We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not Bad.. Old but CLEAN.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Motel to your Saves list
Viking Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1506 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Bad.. Old but CLEAN.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights ($150 a night) here this last weekend. We stayed in room #112 (King Bed). The room was a little dated (circa 70's) but clean. The bed was very comfortable. we were walking distance to food,shops etc.. If you dont want to spend an arm and a leg at one of the other hotels ($300 a night and up),and would like to save your money for buying wine. Then this is the hotel for you. I would not hesitate to stay here again. If your wife wants everything new and fresh, then this is not your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    19
    4
    14
See reviews for
14
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed here 3 years in a row with our two greyhounds, attending the annual
Solvang Greyhound Gathering. The motel is in a greyt location; quiet, very close to a
large empty lot where we can walk the dogs. You get a voucher for a basic breakfast
at a nearby Danish bakery (pastry with coffee or tea). Staff is friendly, helpful and they
remember us from year to year. Rooms have wood floors (instead of carpet) which is
very good for dogs. They are on the small side, as this is an older small motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazz-Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I can't rate this place as I have not yet stayed here, though i will be staying there this coming Friday. I have a timeshare in Solvang but won't be available until Saturday night so I decided to book this place so I don't have to drive on Dec. 24.

I've stayed in Solvang in the past and have driven past this place about 10 years ago and even looked at the rooms inside and thought that for the price, the rooms were clean and in a great location. I've stayed at some of the more expensive motels, inns and hotels in Solvang, yet I suspect that this place will be perfect for my purpose, wich is to avoid driving on Christmas eve!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is what happens when you don't make reservatons in advance. The only room available for my wife and I and our 6lb yorkie was at the Viking Motel. We paid $149.40 for a room that was out of the 60's. Loud music all night coming from rooms at the other end of the motel. Management didn't shut it down. Room was clean, but small and noisy: would not recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solvang hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We visited Solvang & Santa Ynez very regularly and always stayed here. It was a perfect budget option with clean, pleasant rooms in a great location. The owner was always very accomodating and friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGirl-AngelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our family was visiting wine country in Los Olivos before Memorial Day Weekend. We stayed at Le Corque Thursday night $250.00 per each room per night, it's one of the best in Solvang and we enjoyed the stay. Friday afternoon, we decided to stay another night and rates at all major hotels were over $300! We found the Viking Motel in a guide book and their rates were $79--so we went for it, sight unseen....
We now could continue to wine taste and relax another night. The rooms were clean, a bit out of date, but new floors and Tracy was very helpful at the front desk. We dined at Root 246, my favorite restaurant in the area (again) and considering we barely spent 8 hours in the room, it was worth it. It also included a card for continental breakfast across the street at a cafe we loved but would not have visited otherwise. Overall - not luxury - but was a good night's sleep for the drive home in the morning.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, but be prepared to try an adventure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

THE ROOM HAD 3 INCHES OF DUST. on headboard, lampshades everywhere bathroom floor was so dirty i left black footprint on toilet seat drying my feet the bed smelt funcky i would of asked for my money back but i do not think the woman at the office would of understood english because she could hardly speak it .if she is also the chamber maid it explains everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieanna_elam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Property: Viking Motel
Address: 1506 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing