We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place with a lot of potential”
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Looking for a charming and reasonable place in the middle of the vineyards away from Solvang and the towns in general we were by a TripAdvisor member referred to this little motel located a few miles outside Solvang only and in close proximity of the wine estates. And in many ways it met with all of our desires - although there were a few minor details that so easily could be corrected for.

Meadowlark Inn is an older one-story motel with rooms placed in two wings on each side of the main building forming a lovely courtyard with grass, old trees, flowers and lots of garden furniture in the middle. The wings are in white painted wood and very prettily decorated by rose vines that give a very romantic and rustic look. The setting is hence very lovely - and from the entrance and little gazebo you can catch glimpses of the surrounding vineyards and meadows. We were staying in a standard room that was rather like a small summer cottage with a kingsize bed, a sofa corner, a small kitchenette and a small bathroom with shower. All furnished in - what we suppose is meant to be a romantic style - but for a European a somewhat odd mix of old and not exactly matching pieces - and hence seemed rather outdated than romantic to us. The room was, however, clean and spacious and we slept well in the bed. The bathroom held a shower and you were provided with the normal amenities. We didn’t hear any noise from the road, it was quiet and peaceful. In front of the room were two older garden chairs and a tiny table in order for you to enjoy a drink or cup of coffee close to your room rather than on the lawn. There is also parking space for your car right in front of the room. Everything as such in order - but could do with an update. I.e. romantic flowery tapestry, leafy curtains to the floor and whitewashed French furniture – that would lift the place up with several stars. OBS: From a look at the website today I noticed though that the featured rooms do seem to have quite some nicer furniture, so maybe the property has been refurbished since our visit? The pictures look nice!

We arrived early afternoon and found the place closed... As had relied on getting assistance to put together a good wine-tasting program for the afternoon, it was a bit annoying. Shortly afterwards a young man came around telling us that the reception was closed for yet a couple of hours, so we decided to change our clothes in the car and take our chance on finding suitable wineries to visit on our own. Luckily I had printed out quite some info, so we managed to make our own way in the footsteps of "Sideways", but we would have appreciated to know that there would be no-one in the reception at specific times. Returning late afternoon we sat down to enjoy a sundowner on our little porch. At this point we explored the property a bit further - and the reason for not rating Meadowlark with 4 circles rather than 3 has to be seen with the fact that we encountered that the garden furniture and especially the ones in the little gazebo were not clean or well maintained. The gazebo, that is truly pretty and offers a nice view and hence perfect for a sundowner, was filled with cobwebs, hence we didn’t enjoy this otherwise lovely little green area. A shame, as it would have done a lot to the experience. We were neither greeted with any wines nor offered anything in the afternoon, as mentioned by other TripAdvisor members. Not that it matters much - but yet again, it is those little details that counts and stay in your remembrance.

Breakfast was served in a small rustic room in the main building - that does likewise hold a small reception area - and was delicious and rather plentiful including boiled eggs but no hot dishes, so more like an extended Continental one. Nice and fine.

Taking the price into consideration, however, Meadowlark is good value for your money and offers a nice kind of homelike atmosphere in a perfect location near everything in the Santa Ynez Winedistrict. With a bit of updating and more thorough attention to the garden and garden furniture this place has a lot of potential to be a true gem. We'll be happy to return anyhow and are pleased to recommend it to other guests as long as you keep expectations realistic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 277 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here overnight during the 1st week of February. l Originally liked the fact that the Meadowlark was just outside of town but it is on the Main road (Mission) which does get a a fair amount of traffic noise. It appears as an older motel style that has been refurbished. The grounds are maintained quite well and there is a small pool. We were warmly greeted at the front desk and escorted to our room. The rooms are clean but dated. There was a wine tasting (bottles of red and white wines accompanied by crackers and cheese) early in the evening in the main section of the Meadowlark and were were joined by several other guests. We felt as were in someone's home, a quaint feeling. Breakfast in the morning was also in the main section of the Meadowlark. Pretty basic fare...not much more substantial than a continental breakfast. I'm not sure what MrsC3105 was referring to in an earlier review as, "Nice breakfast cooked by the hostess herself" but we saw nothing getting cooked. Fruit cups, granola, juice and coffee was our bill of fare. The location is a nice launching off point in heading into the main town of Solvang or heading to one of the many wineries in Los Olivos/Santa Ynez, so there's that. All in all... a clean, decent, slightly above average place with good, friendly service to hang your hat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divergreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlarkinnsolvang, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. We are located on two acres just outside the city of Solvang on Mission Drive which is the only street going through the valley to Solvang. Our property sits up a bit on a knoll from the road, so although one can hear traffic going by, it is subdued and pretty quiet at night, much more so than in the city and many guests comment positively about this.
Seems this guest may have overlooked part of our breakfast buffet, we offer different breads, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade granola, cereal and some egg dish every day, a frittata, quiche, boiled, or some kind of casserole. We vary our breakfast daily.
Again, thank you for visiting us and we hope you return soon, we'll make sure and have a wonderful egg dish for you!
Brigitte Guehr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This one had a couple things that put it in the "will not stay here again" category for me:

