We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one!”
Review of Solvang Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solvang Gardens
Ranked #4 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Goes without saying, we liked this property very much. Walking distance to the center of solvang, very nice owners. Room was ok sized, bathroom was quite ok size.
Morning bkfast was excellent, giving u some Danish pastries among other goodies.

Overall, would recommend it

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We took two back garden rooms, selecting from four available when we arrived. A very delightful staff, Michelle, gave us the tour and her advice. Each room is different and right now they are in the midst of redecorating and redoing the rooms and infrastructure. Gardens both behind our rooms and those in the front were in great bloom, even at the end of the growing season in September.

The Morning breakfast was served at 8 am in a quiet little room with a wall-mounted gas fireplace. No special decor, but a solid breakfast bar. It included orange juice, both low fat and whole milk from a local dairy, almond milk, dark roast coffee and a tea and cocoa selection. There were also several premium cold cereals, some fresh fruit and, of course, the best Danish sweets they can source. Petty abundant, along with the local morning newspaper.

Location - Short Walking instance to fine restaurants and lots of shops.
Although it really appears to be a converted strip motel, the gardens and individual room decor and personalized service make it a delightful country garden BB. No Danish kitch stuff here.
Wifi service was excellent and worked all over the grounds so getting emails in the back garden was a breeze.

Staff - Both morning and evening staff genuinely cared for our comfort and happiness.
There is no longer a spa available.

This is a fine country garden motel/B&B for a reasonable price. Nothing elegant, but all very comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are in the front section and the smaller (but quite adequate) rooms are in back, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExplorerMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We always hope to be a great respite for people traveling along the coast. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time.

I hope you had a great time during the rest of your trip!

Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at Solvang Gardens on our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway. Solvang is not on the Pacific Coast Highway but we made a detour to experience the pleasant charms of this Danish town. My wife remembered the last time she was there that residents/store keepers were dressed in Danish attire. Alas that seems to be long gone as less than 10% of the community is Danish. The buildings are neat to look; the bakeries are to die for; and, there are plenty of wine shops in town. A nice place to visit for a day.

The Solvang Gardens Inn is a very hospitable inn fitting in with the theme of the town. The room seemed slightly dated but still very nice. The Inn is located at the edge of the main area of town so you are not in the immediate hustle, bustle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of July and were quite pleased with the accommodations. The gardens in the front and back are nicely landscaped; the waterworks cultivate a calm state of mind. Some rooms in the back open onto a tranquil English garden (we would request one of these when we return). The room we did have was quaint and comfortable, less kitschy than one would expect in Solvang. The bathroom was particularly well appointed, large, marble shower. Nice breakfast room, good coffee abundantly available. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms facing English garden seem optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRR2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here during our road trip to visit the California Missions, so Mission Santa Ines was our ultimate destination. The property is located outside of town but within a short 5 minute drive. It was built in 1950 and was the first motel in Solvang. The rooms were nicely decorated with antique furnishings but our room was very small. You barely have room to walk around the bed. The private backyard was lovely and we relaxed there with a glass of wine. The spa cottage was not open during the hours we were there. Continental breakfast 7:30-10am. All rooms are nonsmoking and do not have a telephone. Free wireless internet. I saw silverfish in the bathroom. Between the bugs and the small rooms, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

You get a bed and you get breakfast. Realistically it's an upgraded retro motel. The staff is brilliant in making you feel welcome and cared about. The property is clean and well-maintained. The wifi is marginal but the breakfast is good with some nice healthy choices. Good grief, they keep the cereal in the frige so it will stay fresh? Who does that ? Only someone who cares. If you can take a little street noise I recommend #8; it's bright and cheery. However if you want quiet, I would suggest an upgrade to #17. Whichever way you go, the property is convenient to beautiful downtown Solvang.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetoskeyKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was an ok stay. The place is fairly nice a quite however from pictures and reviews I expected more. When I made reservation I requested specific room however it was occupied when we arrived and nobody notified prior. They gave us a tiny double room bec the other one had a strong smell, when I asked for some compensation they upgraded us to a suite which was nice. None of the rooms available were in the back which was also on my request.
Location is great, close to everything, walking distance, and in a quite area.
The breakfast is very average Danishes and cereal. Coffee was horrible, more like water.
So if you need a get away which is moderately priced and you don't have high expectations, this will work.

Room Tip: Back garden is very nice and there rooms which have direct access. If you request a room, follow up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariannaV245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463-2803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: $91 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solvang Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing