We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but cheap”
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viking Motel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Small rooms, very basic amenities. Pretty much just a place to sleep but hey, their prices are dirt cheap and it's convenient to restaurants, shopping and the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 71 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
SAN BERNARDINO, CA
115
Reviewed August 10, 2005

We tried to stay there awhile back. The place was so dingy and dirty, that we didn't even stay. We just couldn't. My kids were shocked that places like this even existed in nice towns. The office of the place had holes in the walls, which should have been a tip-off to the rest of the place. The desk clerk could barely speak English and appeared to be somewhat drunk. The Saturday rate was only $56/nite, another tip-off. But it was a weekend, and late in the evening and we did have reservations, so we took the room. Not a good idea. After about 5 minutes there we just left and went somewhere else and got a really nice room in another establishment in town. In the morning, at check-out time, we went back to the Viking Motel to check out. The same guy was there, and we tried to voice our complaints. We told him that we didn't even stay. He got really angry, and insisted that we had slept there all night. One look at the room proved him wrong. There was no hope in getting even a partial refund. The Viking Motel is now the gold standard by which our whole family judges lousy lodging establishments. The "is it as bad as the Viking?" question comes to mind when we compare low priced places. So far no place has even come close. We've recently heard that the Viking has changed hands, and things are better there now, but we have no intentions in ever going back there to find out.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank MadMeissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: iyi bir oda yok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CuneytErd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedersengert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Serpa2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 1506 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing