiled eggs, coffee. It was all very fresh and filling. We also partook in the 5-6pm wine and cheese hour. People grilled on the barbeque outside, and one family shared their mixed grill food with us. Everyone there was just relaxing and enjoying life!

I would go back again in a heartbeat, especially since it was more reasonably priced than the inns and motels in downtown Solvang. It's just a 2 mile car ride from all the action, and it's well worth the seclusion!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    63
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
157
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We found this place at the last minute on the internet as a getaway for the Memorial Day Holiday. It is a wonderful setting, quiet and romantic. We stayed in the Pinot Noir Suite, which I thought was reasonably priced compared to being in a hotel room. Room was very clean and the place is obviously well taken care of. It was close to both the town of Solvang, as well as the wineries. We ate at the Mirabelle Restaurant our first night which is a sister property to Meadowlark - it was absolutely outstanding. My husband said it was the best duck he ever had and everything was delicious. We went to the Roblar Winery and had lunch with wine pairings. It was sooo good. We loved that winery. We also visited Firestone Winery - we are members and it was terrific. We also went to Lincourt which was outstanding. We had dinner at the Ballard Inn & Restaurant which I would also highly recommend. It was absolutely exquisite and a beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roberta58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Meadowlark Inn for a wine tasting weekend. The inn has beautiful and relaxing grounds. We had a king suite which had plenty of room including a small frig/sink and microwave. Breakfast was delicious especially the yogurt and granola. The location was very central to all the local wineries and restaurants. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Potteryacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Meadowlark Inn to go wine tasting in San Ynez. We had such a wonderful time and cannot wait to return. The Meadowlark is a beautiful property in a great location close to downtown Solvang and the vineyards/wineries in San Ynez. Kendrick, the property manager, was amazingly helpful (he even loaned my boyfriend and I jackets - we had forgotten how cold it can get at night). Even though there was no vacancy, it was quiet and relaxing.

The beds were comfortable and the place was clean. We had a room with a kitchenette, which worked out perfectly because we ended up cooking the entire weekend. We had dinner reservations for Saturday night, but using the BBQ on the property was such a great experience on Friday that we cancelled them. There are two grocery stores, El Racho Marketplace and Nielsen's Market, that are each about a 60 second drive east and west respectively of the Meadowlark Inn on the 246 highway.

SB Wine Country Map: http://www.sbcountywines.com/visit/map.html

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR4V3L_8UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Excellent location, gracious staff, beautiful grounds, I could live full time in the suite room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlm60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

I loved the ambience, the pretty garden outside, and the complimentary wine and breakfast! The room was nice, we could park our car right outside the door. The inn is about a mile from the town of Solvang, so very conveniently located. All in all I would say good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallu_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

First and foremost I would have to compliment Kendrick for making our stay so enjoyable. He does it all with such ease and makes you feel like part of the family. I have read some of the other reviews and I think these folks were looking for the Ritz. This is a beautiful oasis in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery in California. The rooms are large (we shared with my brother & sister-in-law) in the Barbera Room and we had plenty of room and did not feel like we were "on top" of each other. The kitchenette was perfect for keeping our beverages & snacks cold and for re-heating leftovers from the wonderful resturants in the area. As far as breakfast, it was much more than a continental breakfast. On our first morning, Kendrick had made fritattas and on the next morning had the most beautiful fruit bowls with banana, melon, strawberries, apple and pineapple. Plus he had made up yogurt & granola parfaits using their delicious homemade granola. This is the place you go to when you want to get away from the hustle & bustle of the city. Thank you Kendrick for making our stay so wonderful. We will definitely stay here again & again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
2.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.1 mi away
Solvang Gardens
Solvang Gardens
#5 of 8 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Property: Meadowlark Inn
Address: 2644 Mission Dr, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463-9429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer complimentary wireless internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. Well behaved dogs (one per room) are allowed in rooms with kitchens only (Rebbiano and Barbera). Dogs are not allowed in standard rooms or suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing