We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Anniversary gathering”
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookings, Oregon
2 reviews
“50th Anniversary gathering”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family gathered from all over the US at this beautiful Inn in Santa Ynez for our 50th Anniversary. The Inn could not have been more accommodating to all of our needs. Their rooms were individually unique and comfortable. The Continental Breakfast was very good with a home baked egg dish to go along with the usual breakfast items. Fresh fruit and local sweets were also there each morning. Extra tables and table cloths were offered to us for a catered meal and cheese and wine paring out under their beautiful old oak tree. Each evening when we regathered back at the Inn we enjoyed sitting around their large firepit for a family bonfire.
Thank you Brigette and your wonderful staff for a lovely 5 days.
The Irish Family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    63
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
158
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First, this place is very much overpriced. Stay in downtown Solvang for the same price or cheaper and be within walking distance of everything instead of a drive down a country road.

This isn't really the classic B&B atmosphere - it's much more "motel" atmosphere. There are about 20 rooms spread out around a courtyard (which admittedly was pretty - although the birds living in the courtyard crap constantly on everyone's cars) and an extremely small pool. In the office, they have the room keys up on the wall which was a safety concern for me - anyone looking to break into a room could easily find out which rooms are occupied and which aren't. Although the room was clean (+1 stars), they're clearly pretty short staffed in their maintenance department. There were so many quick and easy things that needed to be fixed around the room, many of which were wall / paint patches.

Perhaps the two most disappointing parts of the stay were the bed and the breakfast...yea. The bed was TERRIBLE. Anytime you lay in a bed and it acts like a hammock, sinking a foot or two in the middle, that's NOT RIGHT. Also, please get some fitted sheets for the mattress -or- a bottom sheet that's large enough to tuck in! All night we kept waking up on the bare mattress, which is DISGUSTING. For the price, I'm surprised people aren't rioting about what you call a continental breakfast. Fruit, cereal, bagel, or toast....come on, now! How about some oatmeal, yogurt, cottage cheese, some of those local Danish pastries!

Would I stay again? If I couldn't find anything downtown, and if they gave me a room with a normal mattress, and if the rate was where it should be, maybe. It was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StatTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am very sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. I wish the guest would have mentioned the concerns to any of us, we have a 24 hour staff and maintenance person on call, it sounds like the center post of the bed frame may have collapsed for a bed to go down in the middle. I would have like to find out immediately which room had this issue, so we are now going through all the rooms to find it. We have memory foam mattress covers or pillow top mattresses on all of our beds and almost everyone really likes them.
Yes, the birds are having babies right now and love to see themselves in the window or car mirror, a temporary nuisance that can be fixed with a quick rinse and a towel, we would be happy to do that for any guest.
In regards to breakfast, unfortunately this guest may have overlooked some items on our breakfast buffet. We serve fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, an egg dish or boiled eggs, waffles, pastries or sweet breakfast breads EVERY single day, in addition to bagels and toast.
We like to go above and beyond our guest's expectations, and although we try, we are not always perfect, but really appreciate it when guests give us a chance to make things right by letting us know their displeasure, needs or wants.
We welcome criticism as a chance to improve, so thank you!!
Thank you for all the kind and positive previous reviews.
Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Meadowlark is my favorite place to stay in the area. I really enjoy the room and the peaceful setting. It is just on the outskirt of Solvang's heavy tourist traffic with good markets and services nearby.

Bram

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdally6107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great place to get away from the fast pace and noise of the city. Park your car right outside your room, (for a change). Take a stroll and enjoy the soothing effects nature has on you in settings like this. Nice big area out the front of the Inn to barbeque or just relax in front of a fire. Its located on the doorstep of the Central Coast's vineyards and a mile or two from Solvang. Margo is a totally hospitable host and gives the place a friendly welcoming feel right from the start. You have to make it out of bed for one of her morning meals which is a bit more than the usual continental breakfasts. Comfy beds, clean rooms, (that come with a fridge) and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to couples looking to get away from it all for a relaxing weekend. Looking forward to getting back there when we get the chance, mark it down in your calendar. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: A mile from Chumash Casino if you're a gambler. Fan heater can be loud during the night but we u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katubaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay a little bit away from the town of Solvang. The Meadowlark staff were friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere and grounds were very pleasant. Our room was comfortable (the "Chardonnay"), and had a small, completely private patio with recliner chairs and a little hot tub. The tub worked very well, though we turned the temperature up a few degrees from its original setting. We didn't have much occasion to use the patio for anything else, as it was late December and cold out. The breakfast was tasty, and had items to accommodate different preferences-mostly breads, pastries, granola, oatmeal, and fruit with a hot egg item.

As a former reviewer mentioned, the site looks like an old motor-court style motel that has been refurbished with a pretty garden and quaint decorations. The result is a comfortable, homelike atmosphere with nice little touches (like the hot tub!). The Meadowlark is a great base from which to enjoy the Santa Ynez Valley without having to be in the middle of Solvang madness or paying a small fortune for a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedropeacenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is not a 5 star resort, and doesn't pretend to be. Even though at first it may look a little like a motor court of the 40's or 50's, it has been transformed into a quaint little inn. My wife and I found it nice and quiet compared to living in the city. I guess if you are a very light sleeper or listen real hard, you could hear a little road traffic but we didn't notice any at all. Breakfasts are tasty and adequate if you don't plan on having one in town which is about 1-2 miles away. If the inn is busy, they serve breakfast in a dining room and it has a bit more to offer than if the inn has only a couple of guests where they just make up a breakfast basket that they leave in the room for you to use as you please. The basket contained a couple of hard boiled eggs, some yogurt, granola, bread, orange juice, an apple, and a banana. There is also coffee and tea in the room. Our room had a wet bar, microwave, and mini fridge with basic utensils but no way to wash them short of using shower gel. I guess with daily maid service you really don't need it.
The room (actually two rooms) was spacious and well appointed but not luxurious. If you plan on just staying in the room, you'll be disappointed with the size of the TV's. Neither one was much bigger than a computer monitor. The only other shortcomings we noticed were the dim lighting which seems to be the norm these days with the compact flourescent craze, and the shower stall, which is too small for two, too dark, had poor water pressure, and seemingly tiled by a 5 year old without supervision on their first day on the job. The bed we found was comfortable even with our picky backs.
The staff is very nice, friendly, and helpful. The grounds are also very nice. We didn't use the pool or internet so can't comment on those. We would recommend this place to anyone but party animals who would find this place a bit tame.

Room Tip: Get a room farthest from the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cudamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for the first, but not the last time, in September of this year (2012). Wonderful change from the pricey, cramped, just ok, overpriced Santa Barbara motel of the night before. Room upgrade was offered and gladly accepted, and I was impressed with the cleanliness and hospitality I received. Breakfast was good and the breakfast area was clean and homey. The setting is so relaxing that I wanted to stay outside in the garden/gazebo area. Definitely plan to return as soon as possible, and recommending this calm, cozy Inn to all of my traveling friends!
Absolutely tops!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
2.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Property: Meadowlark Inn
Address: 2644 Mission Dr, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463-9429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer complimentary wireless internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. Well behaved dogs (one per room) are allowed in rooms with kitchens only (Rebbiano and Barbera). Dogs are not allowed in standard rooms or suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing