We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of Arne's Aebleskiver's ! A must try!”
Review of Solvang Restaurant

Solvang Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed September 4, 2016

I LOVE Aebleskiver's, and Arne's has been here for years. You can watch them make the aebleskiver's in the window while you wait. They taste a little like waffles, but lighter. Served with raspberry syrup and icre cream if you want. They also sell aebleskiver pans and mix if you want to try it at home! 3 aebleskivers were $3.95, + if you wanted ice cream, they also offer them in 6 and 9 sizes. They have indoor seating where they offer a wider selection of food. This place is a classic, you must try it while in Solvang!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank cockers2luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 249 of 505 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2016

This town is just impossibly cute with all the half timbered buildings and tons of adorable little places to eat. We went to the Solvang Restaurant to have the aebelskiivers we had heard so much about and they didn't disappoint. Kind of like beignets but with a dab of raspberry jam on top, they were a wonderful and unusual dessert. We did have lunch first, I had a ham on rye sandwich and my husband had a sausage sandwich which he liked but said was a bit bland. The food was good and service outstanding. Solvang is just so unique in California you have to go there to see it.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hillcntrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Amazing town of Solvang , with the so called famous delicacy of these powdered sugary balls . This was the famous place to try them from , so what else would we do. Delicious . Even in California

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

The Solvang Restaurant (known to local's as "Arnie's" is THE place to go in Solvang for authentic aebelskiivers -- a traditional Danish confection akin to a donut, shaped like a ball.

For those on the go, the Solvang restaurant has window service, where one may purchase aebelskiivers to go on the sidewalk.

Locals also appreciate breakfast and lunch offerings, which are reasonably priced, and served with a smile by the long-time staff.

When we go to breakfast in Solvang, Solvang Restaurant is our first choice.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

American and Danish specialties. Enjoyed great split pea soup and wonderful salads, and a yummy pastrami sandwich. And, of course, the fabulous ableskiver Danish pancakes in syrup and powdered sugar for dessert. A real treat and a favorite in Solvang!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank chilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solvang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Solvang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.