*The heating unit did not work, and there was frost that night. I had it on the highest setting all night long, and it only blew slightly tepid air. It never emitted warm air. Good thing I've learned to bring a space heater.

*The highway is really noisy. I had asked for a room away from the road noise, and they didn't honor the request and put me in the 3rd room from the highway, in the west wing that gets the most road noise. The intermittent trucks whizzing by can be quite loud.

*The bed had this ridiculous 2" thick squishy soft foam pad that was very uncomfortable, but easy to remove. The sheets were polyester, but the blankets were good quality.

*The internet would work for a few minutes and then go off, repeatedly. There was no place to work on the computer in the room.

*Towels were small and scratchy.

Otherwise the property was nice, and the rooms had high ceilings and decent furniture. The breakfast didn't open until 8:30, so I missed out on that. I had a regular room, which was a little on the small side.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ostara864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlarkinnsolvang, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

We are very sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay and we hope that we will get another chance in the future. This guest reserved a standard room with a king bed, we only have two of those rooms, and the suites which are higher priced are at the end of the property. This particular room, number 3, has a wall heater as well as a small electric fireplace/heater, possibly the guest did not realize that there are two heaters in the room which is more than sufficient to heat a small room even under the freezing conditions we had during that time. The standard rooms have a built in desk area for guests to work on. As mentioned above, most guests find our property much more quiet than others in the downtown area.
We use a memory foam pad on our mattresses, it molds to the body and most of our guests love it. Our sheets are 100% cotton and all of our linen is supplied by a commercial linen company which supplies many of the local hotels.
I apologize for the intermittent wireless, once in a while this happens due to certain weather conditions, but it is rare and out of our control.
We welcome any comments from our guests, certainly grateful for the positive ones and appreciate those that help us make any improvements. Thank you, Brigitte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and we had a great time. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious. They have a wonderful breakfast and a great wine and cheese hour which our hostess Lisa was very helpful and made some delicious snacks.
We will return there soon and recommend to our family and friends!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowlarkinnsolvang, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Thanks to all our guests who take the time to reward us with wonderful reviews, both the staff and I are very grateful and will continue working hard to make our guests stay at at the Meadowlark Inn and the Santa Ynez Valley a terrific one!
Brigitte and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at this little hotel for the weekend. It's located about 2 miles from town in a quiet tranquil setting. The lodge is very cute with beautiful gardens, water fountains and even a wood firepit.
From the moment we got there the service was amazing. You get a Nice breakfast cooked by the hostess herself. They are very helpful! The room was nice though I wasn't crazy about the shower. Overall a great place to stay if you are hoping for a low key place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsC3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Nice dog-friendly hotel. Room was clean and had a kitchenette. Bed was comfy. Staff was helpful and thoughtful. Nice grassy areas for the dog and a cozy firepit/BBQ area. Was a short drive away from Solvang. Breakfast was included. Very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at this Inn during an October "Sideways" tour that we took. The Inn is centrally located to Solvang, Los Olivos, St. Ynez and many of the wineries we wanted to visit in the area. The grounds are spacious and during the weekend, they have afternoon wine/appetizers that can be enjoyed outdoors. The continental breakfast, which is included was ample with fresh fruit, homemade granola, coffee cake, bagels and various breads, juices and coffee/tea. Also, they had hard boiled eggs with cucumbes and tomatoes on the side. The Inn is older and the rooms are somewhat dated. The weekend rate was rather steep. Bridgette, the owner and the staff are very nice. Bridgette also owns the Mirabelle hotel in Solvang. We had a meal at "Mirabelle", the restaurant at the hotel by the same name. It is a very small but very charming and the food was delicious. Would recommend that you make reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterandmarie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
1.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
818 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
2.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Address: 2644 Mission Dr, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463-9429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: $136 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer complimentary wireless internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. Well behaved dogs (one per room) are allowed in rooms with kitchens only (Rebbiano and Barbera). Dogs are not allowed in standard rooms or suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing